Albion Park Gold Cup

he Albion Park Gold Cup is the sole group 1 event run over the staying trip at Brisbane’s premier greyhound track.

The Gold Cup is the first group 1 throughout the Brisbane winter carnival and is run in June each year, with the other main event being the Group 1 Winter Cup which is held in July.

Best bookmakers for betting on the Group 1 Gold Cup

As it is a group 1 race offering a hefty winner’s purse, only the best stayers contest the Gold Cup series, meaning there is plenty of betting interest on both the heats and final.

All of our recommended bookmakers offer fixed odds betting for the final, allowing punters to shop around and find the best odds about their selected runner.

Most of our bookies also offer fixed odds betting on the heats, while some even offer all-in markets on the winner of the final prior to the running of the heats – giving you the chance to win big by snaring some inflated odds if you think you can spot the winner.

#1 Deposit $400, bet with $1000
  • Visa deposit
  • MasterCard deposit
  • Paypal deposit
Bet Now Read Review Not available to residents of United States
Deposit $400, bet with $1000
#2 100% up to $501
  • Paypal deposit
  • POLi deposit
  • BPAY deposit
Bet Now Read Review Not available to residents of United States
100% up to $501
#3 100% up to $200
  • Visa deposit
  • Mastercard deposit
  • Credit Card deposit
Bet Now Read Review Not available to residents of United States
100% up to $200
#4 Deposit $50, get $150
  • Visa deposit
  • MasterCard deposit
  • Paypal deposit
Bet Now Read Review Not available to residents of United States
Deposit $50, get $150
#5 100% up to $502
  • Visa deposit
  • Mastercard deposit
  • POLi deposit
Bet Now Read Review Available to residents of United States
100% up to $502

History of the Albion Park Gold Cup

The Gold Cup was inaugurated back in 1974 when taken out by Captain Winter. Back then, racing was still held at the Gabba, with the event known as the Gabba Gold Cup until 1980 when major sponsorship was taken over by SGIO and Woolworths for one year apiece.

It switched back to its original name between 1981 and 1988 when it was then called the FAI Gold Cup for four years, before being rebranded as the Albion Park Gold Cup when racing moved to the current Brisbane circuit in 1993.

VIP Petfoods were the sponsor of the Cup from that point until 2002, with Cartwright Property Group then coming on board to support the event.

Since its inception the race has been won by some of the greatest stayers the sport has seen such as Mandarin Girl (1977), Miss Cruise (1995), Boronia Blossom (1996), Miss Brook (2006), Miss Grub (2007), Chinatown Lad (2008), Queen Lauryn (2009), Nellie Noodles (2010), Destini Fireball (2013) and Xylia Allen (2014), while Dotie Wilson is the only greyhound to have won the event twice, claiming the title in 1975 and 1976 respectively.

Recent years of the Group 1 Gold Cup

2015: Dzeko scored her maiden group 1 victory in the 2015 edition for trainer Samuel Dart, with the daughter of Radley Bale and Rematch defeating a quality field including the likes of Mulloway (2nd), Lady Toy (3rd), Zipping Maggie (4th) and Cyndie’s Magic (6th) to score by three quarters of a length in 42.44. Read a full recap.

2014: Xylia Allen confirmed her champion status with a victory in the 2014 Albion Park Gold Cup, working hard from box rise to score her first staying group 1 in 41.71. It was the fourth win at the highest level for the black bitch which had already taken out the Peter Mosman Classic, the Sapphire Crown and the National Sprint Championship throughout her decorated career. Read 2014 recap of the race.

2013: Destini Fireball stamped himself as one of the top distance chasers in training when taking out the title in 2013. Trained by Norm Rinaldi, the white and black son of Where’s Pedro and Grey’s Destiny retired as a five time group winner with $631,195 in prize money earnings to his name.

2012: National staying star of the year Miata was the one to beat heading in to the 2012 Gold Cup final, but it was to He Knows Uno’s cup for popular Northern NSW trainer Mick Patterson.

Gold Cup honour roll

1974 – Captain Winter
1975 – Dotie Wilson
1976 – Dotie Wilson
1977 – Mandarin Girl
1978 – Dusty Ginny
1979 – Mockacindy
1980 – Gini’s Choice
1981 – Final Dream
1982 – Picture This
1983 – High Monakii
1984 – Shy Deena
1985 – National Star
1986 – Clover Park
1987 – Shy Nimbus
1988 – Gary’s Hope
1989 – Mary Casey
1990 – Rocket To Tubrid
1991 – Cobbalena
1992 – Elusive Odie
1993 – Pilgrim’s Star
1994 – Trojan Tears
1995 – Miss Cruise
1996 – Boronia Blossom
1998 – Totally Ablaze
1999 – Questions
2000 – Amazing Dancer
2001 – Hotshow Vintage
2002 – Total Denial
2003 – Dooley’s Mist
2004 – Toss O’Reilly
2005 – Last Quoted
2006 – Miss Brook
2007 – Miss Grub
2008 – Chinatown Lad
2009 – Queen Lauryn
2010 – Nellie Noddles
2011 – Bobby Boucheau
2012 – He Knows Uno (Primo Uno x Honeymoon’s Over) Mick & Lillian Patterson. 41.78sec 710m
2013 – Destini Fireball
2014 – Xylia Allen
2015 – Dzeko
2016 – My Boy Brodie

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *