GRNSW Name NSW Greyhound Of The Year Finalists

has today named the final three finalists for the 2008 .

The New South Wales finalists are , Miss Elly Mint and .The winner will be announced at the NSW greyhound Of The Year Awards night on 13 February at The Hilton Sydney.

The three finalists were selected by an anonymous group of ten “prominent greyhound media identities” (Australian Racing Greyhound did not have a represntative on the panel) who decided the finalists during last Saturday’s Assocaition Cup meeting at Wenworth Park.

A change in recent years to eligibility for the has meant nominees must have:-

  • Won a race in 2008
  • Had at least six starts at in 2008
  • Won a metropolitan race in NSW in 2008
  • Must have been domiciled in NSW for the majority portion of the racing year

Miagi was the premier stayer in NSW before being cruelled by injury, Mandagery Man the elite sprinter in NSW in the first half of the year and Miss Elly Mint assuming his mantle in the latter half of the year with her amazing winning streak.

The NSW Greyhound Of The Year Awards will feature awards for best distance greyhound, sprinter, sire, brood bitch and trainer of the year.

Greyhound clubs have also had the opportunity to nominate themselves for Club of the Year, volunteers who assist; and young people under 25 who have made a contribution to the industry over the past year.

The Greyhound of the Year Awards will be held at the Grand Ballroom of the Hilton Sydney on George Street Sydney on Friday 13th February 2009.

0 0 votes
Article Rating

More greyhound news

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments