Shima Breeze draws box one in balloted SA Sprint Championship final

Angle Park

GRSA have tonight been forced to ballot greyhounds in to the SA Sprint Championship final after the meeting was abandoned with only one of the two feature race heats run.

After the first heat (race 4) of the 2019 SA Sprint Championship at Angle Park maintenance staff discovered issues with the system. GRSA Stewards advised all races would be put back one race so staff could investigate the issues, however maintenance staff advised that there were significant issues affecting the lure, cable and rail and advised the meeting could not continue.

The stewards advised that the remainder of the program (races 5 to 10) would be abandoned.

With one of the two heats completed for the SA Sprint Championship the stewards conducted a public ballot in the Angle Park kennel house acting under Rule 57(2)(b) to determine the remaining four finalists.

The greyhounds randomly balloted were Shimando, Don Lesta, Shima Breeze and Blastoise, with heat two equal favourite missing a start in the big final.

The four balloted greyhounds were added to the four placegetters from the first heat 1st Cawbourne Swade, 2nd Honcho Monelli, 3rd and 4th .

Acting under the stewards declared reserves from the first heat which had placings and times with Sir Puppo (5th – 1st Res) and Zudactyl Monelli (6th – 2nd Res).

The Box Draw for this event was then conducted oncourse for the $22,000 feature to be run next Thursday night 17th January.

The Final field in Box Draw order is:

2019 SA Sprint Championship Final

  1. Shima Breeze – Tony Rasmussen
  2. Alicante Bouchet –
  3. Blastoise – Shelley Trengove
  4. Merindah – Bosco Stamenkovic
  5. Cawbourne Swade – Lisa Rasmussen
  6. Honcho Monelli – Tony Ramussen
  7. Don Lesta – Lisa Rasmussen
  8. Shimando – Tony Ramussen
  9. Sir Puppo (1st Res) –
  10. Zudactyl Monelli (2nd Res) – Tony Rasmussen

More Greyhounds News