Bobby Boucheau Named Sandown’s 2011 Greyhound Of The Year

Staying star Bobby Boucheau has been named Greyhound Racing Club's for 2011.

From nine starts at Sandown Park, Bobby Boucheau won four, set two track records, claimed a Group 1 title and over $127,000 in prize money at Sandown Park alone.

The son of and Dallas Gypsy got off to a stunning start in 2011 when he took five lengths off the Sandown Park 595m when defeating an excellent field by 19.75 lengths in 33.67 seconds on 6 January.

His second track record came four months later when he defeated the nation's best stayers in Australia's richest staying race, the Group 1 Radio Sport National Sandown Cup, by five lengths in 41.57 seconds.

Bobby Boucheau also ran second in the Group 3 Sir John Dillon Memorial, and third in the .

Bobby Boucheau is the first greyhound Pearcedale mentor Angela Jackson has trained, and she was thrilled to receive Sandown's top gong.

“It's a fantastic honour to receive this award,” she said.

“With all the fantastic greyhounds that race at Sandown Park each year, for ‘Bobby' to be acknowledged in this way is a real thrill.”

Bobby Boucheau's next assignment is the Group 2 Macro Meats invitational at the Meadows on Saturday 18 February followed by the Group 1 Macro Meats Super Stayers, the heats of which will be run the following week.

Bobby Boucheau won the Macro Meats Super Stayers in 2011, the first of his three Group 1 wins for the year. That remarkable achievement was the key reason Bobby Boucheau was named a finalist in the , along with Solo Melbourne Cup winner Dyna Tron, dual Group 1 winner . The 2011 Victorian Greyhound Of The Year will be announced at a gala function at Crown on Friday 3 February.

The Sandown Greyhound of the Year is awarded on a vote by the Sandown Greyhound Racing Club committee.

Bobby Boucheau wins Australia's richest staying race, the Group 1 Radio Sport National Sandown Cup in track record time

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments