Remo Rubik Leads All The Way Traralgon Cup

Classy Victorian sprinter ($2.50fav) made no mistakes in his comprehensive victory leading all the way to win his second Group 2 this year when was successful in the Chris Humphrey Office National last night.

Remo Rubik took out this year’s Wangaratta Cup back in June and is racing in superb form for Keysborough trainer Geoff Mitchell.

Unfortunately due to a clash on the Group race calendar a number of runners that made the Traralgon Cup final had to choose between contesting the three week Group 1 Paws of Thunder at Wentworth Park and the Group 2 Victorian country cup.

Significantly three of master trainer Graeme Bate’s stars runner up in last year’s Traralgon Cup Turanza Bale and Dyna Forte all missed the Sydney feature.

Remo Rubik’s trainer Geoff Mitchell told me it was a shame as he too would have liked the chance to race in the Group 1 feature but considered his chances at Traralgon better, his judgement proved spot on.

After an outstanding effort in his heat were the black chaser by Solve The Puzzle led all the way recording 29.75 he came up with the perfect draw box one and was quickly installed the pre post favourite. Particularly when the Bate trio were boxed in 4, 5 and 6 with the fastest heat winner Dyna Forte (29.51) a noted slow beginner in four.

“I was quite confident when he drew the red that he would be hard to beat he had won on the track in 29.63 and he went well in his heat. He stepped beautifully and only for a fleeting moment coming to the home turn when Din’s Son looked threatening was I concerned but once he straightened he when right on with the job it was a good effort.” Mitchell said.

A reliable beginner Remo Rubik jumped to the front in the final and led through the first mark in 5.42, he looked to be travelling like a winner a long way out and with a second split of 16.60 he was certainly on track record pace. However the track had been dug up during the week of the final and probably cost the winner track record figures. His overall time of 29.60 was a personal best but given his first two sections were better that Keeko Bale’s last year he perhaps could have broken her record of 29.43 set in last year’s final, a view shared by his trainer.

“Yes I think on a track not dug up he would have almost run a record he had an untroubled run jumping to the front, I’m not sure why the club dug the track up usually track’s are at their very best and fastest for their main event of the year. It matters not a win is the important thing regardless of the time. He has been a very good and solid performer throughout his career and is a delight to train. I reckon there is a few more wins in him yet”.

“We will target the next then onto the bigger races in town the Melbourne Cup and perhaps who knows he might even be considered for the Top Gun we’ll take it as it comes and hope for the best.” Mitchell said.

Curwen Walker ($46.70) flashed home late for Norm Rilen in a good effort to pinch second place from Din’s Son ($3.90) who had chased the leader for most of the way finishing third.

After the placed runners the field finished in the following order 4th Bloss’s Benson ($30.30), 5th Velocette ($5.30), 6th Turanza Bale ($6.10) 7th Prince Fuser ($47.20) and Dyna Forte ($9.30).

Remo Rubik is a Black dog whelped December 2006 by Solve The Puzzle from Remo Agogo (Timjim Bale x Remo Blitz). He is raced by the Kerrigan Syndicate and trained by Geoff Mitchell at Keysborough in Victoria. He has now won 17 races and been placed on nine occasions from his 38 starts. The Wangaratta Cup first prize of $27,040 brings Remo Rubik’s overall prizemoney to $95,440.

The Traralgon Cup was first known as the Latrobe Valley Cup from 1974 until 1980 when it changed its name, below is the Honour Roll of past winners.

Traralgon Cup Honour Roll

Traralgon Cup Honour Roll

  • 1974 Lady Anthia
  • 1975 Jaymar’s Pride
  • 1976 Dunmain Scholar
  • 1977 Bolta’s Gift
  • 1978 Elsie Belinda
  • 1979 Newmore’s Heart
  • 1980 Weona Swinger
  • 1981 Select Band
  • 1982 Harry Shamrock
  • 1983 Drop Of Wine
  • 1984 Forever Alert
  • 1985 Rumpus Pappa
  • 1986 Lightning Boy
  • 1987 Star Affair
  • 1988 Ray Bon Miss
  • 1989 Devastate
  • 1990 Witchery
  • 1991 Malawi/s Prince
  • 1992 Tough As Tears and Worth Backing (Dead Heat)
  • 1993 Lash’s Choice
  • 1994
  • 1995
  • 1996 Flash Monarch
  • 1997 Shannen&’s Storm
  • 1998 Power Thriller
  • 1999 Four Amigos
  • 2000 Dutchy’s Angel
  • 2001 Floodfawn
  • 2002 Elgrando
  • 2003
  • 2004 Amaroo Gift
  • 2005 Zaar
  • 2006 Cromlah Bale
  • 2007
  • 2008 Keeko Bale (Track Record)
  • 2009 Remo Rubik
0 0 votes
Article Rating

More Greyhounds News

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments