Ennis Family Quinella 2010 Silver Chief Final

The lightly raced ($16.20 on SuperTAB) upstaged his more fancied rivals in a devastating display to win the Macro Meats 1 Silver Chief in a Best of Night 29.84 over the 525 metres at The Meadows on Saturday night.

The son of and Awesome Saint burnt off his speedy rivals on the first turn, recording a quick split of 5.10 before flying to the second section in a breathtaking 17.64.

From there, the race was over, with the 38-kilogram chaser cruising to an easy six and quarter length win over Zenith ($5.70), giving the Ennis family a black-type quinella and a handy $65,000 in prizemoney. The locally trained Kilrush ($6.80), who was vying for the early lead, finished third, while favourite (box one) finished fourth.

In a scary sign of what's to come, Enry Walt was competing in just his eighth race start and will not turn two until next week. He will most likely be set for the major races during the spectacular racing carnival at The Meadows, including the Australian Cup on February 27, worth $150,000 to the winner.

The Meadows heats up again in early February, with popular invitation-only races including The Temlee ($50,000 to the winner), The ($30,000) and ($25,000). However, Group racing in January isn't over just yet, with the Top Cat Video New Year's Cup to be run next Saturday. Star chasers Flash Of Light, Ain't Workin' and Ultra Rumble will battle it out in the $15,000 to the winner decider.

In the Silver Chief after the placed runners the field finished in the following order 4th Sheoak Ian ($3.10fav), 5th Iso Octane ($10.30), 6th Rev Limiter ($4.90) 7th Heather's Tiger ($22.60) and Papa Cool ($7.60).

Enry Walt was bred is raced and trained by veteran conditioner Gary Ennis at Sandhurst in Victoria.

He is a Black Dog whelped January 2008 by Primo Uno from Awesome Saint (Awesome Assassin x Little Saint). Enry Walt has won four of his eight starts and has been placed on four occasions. With the $50,000 first prize for the Silver Chief it took his current stake earnings to $60,280.

The Classic is one steeped in tradition, first being run in 1964. Directors of the Melbourne Greyhound Racing association saw fit to name The Classic after the greyhound “Silver Chief” who was whelped in 1936 and owned by . Silver Chief was a “” winner in 1939 and performed admirably on the speed coursing circuit as well. He raced in both Melbourne and Sydney and was keenly sought after for stud duties once his racing career was finished.

The cream of racing have won this event referred to as the Derby of Greyhound Racing.

Champions such as Plunder Road, Black Diro, Satan's Legend, Tempix, Chariot Supreme, Ginger, Light of Fire and Awesome Assassin to name a few. Many have gone on to produce sons who have also won the Classic.

The mighty Tempix won in 1978 then produced sons who won in (81) Tempix Image and Bold Assail in 1982.

Australian super sire Chariot Supreme won the race in record time in 1983. His progeny took out the honours in 1986 (Hopeful Supreme), 1989 (Autumn Chariot) and 1991 (Bomber Gleeson).

In recent years Light of Fire won in 1994 then produced greats such as Awesome Assassin and Kantarn Bale. Awesome Assassin went on to sire 2005 winner Ben's Fury.

Listed below is the star studded Silver Chief honour roll.

Silver Chief Honour Roll

  • 1964 Barunah
  • 1965 Spartan Prince
  • 1966 Phantom's Return
  • 1967 Lord Baden
  • 1968 Dupondy Two
  • 1969 Plunder Road
  • 1970 Black Diro
  • 1971 Michael Takiri
  • 1972 Getaway
  • 1973 Flash Gordon
  • 1974 Petillant
  • 1975 Nigger Chimes
  • 1976 Fritz Mactavish
  • 1977 Satan's Legend
  • 1978 Tempix
  • 1979 San Remo
  • 1980 Mork The Stork
  • 1981 Tempix Image
  • 1982 Bold Assail
  • 1983 Chariot Supreme
  • 1984 Rumpus Pappa
  • 1985 Supreme Spot
  • 1986 Hopeful Supreme
  • 1987 Calamity Kid
  • 1988 Ginger
  • 1989 Autumn Chariot
  • 1990 Enfield
  • 1991 Bomber Gleeson
  • 1992 Nevik
  • 1993 Plugger Fever
  • 1994 Light Of Fire
  • 1995 Zealous Guy
  • 1996 Awesome Assassin
  • 1997 Hotshot
  • 1998 “Not Held”
  • 1999 Jamella Prince
  • 1999 Kantarn Bale
  • 2000 Dave's Mentor
  • 2001 Burali Bale
  • 2002 “Not Held”
  • 2003 Jimmy Neutron
  • 2004
  • 2005 Ben's Fury
  • 2006 Closing Argument
  • 2007 Meticulous
  • 2008 Regal Thyme
  • 2009 Fedex
  • 2010 Enry Walt
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments