Kalden Mayhem Named 2011 South Australian Greyhound Of The Year

The trained Kalden Mayhem has been named South Australia's Greyhound Of The Year for 2011 at the greyhound of the year awards held at Angle Park's Chasers restaurant on Satrday night.

Kalden Mayhem's 2011 year was capped with a stirring Gold Cup win in November, that saw the blue dog rail through the field from last early before swamping the leaders late out wide to win the Group 3 race.

Kalden Mayhem also won the 2011 heat and final before finishing a creditable third to in the national final in August 2011.

2011 SA Greyhound of the Year

Starts 41-1sts 19, 2nds 4, 3rds 6
Trainer Troy Murray
Total Prizemoney $82,030

Also second Betfair Gold Cup (G2 – ), seventh Easter Chase Final (G2 – Wentworth Park)
Best Times: 29.36 (515m Angle Park), 34.48 (600m Angle Park), 43.22 (731m Angle Park), 30.32 (531m Gawler), 37.27 (643m Gawler), 30.88 (536m )

Other award winners on the night were”

2011 SA Sprinting Greyhound of the Year

Starts 28-1sts 16, 2nds 2, 3rds –
Total Prizemoney $55,295

2011 SA Distance Greyhound of the Year

Starts 41-1sts 19, 2nds 4, 3rds 6
Trainer Troy Murray
Total Prizemoney $82,030

2011 SA Bred Greyhound of the Year

Starts 38-1sts 20, 2nds 7, 3rds 4
(SA Bred) Trainer Matthew Payne
Total Prizemoney $33,660

2011 Nominations Greyhound of the Year


2011 Greyhound of the Month winners

January – Satanic Cash – trainer Robert Isaacson
February – Goosebumps – trainer Matthew Payne
March – Brahma Boy – trainer John Mundy
April – Dark Duo – trainer Rob Harnas

June – Led Zeppelin – trainer Petar Jovanovic

October – Kalden Aurora – trainer Troy Murray
December – Crazy Heart – trainer Bruce Lellmann

2011 SA Young Person's Achievement Award

Elly Matcott
Elly was nominated by Ray Fewings. She was nominated for the tireless work she does assisting her parents and other trainers catching greyhounds. She has a bubbly personality and takes advice extremely well. At such a young age she conducts herself beyond her years on course making her parents very proud.

2011 SA Volunteers of the Year

Jayne Jarman

Award of Participation

John Oehme
This is the inaugural presentation of this award. John was recognized for almost 70 years participation within the SA Greyhound Racing Industry as a trainer and administrator. He was still training greyhounds at the age of 80 before ill health made him hang up the leads. There were around 30 family and friends gathered on the night to celebrate with John and his wife Betty.

2011 SA Stud Dog of the Year

Scull Murphy
Owner Robert Isaacson
Scull Murphy was a champion and crowd favourite on the track and it is great to see him having success off the track even though he tragically passed away last year. He won 42 races from only 80 starts with over $133,000 in prizemoney. In 2011 greyhounds sired by Scull Murphy won 44 races. His best performers included Crystal Scull, Long Gully Bob, Long Gully Mick and Long Gully Arch.

2011 SA Brood Bitch of the Year

Blue Palace
Owner Darrell Hearnden
Blue Palace had a great year, through the exploits of her litters by , Pure Octane and Scull Murphy. The result was a total of 48 winners from Blue Palace during 2011. Winners out of Blue Palace during the year included most of the “Long Gully” dogs like, Long Gully Jacob, Long Gully Mick and Long Gully Arch where most of her progeny made it to the race track and won races.

2011 SA Breeder of the Year

Judi Hurley
This is the second time this award has been presented and is to recognize the outstanding Breeder in the State for 2011. This award is decided on a point's basis for SA Bred greyhounds that have won races at Sky Racing meetings during 2011.

Judi wins this award with 129 points. Judi had great success with her litters in 2011 especially with her good brood bitch Villify who produced multiple winners Woodside Fred and Woodside Woody for trainer Graham Smith and Emerley Choice for her husband Peter. It seemed a meeting wasn't run without an “Emerley” dog engaged highlighting Judi's dedication to breeding.

2011 SA Country Trainer of the Year

Don Turner
This award is presented to the leading trainer at Country meetings during 2011. Don Turner wins the award taking out the title with 10 country winners in 2011. With the track rationalization last year the opportunities at Country venues were reduced however Don was a great supporter of the Port Augusta Greyhound Racing Club where he had good success with his greyhounds Kenya Bale, Jay Jay's Dream and Manatoo.

2011 SA Owner/Trainer of the Year

Darrell Hearnden
Darrell Hearnden is the leading Owner/Trainer of the Year with a total of 57 TAB winners in 2011. His success has been brought about mainly through the exploits of his “Long Gully” dogs. His winners included Long Gully Mick, Long Gully Arch, Long Gully Ova and Long Gully Jacob.

2011 SA TAB Leading Trainer of the Year

Shaun Matcott
Shaun Matcott is the leading Trainer of the Year, with a total of 317 winners at TAB meetings in SA during 2011. This is another fantastic training effort by Shaun who gets great support from his wife Wendy, their children and many other helpers making it a real team effort. It is Shaun's fifth win of this title and the third time he has trained more than 300 winners in a season.

2011 SA Syndicate of the Year

The Big Magic Syndicate
Manager Shane Brame
This is the fifth time that this Award has been presented; to acknowledge an important part of our industry in Syndication. The Big Magic Syndicate, managed by Shane Brame wins the award for the first time. The Syndicate won with a number of greyhounds during the year with Enever, Big Yella, Another Innings, Carly And Me, Omega Magic and Rhythm And Soul, which won 19 races between them.

2011 SA City Strike Rate

Peter Luxton
This award is based on performances for Angle Park metropolitan grade meetings. The trainer also must have a minimum of 20 starters for the year. Peter through the performances of Nirimba Sapphire and Nirimba Slayer. During 2011 Peter trained 7 winners from 20 starters at city meetings (APM/APK), giving him a 35.00% strike rate.

2011 Gawler Trackstar Award

Token Class
Token Class was a winner of 14 races with 13 placing's from 41 starts at Gawler in 2011. He loved the 400m with all his starts during 2011 coming over the sprint distance at Gawler, with a best winning time of 22.58. This is back to back wins for Token Class who won this award in 2010.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments