Yikes Wins 2009 Ipswich Gold Cup

Brilliant ($4.50), lucky to be racing, led throughout to easily win Wednesday night’s Group 2 Gold Cup (520m).

The son of -New Guess scored by six and a quarter lengths in 30.49, just outside ’s race record of 30.43.

Yikes, raced and trained by , downed Velocity Cloud ($5.10) with a length and a quarter to Robo Raptor ($3.80) in third.

Yikes tore a back muscle in February and is lucky to be back on the racetrack.

The victory took his record to 17 wins in 41 starts.

“All credit to Larry Jocumsen our vet and good friend,” said who handled the winner for his wife. “Larry stitched the dog back together.”

The Robartsons were confident of success with Yikes. “The draw suited him,” said Dave. “He just needed to clear the speed inside him.”

Yikes did just that and opened up a big lead into the back straight. Velocity Cloud ran on well in the straight without looking likely to pick up the winner.

Robo Raptor did not begin well but fought on gamely for third.

Immediate plans for Yikes are uncertain. “He’ll probably go back to Albion Park,” said Dave.

“We resisted the temptation to go for the . He had not been on the track.”

The heats of the Lismore Cup will be run on Sunday afternoon.

After the placings the field finished in the following order 4th Side Cutter ($7.20), 5th ($10.30), 6th Ease The Payne ($25.30) 7th ($14.40) and Marella ($6.50).

Yikes is a Blue Dog whelped April ’06 he is raced and trained by Christine Robartson he is by Collision from New Guess (Brett Lee x Roxy Reason). The Group 2 Ipswich Gold Cup win took his record to 41 starts for 17 wins and 10 placings and prizemoney earnings of $63,925.

First run in 1983 the City of Ipswich Gold Cup has a star studded honour board listed below are the previous winners.

    Ipswich Gold Cup Honour Roll

  • 1983 New Generation
  • 1984 Desurlee
  • 1985 Just Jane
  • 1986 Mystic Ghost
  • 1987 New Tears
  • 1988 Whip Tip
  • 1989 Acacia Ablaze
  • 1990 Strebor Ruby
  • 1991 Haylewie Miss
  • 1992 Haylewie Miss
  • 1993 Casual Encounter
  • 1994 Toban Leah
  • 1995 Super Crystal
  • 1996 Roanokee
  • 1997 Barrio Babe
  • 1998 Great Raider
  • 1999 Bob’s One
  • 2000 Serious Girl
  • 2001 Golden Danny
  • 2002 Scottish Express
  • 2003 Freedom Bale
  • 2004 Fools State
  • 2005 Ravenhill
  • 2006 Ellie’s Diamond
  • 2007 Super Hornet
  • 2008 Bogie Bomber
  • 2009 Yikes
0 0 votes
Article Rating

More Greyhounds News

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments