Seventeen Nominations Received For Victorian Heats Of National Distance Championships

A total of 17 nominations have been received for the State Distance Championship heats to be conducted at The Meadows over 725 metres on August 4, with the Victorian State final decided on August 11.

The winner of the State Distance final from Victoria will then take on the country’s best stayers in the Group 1 AGRA National Distance Championship at Hobart on August 25, worth $75,000 to the winner. Victoria will be hoping to return to the winners’ circle this year.

After three consecutive wins for the Vics in the National Distance Championship between 2007 and 2009 (Flashing Floods, Mantra Lad, Jarvis Bale) the state has played second fiddle behind more recent winners Blue Lorian (NSW) and Dashing Corsair (QLD).

Some of the standout stayers nominated include the likes of two-time Group winner Irma Bale, part of a four pronged attack for the Wheeler family.

Lara trainer Robert Britton will be represented with three runners including Czar, a greyhound closely related to 2005 National Distance Champion Texas Gold.

Group racing at The Meadows continues this Saturday night with the running of the Group 2 AWM Distance Championship and the Group 1 Hudson Pacific Maturity, worth $100,000 to the winner.

The 17 nominations for the State Distance Championship are:

2012 Victorian National Distance Champiopnship Nominations

Adelle Bale (A.Dailly)
Arising (J.Cottrell)
Bally Flys (R. Britton)
Czar (R. Britton)
Double Champ (T.Womann)
Double Jeopardy (J. Britton)
Erica Allen (A.Dailly)
Fyna Bale (A.Dailly)
Irma Bale (G.Bate)
Karanji (A. Langton)
Lady Grey (D.Pulis)
Lektra Jay (A.Dailly)
Mimicking (R. Britton),
Mission Complete (M.Mallia-Magri)
Starfire Magic (M.Mallia-Magri)
Take it Home (J.Sharp)
Yowyeh (A. Langton)

0 0 vote
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments