National Futurity betting

National Futurity betting

The National Futurity is an age-restricted event open only to bitches and run simultaneously with the National Derby, a series open to male greyhounds.

The race has been run in NSW for more than half a century and has been taken out by some of the finest female competitors the sport has seen.

The 2017 National Futurity was held at Wentworth Park and was worth $75,000 when taken out by Victorian greyhound Striker Light.

Betting on the National Futurity

Because it is a group 1 race, there is always enormous betting interest in the National Futurity, with all of our recommended online bookmakers offering fixed odds betting on both the heats and final.

Most of the time, these odds are available once the box draw has been conducted, giving punters plenty of time to compare odds between sites and snag some value about their chosen contender.

Additionally, bookies such as Bet365 offer all-in markets, which include inflated odds prior to the heats wherein you are required to pick the winner of the final.

Whilst this can be tricky to land, it can be rewarding if you are skilful enough to find the winner, with odds normally much higher than those offered ahead of the final.

History of the Group 1 National Futurity

The first Futurity was held over 530m on the old Wentworth Park track, with the winner being Cultured Girl which clocked 31.6. The race was run at ‘Wenty’ for more than 20 years before being moved to the 457m trip at Harold Park in 1986 and 1987.

In 1988, the race moved back to Wentworth Park where is was run on grass until 1993 before the surface became loam.

The National Futurity continued at the metropolitan venue until 2009 when it was moved to the newly opened ‘The Gardens’, located in the Hunter Valley.

World's Favourite Bookmaker

World Favourite!

GETON is not a bonus code and does not grant access to additional offers. New Customers only. Up to £100* in Bet Credits. Sign up, deposit £5* or more to your account and bet365 will match your qualifying deposit in Bet Credits when you place qualifying bets to the same value and they are settled. Min odds/bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. T&Cs, time limits & exclusions apply. Full T's and C's.

#1 Sports, eSport, & Casino Betting

€30 Welcome Free Bet

New UK & Ireland customers only. Min Deposit: £10. First deposit matched up to £30. 1 x wagering at odds of 1.75+ to unlock Free Bet. Debit Card & PayPal deposits only. This offer is valid for 7 days from your new account being registered. T&Cs Apply

Best Sports Betting Odds

€30 free bet

Minimum deposit of €10 using deposit code 30F - A qualifying bet is a ‘real money’ stake of at least €10 placed on any sports market - Minimum odds of 1/2 (1.5) - Free bets credited upon qualifying bet settlement and expire after 7 days - Free bet stakes not included in returns - Casino Bonus must be claimed within 7 days • To withdraw bonus/related wins, wager bonus amount x40 within 14 days • Wagering req. vary by game • Withdrawal restrictions apply. Full Terms & Conditions

In 2015, the race once again headed back down the M1 to its rightful home in Glebe when it was won by Jason Mackay’s Zipping Midge.

Some of the sport’s brightest stars have won or contested the Futurity including Bristol Miss (seventh 1972), Promises free (winner 1982), Winifred Bale (second 1982, winner 1983), November Miss (third 1998), Floodfawn (third 2001), Edie Beahchamp (fourth 2005), Bralyn Maisie (winner 2007), Elite Oriental (winner 2008), Daydream (winner 2010), Tonelli Bale (third 2011), Desalle Bale (sixth 2012) and Punch One Out (second 2013).

National Futurity – the recent years

  • 2017: The most recent edition of the National Futurity was won by Striker Light for Brett and Kelly Bravo, defeating fellow Victorian Up Hill Jill in a fast time of 29.74. She took her career record to nine wins from 13 starts, with prize money earnings in excess of $113,000.
  • 2016: Cash In Motion won an open Futurity final for Robert Cooke, defeating a sensational field which included Fantastic Skye (third), Mitcharlie Mia (fourth) and Dyna Maddie (fifth). The victory was the narrowest in the history of the National Futurity, defeating Lyka Allen by a nose in 30.29.
  • 2015: If we are talking about quality, the 2015 National Futurity was one of the best. The field boasted quality greyhounds such as Spring Leaf, Dyna Nico, Weblec Belle, Ella Has Class and Zipping Midge, with the latter saluting by three lengths in a sizzling 29.80 for Jason Mackay.
  • 2014: Rue De Kahn gave Sydney trainer Dean Swain his first group 1 triumph when saluting at the final edition of the Futurity at The Gardens. Starting from box four as the outsider of the field, the white and blue bitch proved too classy for her opponents, clocking 29.49 when defeating Queen Esther by four and three quarter lengths on the line.

Group 1 National Futurity – honour roll

Year Winner
1964 Cultured Girl
1965 West Opal
1966 Miss Lane
1967 Pearl Moss
1968 Rocket Bridge
1969 Anne Lewis
1970 Tidal Mist
1971 Top Saba
1972 Spanish Dancer
1973 Likely Light
1974 Tintawin
1975 Night Aim
1976 Woolley Wong
1977 Little Fresh
1978 Tearaway Owl
1979 Baretop Girl
1980 Beaumaris Sue
1981 Zany Zen
1982 Promises Free
1983 Winifred Bale
1984 Turbo Top
1985 Sophistication
1986 Flash Jass
1987 Expensive Lee
1988 Tiger’s Sunset
1989 Mary Casey
1990 Gozo Nicoloa
1991 Just Jedda
1992 November Sunset
1993 National Night
1994 Mystery Idle
1995 Tar Dinn
1996 Holiday Belle
1997 Rare Missile
1998 Fine Devil
1999 Crystal Light
2000 Junoesque
2001 Queen Muffin
2002 Hotshow Lil
2003 Lissiloo
2004 Nulkaba
2005 Lukeam
2006 Jinderra Flame
2007 Bralyn Maisie
2008 Elite Oriental
2009 Digital Magic
2010 Daydream
2011 Crystin Bale
2012 Midnight Capers
2013 Sometimes Speedy
2014 Rue De Kahn
2015 Zipping Midge
2016 Cash In Motion
2017 Striker Light