Gawler Produce Stake Heats Attract 42 Nominations For Tuesday

Greyhound Racing SA and the Greyhound Racing Club will conduct the 2010 from next Tuesday afternoon (13th July).

At close of nominations, 42 greyhounds remained from those that had made the required payments.

As a result, there will be six heats of the event run on Tuesday and three semi-finals the following Tuesday (20th). The Final will be run on Sunday 25th July as a twilight meeting, covered by .

The 2010 Gawler Produce Stake is a series for greyhounds whelped in 2008 and is a “Futurity” event requiring payments which began in October last year.

A total of 142 greyhounds were paid up for originally. This resulted in a pool of $12,275 from the futurity payments. GRSA adds to this pool, both from it’s normal prizemoney pool and an agreed budget with the Club each year, and the result is a record total pool of $36,800.

The prizemoney breakdown for the series will be as follows:

  • Tuesday 13th July 6 x heats @ $1,600
  • Tuesday 20th July 3 x Semi-finals @ $2,300
  • Sunday 25th July Final @ $18,000 (incl.$500 breeders ) & Consolation @ $2,300

The winner of the Final is also eligible for a $6,000 bonus if it can win the 2010 Gawler in November. The Bonus was not won in 2009, so it has jackpotted by $1,000 for 2010. If the winner is SA Bred, there is also a $1,000 SA Bred Bonus. The first four placegetters from each Heat will qualify for the three Semi-Finals.

Kennelmates, Where’s Pancho & Where’s Cisco head up the series; both performed well in the recent Breeders 2010 Futurity races. While another pair of kennelmates in Stack Em Flat and Honky Girl are both up a comers on the SA scene. Aston Rachael was a winner of the John Gray Memorial back in January and has run fast time at headquarters. Random Test is related to and he has shown plenty of ability in race starts to date.

Recent Winners of the Gawler Produce:

  • 2000 Hayley’s Justice G. Stirling 31.02
  • 2001 Kenkenya M. Herramann 30.60
  • 2002 Cruisin Babe D.Hockley 30.65
  • 2003 Oaktrea Raider K.Wittholz 31.18
  • 2004 Sweet Matt M.Giniotis 30.96
  • 2005 A.Fergusson 30.88
  • 2006 Ten Tornados T. Murray 31.21
  • 2007 Scull Murphy R. Isaacson 30.61
  • 2008 R. Kelly 30.99
  • 2009 Gold P. Barry 30.95

Further Information:

(08) 8243 7100
Operations Manager
Greyhound Racing SA

Similar Greyhound Racing News

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments