Sale Cup Winner Symmetry Wins 2011 Rookie Rebel

The Robert Britton-trained Symmetry continued his superb Group-winning form with an outstanding come from behind win in the Rookie Rebel at over 600 metres on Saturday night.

The son of U.S. sire Flying Penske and Classy Creek missed early interference on the first corner before settling behind early leader Birthday Boy with a lap to travel.

Making his run down the back straight, Symmetry ($4.00) ranged up to Birthday Boy ($15.10) on the home turn before powering away to a 34.68 win, two lengths clear of his nearest rival. Favourite Stack ‘Em Flat ($2.70) finished third, a further neck away.

The win was Symmetry's second Group success in two months, taking out the Group 1 Sale Cup on Boxing Day last year. From 42 starts, the Helen Ivers-owned chaser has won 19 races and now over $217,415.

The win by Symmetry means that he and the other two big winners on the night, including High Earner (Temlee) and Blue Lorian () have a combined prizemoney total of over $1.1 million.

Britton praised owner Helen Ivers for her breeding program, which has resulted in many years of sustained success.

“You know when you are getting a dog off Helen, you're getting quality. This dog is no exception. He is so bulletproof – you can put him over a number of distances and he always does his best.”

Symmetry will now drop in distance to take on Australia‟s best sprinters in a semi-final of the Group 1 MTD at The Meadows next Saturday night.

Time for was 34.68 with sections of 9.33 (6) and 22.28 (6). After the placings the runners finished in the following order: Black Viking ($6.20), Aston Lucas ($7.80), ($11.20), Barney Stinson ($22.30) and Dark Duo ($12.60).

Symmetry is raced and was bred by Helen Ivers he is a Black dog whelped March 2007 by Flying Penske from Classy Creek ( x Sheza Swifty). Symmetry has won 19 of his 42 starts and has been placed on 11 occasions and with the $25,000 first prize for the Rookie Rebel it took his current stake earnings to $217,415.

Listed below are the past winners of the Rookie Rebel.
2003 No Shame, 2004 Shamira Bale, 2005 Malfoy 2006 Paua To Burn, 2007 2008 Jamazz, 2009 and 2010 Flash Of Light.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments