Super Stayers Series Returns To New South Wales Greyhound Racing

The Sportingbet Super Stayers Series makes its long awaited return in September with more than $32,000 in additional prizemoney up for grabs.

Now in its second year, the Sportingbet Super Stayers Series is rapidly developing into one of the most popular and competitive staying events in Australian greyhound racing.
This year's series has been moved from winter to spring, with heats being staged from 10 September to 17 November.

Like last year's series – which was won by the trained Slick Lee – greyhounds will accumulate points when they participate in heats. The series will also see the return of Sullo's Sling Bonus Heats, which doubles the allocated points for all placings.

At the completion of the Sportingbet Super Stayers Series the greyhound that has accumulated the highest number of points will receive a $10,000 bonus.

In addition, the eight highest pointscorers in the series will qualify for the Sportingbet Super Stayers Final at Wentworth Park over 720m on 24 November where they will battle it out for $22,500 in prizemoney.

Greyhound () Chief Executive said the Sportingbet Super Stayers Series plays an important role in strengthening distance racing in NSW.

“The return of the Sportingbet Super Stayers Series will again provide an incentive to trainers and owners to race their stayers in NSW through improved prizemoney and conditions,” Mr Hogan said.

“We appreciate Sportingbet Australia's continued support of this concept and greyhound racing in NSW.”

Sportingbet Australia CEO Michael Sullivan said he was excited to once again be working with GRNSW.

“Betting on greyhounds continues to grow at Sportingbet Australia, with fixed odds betting proving extremely popular and this deal gives us a much greater presence in the market.

“Sportingbet Australia was very happy with the success of last year's series and look forward to seeing the best stayers in NSW battling it out again.”

The first heat of the Sportingbet Super Stayers Series will take place at Bathurst on 10 September.

Super Stayers Schedule

10 Bathurst 700m
13 (Bonus) 565m
15 717m
18 Lismore 720m
20 (Bonus) 724m
23 Wagga Wagga 760m
25 Gosford (Bonus) 731m
28 Casino 620m
29 Wentworth Park* 720m

9 700m
11 605m
14 Nowra 728m
16 Lismore 720m
19 (Bonus) 715m
22 Bulli 659m
25 Dapto 724m
25 Grafton 610m
29 Bathurst (Bonus) 700m
30 Gosford 731m
31 Nowra 728m

1 Maitland 565m
2 Casino 620m
3 Wentworth Park (Bonus) 720m
9 The Gardens 715m
12 Bulli (Bonus) 659m
17 Richmond 717m

Grand Final
24 Wentworth Park 720m

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments