Taipan Bale Looks A Moral To Win Back To Back Healesville Cups

Iconic Lara mentor has guided 2008 winner to his second Cup final in as many years.

And to make the effort all the sweeter, Taipan Bale has again drawn the red box in the final; the same box he won from last year.

Bate and Taipan Bale will now chase consecutive $12,500 strikes in the Healesville Cup final (340m) – the richest straight race in Australia.

A six-time race finalist, Taipan Bale (18.49sec) semaphored the second fastest time of eight heats conducted on the weekend. Last year Taipan Bale recorded an 18.45 heat win, which was only the 6th fastest time before improving to run a quick 18.21 to win the final.

Other heat winners were Burra Bye (18.43sec), Majestic Oasis (18.54sec), (18.59sec), (18.65sec), Din's Son (18.71sec), Shameless (18.72sec) and Woody Be Good (18.75sec).

Vee Man Vane (winner 2008 G2 ) and Din's Son (finalist 2009 G1 Silver Chief) also have black type experience.

Taipan Bale will attempt to emulate dual Healesville Cup winners Koutafidamedes (1997-98) and Schwartzanager (2006-07).

Here is the Healesville Cup box draw:
2009 Healesville Cup Box Draw

  • 1. Taipan Bale
  • 2. Woody Be Good
  • 3. Majestic Oasis
  • 4. Burra Bye
  • 5. Din's Son
  • 6. Holy Moley
  • 7. Shameless
  • 8. Vee Man Vane
  • Reserves:

  • 9. Harmer Brothers
  • 10.
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments