Lord Ducal Takes Out Greyhound Racing’s Biggest Prize

Devon Meadows husband and wife team Jon and took out Australia’s richest and most prestigious greyhound race, the $250,000 Group 1 Solo Melbourne Cup at tonight.

“It’s unbelievable,” said triumphant trainer Jon.

“I’ve been in greyhounds a long time and I never thought this would happen.”

Lord Ducal jumped only fairly from box 7 but drove through a narrow gap between Dyna Lachlan and Octare, and with trouble close to the rail on the first turn, ‘Malcolm’ soon found himself in the lead.

The black speedster extended his margin down the back straight and proved far too good in the run to the line to defeat the gallant Dyna Lachlan, who recorded his fourth minor placing in six group race finals, by 2.5 lengths.

Mr. Moorooduc recovered from heavy interference at the first turn to finish third.

“I said six months ago this dog was good enough to win a Melbourne Cup,” continued Roberts.

“He did cost me a lot of money early days. I knew he could run but if there was trouble he’d find it. He has improved.”

Lord Ducal’s winning time of 29.53 seconds was the second fastest in the race’s 54 year history, just 0.02 seconds outside of the race record set by three-time Group 1 winner Betty’s Angel.

It was the couple’s first Solo Melbourne Cup finalist since Plugger, named after then St. Kilda spearhead Tony Lockett, contested the 1988 final.

Owned and bred by Jon’s wife Jenny, Lord Ducal is a distant relative of Plugger, and entered the Solo Melbourne Cup as the least experienced greyhound in the race. He left the Lightwood Road circuit the richest after the ninth win in his 26 race career netted him the $175,000 first prize and took Lord Ducal’s career prizemoney to $217,715.

The Solo Melbourne Cup is the culmination of one of Australia’s richest greyhound racing carnivals, and proved a particular triumph for super-sire Bombastic Shiraz.

Himself a winner of the Melbourne ‘Triple Crown’ – the Topgun, Shootout and Melbourne Cup – in 2003, Bombastic Shiraz sired the winner of each leg of the 2009 Triple Crown with Cindeen Shelby (Topgun), Velocette (Shootout) and Lord Ducal (Melbourne Cup) emulating the feats of their famous father.

The night was a tremendous success for the Club which recorded near record turnover figures, remarkable given the inclement weather in the lead up to the race.

After the placings the field finished in the following order 4th Octare ($11.90), 5th ($3.90fav), 6th Remo Rubik ($14.30) 7th Prankster ($8.70) and Turanza Bale ($5.70).

Lord Ducal is a Black dog whelped April 2007 he is raced, trained and was bred by Jon & Jenny Roberts. He is by Bombastic Shiraz from Ducal Princess (Lansley Bale x Patsy Cline) he has raced 26 times for nine wins and nine placings with the Melbourne Cup’s first prize of $175,000, it took his overall stake earnings to $217,715.

The night was a tremendous success for the Greyhound Racing Club and was a fitting finale for its Sky Channel Superdogs Series.

A large crowd enjoy humid conditions after a stormy afternoon and helped the Club top $1 million in TAB turnover on a meeting for just the third time.

below is the honour roll of winners of the Melbourne Cup.

Melbourne Cup Honour Roll

  • 1956 Rocketeer
  • 1957
  • 1958 Marine Jet
  • 1959 Capital King
  • 1960 Chief Ranee
  • 1961 Bybrae
  • 1962 Saskagay
  • 1963 Saskaview
  • 1964 Rocket Streak
  • 1965 Kinta’s Son
  • 1966 Cheltenham Lass
  • 1967 Swan Opal
  • 1968 Mr Spot
  • 1969 Milimsimbi
  • 1970 Chris’ Dandy
  • 1971 Gerard The Gent
  • 1972 Gold Grotto
  • 1973 New Mariner
  • 1974 Kwik Metal
  • 1975 Dynamic Dean
  • 1976 Carrington Jade
  • 1977 Milepost
  • 1978 Tangaloa
  • 1979 Acclaim Star
  • 1980 Black Aztec
  • 1981 Satan’s Shroud
  • 1982 Kid Scandal
  • 1983 Lady Lilly
  • 1984 Rustic Venture
  • 1985 Sydney Dingaan
  • 1986 Legendary Kid
  • 1987 Speedy Mick
  • 1988 Hua
  • 1989 Fair Sentence
  • 1990 Highly Blessed
  • 1991 Fox Hunt
  • 1992 Master Giant
  • 1993 Silver Chisel
  • 1994
  • 1995 City Blitz
  • 1996 Henry Hand
  • 1997 Roanokee
  • 1998
  • 1999 Kantarn Bale
  • 2000 Go Wild Teddy
  • 2001 Classic Capri
  • 2002 Excite Ability
  • 2003 Bombastic Shiraz
  • 2004
  • 2005 Closing Argument
  • 2006 Betty’s Angel
  • 2007 Shanlyn Prince
  • 2008
  • 2009 Lord Ducal

Similar Greyhound Racing News

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments