Forty Nine Nominations For Victorian Heats Of National Sprint Championships

’s fastest chasers will line up at Park on Thursday 2 August for the right to represent the Big V at the Championship.

An outstanding 49 nominations for the Victorian leg of the series were received, and includes race winners Don’t Knocka Him, Godsend, El Brooklyn, Katie Merry, Dyna Lowell, Allen Hertz and Blackalls Boss, as well as brilliant youngsters Ima Geisha Girl, Roy Galo, Fabregas, Odie For Now and Leeroy Rocker.

The 49 nominations comprise greyhounds from 16 different kennels, with a staggering 15 from Hall Of Fame trainer Graeme Bate alone. Bate is seeking a second National Sprint Champion after Henerick Bale won the event when the final was last run at in 2002.

Despite being regarded by many to be the home to the best greyhound racing in the country, Victoria’s record in the National Sprint Championship is modest. In the previous 47 National Sprint Championships, Victorians have won just 11 times – seven times fewer than New South Wales – and none since Pure Octane won the 2005 title for Darren McDonald. Queensland has claimed three of the previous four titles and now has eight wins in the event.

The Victorian final will be conducted on Thursday 9 August ahead of the $75,000 to the winner Grand Final to be held at on Saturday 25 August – the first time since 1987 that Hobart will have hosted the event.

Fields for the Victorian heats of the National Sprint Championship will be released on Monday 30 July.

Victorian Nominations for the 2012 National Sprint Championship

Allen Elroy Graeme Bate
Allen Hertz Graeme Bate
Blackalls Boss
Brenna Bale Graeme Bate
Bubba’s Dream Ken Bailey
Buddy Rioli
Carol Allen Graeme Bate
Comic Sans Kelly Bravo
David Bale Graeme Bate
Don’t Knocka Him Jason Thompson
Dyna Drago Andrea Dailly
Dyna Iceman Andrea Dailly
Dyna Lowell Andrea Dailly
Dyna Morris Andrea Dailly
Dyna Steal Andrea Dailly
El Brooklyn Jason Thompson
Fabregas David Hirst
Flip Bale Graeme Bate
Forever Strong Cameron Taylor
Gettin Slizzard
Godsend Jason Thompson
Gordon Bale Graeme Bate
Grigorieva Bale Andrea Dailly
Hackle Bale Graeme Bate
Hannie Bale Andrea Dailly
Heston Bale Andrea Dailly
Hutmaker Robert Britton
Ima Geisha Girl Jason Thompson
Imry Bale Graeme Bate
Jordy Pordy Robert Britton
Katie Merry Kelly Bravo
Kevin Bale Graeme Bate
Leeroy Rocker Graeme Bate
Lektra Express Andrea Dailly
Lektra Johnson Andrea Dailly
Lektra Ottens Andrea Dailly
Mepunga Jordy Robert Britton
Napthine Bale Graeme Bate
Odie For Now
Premier Boloney Kelly Bravo
Joe Borg
Razza Bale Graeme Bate
Roy Galo Stan Ralph
Ruby Ha Ha Robert Neocleous
Sapporo Tina Womann
Soda Boy Peter Giles
Spiral Ballerina David Baker
Streetbike Tommy Andrea Dailly
Went Wooshka Tina Womann

0 0 votes
Article Rating

More greyhound news

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments