Cindeen Shelby Named AGRA October Greyhound Of The Month

's Greyhound of the Month for October 2009 is New South Wales owned and Victorian trained sprinter . The brilliant fawn bitch had memorable month of October winning two 1 finals and a heat of another.

Her success started with the final of the on October the 3rd she begun brilliantly from box four to lead all the way recording a best of the night 30.08 on the rain affected track.

Back home in Victoria she would have been the first picked to take her place in the invitational Group 1 Top Gun on October 24. Settling third on the rails she never left the fence railing hard on the home turn to reach the lead and hold the fast finishing Velocette for another stunning win.

“Shelby” finished the month off with a tradesman like performance at Sandown Park in her heat of the Group 1 Sapphire Crown last Thursday night. She takes her place in the final this week drawing box one and is a big chance to make it three Group 1's in a row.

Cindeen Shelby is only the second female greyhound to claim the Topgun in its 17-year history. She emulated the feat of New South Wales speed queen Mint Magic in 1999.

Cindeen Shelby is Red Fawn Bitch whelped August '06 she is by Bombastic Shiraz from Proper Shelby (Royal Assassin x Proper Angel). She is raced by Ray Parkinson and trained by Kelvyn Greenough the Group 1 Top Gun win took her record to 41 starts for 24 wins and nine placings and prizemoney earnings of $318,050.

October produced a number of group winners and it was a competitive month, however it is difficult enough winning one Group 1 let alone two. A mighty effort and Cindeen Shelby was rewarded as this month's winner ahead of other Group winners Amity Bale, Dancing Surf, , Yikes, Queen Lauryn, Gripen Bale and .

AGRA congratulates Ray Parkinson, Kelvyn Greenough & Cindeen Shelby on being awarded the AGRA Greyhound of the Month for October. She joins , Red Shilling, Trew Millions, High Earner, Mantra Lad, , Miss Slick, and Velocette as the AGRA Greyhound of the Month winners in 2009.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments