2013 Queensland Greyhound Of The Year Nominations

The 3 finalist for the Queensland Greyhound of the Year have been announced with Xylia Allen, Glen Gallon and Starliner set to do battle off the track to claim this prestigious title.

With wonderful track performances throughout 2013, the judging panel will have a tough decision in crowning the greyhound of the year winner. The awards night, to be held on March 14th 2014 at Kedron Wavell Services Club will also recognise the following performances from a great 2013 year of Queensland Greyhound Racing:

2013 Brisbane GRC Greyhound of the Year

2013 Bundaberg GRC Greyhound of the Year

2013 Cairns GRC Greyhound of the Year

2013 Capalaba GRC Greyhound of the Year

2013 Ipswich GRC Greyhound of the Year

2013 Rockhampton GRC Greyhound of the Year

2013 Townsville GRC Greyhound of the Year

Brisbane Leading Owner

Brisbane Leading Trainer

Brisbane Trainers Strike Rate

Brisbane Sire of the Year

Brisbane Broodbitch of the Year

Women in Racing Award

Personality Award

Young Achiever of the Year

Top Simbi Award

Hall of Fame

2013 Greyhound of the Year

The 2013 Greyhound of Year Finalists:

GLEN GALLON (Flying Stanley – Incoherent)

Tony Brett trained chaser will be looking to secure his first Queensland Greyhound Of The Year title after being a finalist in 2012. He was a winner of the Group 1 Winter Cup, going back to back after his success in 2012. He’s a retired superstar who raced against the best throughout his illustrious career.
Albion Park 2013 record of 12 starts for 8 wins and 2 placings including multiple sub 30 second performances.
Top grade performances in every one of his race track performances.

2013 overall record – 21 starts – 11 wins and 4 placings.

STARLINER (Pure Octane – Borgata)

Gary Pettersen trained chaser who excelled over the Albion Park 600m trip, highlighted by his Group 3 Big Dog Cup success. Starliner will be named the 2013 Albion Park Greyhound of the Year after starting at the track 32 times for 13 wins and 15 placings – winning the award based on a point system.

The white flash was a revelation in 2013 and much was written about the Northern NSW chaser, who was simply brilliant at headquarters, winning races over the 520m, 600m and 720m journeys.

2013 overall record – 40 starts – 18 wins and 16 placings.

XYLIA ALLEN (Turanza Bale – Tayah Bale)

Jenny Hunt trained superstar who dominated racing Australia wide. In Queensland she started 6 times for 2 wins and 3 placing’s including being a three time Group finalists at Albion Park, with her results including – 2nd in the Group 2 Futurity, 3rd in the Group 1 Winter Cup and 4th in the Group 1 Brisbane Cup.

Victorian trained chaser who is eligible for the Queensland Award after starting the minimum six races in Queensland. She was a multiple group finalists who certainly clocked up the travel miles in 2013 and will be favourite to win this award after her efforts in Queensland and other states.
Controversy will surround any award won by this super bitch after the suspension of her previous trainer Graeme Bate for multiple positive swabs in 2013.

2013 overall record – 40 starts – 16 wins and 15 placings, including winning 5 Group races and qualifying for many other group finals. Three time Group 1 Winner, including the Sapphire Crown, National Sprint and Peter Mosman Classic. Group 2 Launceston Cup winner and Group 3 Sandown Shootout winner.

ARG wishes all finalists the best of luck and congratulations go to award winners on their contributions to greyhound racing in Queensland for 2013.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments