El Galo Dominates Paws Of Thunder Final Markets

El Galo Winning The Warrnambool Cup Earlier This Year
El Galo Winning The Cup Earlier This Year
Star Victorian El Galo again produced stunning early sectionals to posted the fastest semi final winning time in the Paws Of Thunder series at Wentworth Park.

The Jason Thompson-trained son of Where's Pedro scorched the sand track to post 5.31 to the post the first time (replicating his September 20 effort), 16.64 to the 620m boxes (13.62 last week) and was untroubled to score by a clear 7 3/4 lengths in 29.71.

And it is his high speed which sets him apart from most.

Rails runner One Tree Hill battled gamely to the line and held Proven Polly – a kennelmate to El Galo, for second by 1 3/4 lengths and secure a place in the $100,000 to the winner final.

winner Cindeen Shelby started a solid 5/4 chance in the second semi final but, in an incident packed run to the first turn, she fell heavily and the smart Surgeon (box 5) also came down.

Surgeon, in fact, hit the outside fence at the first turn and slid along the fence for a few metres before finding his feet again.

The semi final was taken out by Nimbastic which was applying all sort of pressure to the inside division as she tried to move to the rails from box seven.

Mid-race she held a massive lead and held on to account for by 3-1/4 lengths while Canberra Cup winner was another three lengths away in third place.

El Galo's connections, while not wanting any harm to come to a rival, would have considered the upset a boost to their prospects and the third semi final offered even more.

National Sprint Champion Knocka Norris was pitted against National Distance Champion and it was the powerful Mantra Lad which reigned supreme.

Knocka Norris began rather moderately from box five, was squeezed to the tail of the field after 100m and eventually finished a distant last in a fast 29.73.

While Knocka Norris was finding trouble, Mantra Lad positioned himself outside leader Iigloo Osti at the first turn and, after reaching the lead before the home turn, powered away to score by an ever expanding 8 1/2 lengths.

The fourth semi final looked an even contest on paper but favourite backers had little to get excited about after Lorna Moira was able to lead from the unsuitable six alley and score by four lengths in 30.19.

Track specialist Orphan Point finished a creditable second while , after being only moderately away from box three, rallied to finish third, some five lengths from the winner.

The box draw for the Group 1 NCA Paws Of Thunder Final which carries $100,000 to the winner, was held trackside and has given One Tree Hill the rails alley. El Galo will again have to muster all his early pace to find his way to the front from box four.

Race No. NCA Paws Of Thunder Final
Group 1 non grade over 520 metres at Wentworth Park
Of $ prizemoney. 1st $100,000 , 2nd $ , 3rd $ , 4th $ , Unplaced runners $

No.NameGradeFormBestLastTrainerPre Post Odds

1One Tree Hill32211229.9130.20Robert Britton$41$17$4.5

2Iigloo Osti33312230.1430.27Lorraine Roy$81$34$15

3Mantra Lad43112129.7329.73Graeme Jose$31$26$6

4El Galo12121129.6029.71Jason Thompson$5.50$5$1.55

5Fedex41713230.1830.18Jason Thompson$67$26$21

6Orphan Point54315230.0730.44Gary Ernst$126$126$101

7Nimbastic26314130.1330.13Owen Langley$126$151$41

8Lorna Moira22422130.0430.19Ron Bell$81$41$26

9Proven Polly41663330.2530.31Jason Thompson$51$101Scratched

10Borat45115330.1630.37John Carruthers$12$13Scratched

The Paws Of Thunder Final will be supported on race night by a big night of racing with the another Group final to be decided on the night, the Pages Hire Sydney Cup over the 720 metres where local star stayer Varvatos takes on Tasmania pair Chinatown Lad, Fallen Zorro and Victorian Gunnadoo Magic.

For patrons going to witness the two big finals there will be plenty of activities on course as well as the usual attractions at the near city venue, including an LCD TV Lucky Door prize. The Fabulous LCD TV will be drawn on the night with two consolation prizes each consisting of a Race Night Package for Wentworth Park for two persons including entry, reserved seat and meals.

Patrons can now enjoy the newly refurbished facilities for superb comfort and convenience. Gates open at 5.30 First Race 7.30.

The past winners of Paws Of Thunder which was formerly known as the St.Leger and first run in 1957 is a time honoured event and has been won by some of our finest sprinters.

In 2001 the NSW NCA restructured the prizemoney, the race conditions and the race name, and the race became The Paws Of Thunder which it is known today.

    Paws Of Thunder Honour Roll :
  • 1957 Idle Sign
  • 1958 Ebony Minda
  • 1959 Super Samson
  • 1960 Constant Raider
  • 1961 Elsie Moss
  • 1962
  • 1963 Miss Warcroft
  • 1964 Revival King
  • 1965 Daily Tide
  • 1966 Sunset Fire
  • 1967 Another Glitter
  • 1968 ,
  • 1969 Beau Brin
  • 1970 Size Seven
  • 1971 Romantic Top
  • 1972 Likely Light
  • 1973 Trella Light
  • 1974 Busy's Chief
  • 1975 Mighty Aussie
  • 1976 Palaver
  • 1977 Fine Arama
  • 1978 Oberon Lily
  • 1979 Lord Raleigh
  • 1980 Glider's Son
  • 1981 Promises Free
  • 1982 Winifred Bale
  • 1983 Winston Lass
  • 1984 Beach Rhythm
  • 1985 Another Flash
  • 1986 Memories Gate
  • 1987 See Yah
  • 1988 Grizzly Bear
  • 1989 Jessica Kate
  • 1990 Dixie Lass
  • 1991 Little Denver
  • 1992 Iago
  • 1993 Leon Mal
  • 1994 Zazziam
  • 1995 Nine Inch Nails
  • 1996 Tamborine Dancer
  • 1997 Elle's Commando
  • 1998 Waiwera Marika
  • 1999 Stately Bird
  • 2000 Some Secret
  • 2001 Suellen Bale
  • 2002 Modern Assassin
  • 2003 Winsome Shot
  • 2004 Kobble Rock
  • 2005 Pure Octane
  • 2006 Suave Fella
  • 2007

Similar Greyhound Racing News

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments