The Queen A Brilliant Schweppes All Stars Winner

Queen Lauryn won the Group 2 Schweppes All stars at Cannington on Saturday night. The brilliant
bitch won by 8 lengths in 30.10 breaking the 2002 record of 30.46 set by Twain. The super star
Queenslander has won 27 of 45 career starts and over $270,000 in stakes.

The race time was sensational and she could have broken the track record considering the race was conducted in extremely windy conditions with runners going into the front straight twice.

Anyone who had a runner in the Group 1 Topgun at The Meadows on Saturday night would have been well aware they may have been lucky she was not in Victoria for that race. Queen Lauryn was made second reserve for the Topgun amid some controversy.

The “Queen” put the race beyond doubt early on when she raced into a prominent position at the first turn from that point on it was a matter of times and margins. She raced away down the back straight recording a hollow victory in the run to the line.

Local chasers Joanne Monelli ($3.40) finished second in front of Silk Moon ($4.90) two lengths back third.

A multiple Group race winner Queen Lauryn will return to Sandown Park this Thursday night to defend her title after she won the Sapphire Crown last year the outstanding performer boasts three wins and three seconds in six starts at the Lightwood Road circuit.

Queen Lauryn is a Black bitch whelped December 2005 by Token Prince from Cheeky Sprite (Bright Ebony x Cheeky Villain) she is raced by Queensland race caller Steve Hawkins and his family. Queen Lauryn is trained by Tony Brett from Grandchester she has raced 45 times for 27 wins and 11 placings with the $40,000 first prize for the Schweppes All Stars Sprint it took her current stake earnings to $270,035.

After the placings the field finished in the following order 4th Proven Chayse ($28.40), 5th Natural Sapphire ($19.90), 6th Stoner Bale ($8.40) 7th Flying Shambi ($15.20) and Conrad Black ($28.00).

The All Stars Sprint has always been a major event on the Cannington Calendar every year since first run in 1977. Listed below are the previous winners.

All Stars Sprint Honour Roll

  • 1977 Pied Issue
  • 1978 Ceemarbil
  • 1979 Chief Vader
  • 1980 White Panther
  • 1981 Fiery Message
  • 1982 Cola Cub
  • 1983 Ginger Eagle
  • 1984 Windfire
  • 1985 Lusty Mick
  • 1986 The Woodsman
  • 1987 Spicy Miss
  • 1988 Dirty Looks
  • 1989 Brindle Tangara
  • 1990 Sandi’s Me Mum
  • 1991 Mossdale Magic
  • 1992 Dandy Lassie
  • 1993 Do It Now
  • 1994 Rivendel Bound
  • 1995 Isn’t She Lovely
  • 1996 Pezza’s Tiger
  • 1997 Betcha Jones
  • 1998 Reggemite
  • 1999 Billy The Duck
  • 2000 Cobram Storm
  • 2001 Ultimate Rebel
  • 2002 Twain
  • 2003 Blocker Stanley
  • 2004 Token Royale
  • 2005 Lord Monelli
  • 2006 Cape Ozy
  • 2007 Kostic Burns
  • 2008 Miss Slick
  • 2009 Queen Lauryn

Past Discussion