2012 Sandown Shootout Field Announced

The Sandown Greyhound Racing Club yesteroday announced the field to contest the 2012 Group 3 Macro Meats Shootout.

After consultation between Sandown and Greyhound Racing Victoria, the following greyhounds were confirmed as finalists in the four-dog, $50,000 winner-takes-all event:

  • Don’t Knocka Him
  • Heston Bale
  • Odie For Now
  • Proven Nitro

Glen Gallon and Roy Galo were also named as reserves.

The other greyhounds to nominate for the Macro Meats Shootout were General Destini, Irma Bale, Premier Boloney, Spud Regis and Voltage Peak. The nomination for Renegade Chief was withdrawn on Monday morning.

“The Club is delighted with the level of interest in this year’s Macro Meats Shootout,” said Michael Floyd, Racing and Media Manager.

“Determining the final field was particularly difficult given the high quality of the nominations received. But after much discussion, the Club has settled on the four greyhounds we believe will help answer the question of which greyhound is the fastest chaser in the country.”

The box draw for the Macro Meats Shootout will be conducted during the Sandown Park race meeting on Thursday 1 November with the final to be run on the following Thursday 8 November.

Macro Meats Shootout night coincides with the final TAB Melbourne Cup Prelude series, as well as the Group 3 Sir John Dillon (595m).

It is also the Kids Fun Night Out, featuring the popular ‘Owner For The Day’ – where kids get to lead a greyhound out onto the track – as well as a number of other fun games and activities with lots of prizes and giveaways.

Entry is free and gates open at 6pm.

2012 Sandown Shootout Field

Knocka Norris x Surf Queen
Trainer: Jason Thompson
Owner: Reg Kay
Overall record: 46 starts 23-7-8
Prize money: $366,329
Sandown record: 4 starts 1-1-0 (B29.30)
Best times: 29.30 (SAN), 29.57 (WPK), 29.62 (BGC, twice)
Other: 13 of 23 wins have been in BON

Big Daddy Cool x Shanlyn Lass
Trainer: Kel Greenough
Owner: You Can Do It Syndicate
Overall record: 32 starts 14-7-2
Prize money: $85,915
Sandown record: 15 starts 7-3-2 (B29.20)
Best times: 29.20 (SAN), 29.77 (MEA), 29.61 (WPK)
Other: Has been favourite in 11 of 14 starts at Sandown Park

Nitro Burst x Proven Cobalt
Trainer: Jason Thompson
Owner: McGrath Syndicate
Overall record: 26 starts 13-5-6
Prize money: $64,335
Sandown record: 5 starts 2-2-0 (B29.70)
Best times: 29.70 (SAN), 29.77 (MEA), 29.63 (WPK)
Other: Has not missed a place since May (last 15 starts exc a fall on 30/8)

Bartrim Bale x Amelia Bale
Trainer: Andrea Dailly
Owner: Paul Wheeler
Overall record: 31 starts 16-4-3
Prize money: $98,000
Sandown record: 14 starts 7-2-2 (B29.02)
Best times: 29.02 (SAN), 29.45 (MEA-Track record), 29.96 (CRN)
Other: Broke Sandown track record at its second start (29.14)

Trainer: Tony Brett
Owner: Velocity Lodge Syn
Overall record: 44 starts 23-7-2
Prize money: $308,647

Trainer: Stan Ralph
Owner: Talbony Partners
Overall record: 22 starts 10-3-1
Prize money: $59,165

0 0 vote
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments