Flying Amy Classic

Fast Times Brisbane Cup
PIC: Box 1 Photography.

The Flying Amy Classic is an age-restricted listed race run over the 520m trip at Albion Park.

The race is run throughout the Queensland winter carnival, with the winner of the event pocketing $25,000.

Betting on the Flying Amy Classic

The Flying Amy Classic attracts the best youngsters from across the Sunshine State in pursuit of the lucrative winner’s cheque, with the quality fields ensuring there is plenty of betting interest on the series.

All of our top AU online bookmakers offer fixed odds betting on the final, giving punters plenty of time to shop around and find the best price about their fancied selection.

Some of our bookies even offer all-in betting, which offers value if you think you can spot the winner of the final prior to the running of the heats.

There are no markets currently available for the upcoming edition of the Flying Amy Classic, but be sure to check this page closer to the event for all of the best odds and sign-up offers available.

United States Top Bookmakers

Top Bookmakers

Flying Amy Classic – history

The 2016 running was the 15th time the Flying Amy Classic has been run and won, with Flying Bill taking the honours. It was run over 520m at Albion Park and was eligible for puppies whelped on or after December 1, 2013.

The race is named after the Queensland superstar Flying Amy who raced 59 times between 1993 and 1996 for 42 wins, five seconds and five thirds and retired with a-then Australian record of $354,105 in prize money. She won 20 of her 24 starts at Albion Park and fittingly the club decided to honour her achievements with the Flying Amy Classic.

Flying Amy

The first classic was conducted on May 9, 2002 with Greasy Grizzly using box one to full advantage in downing Timely Thoughts by two and a half lengths in a fair 30.29 with Spooner Oldham almost three lengths further back in third position.

Between 2002 and 2009, the final was run in early May. The 2010 event was finalised in late April. Since 2011 the classic has been completed in June.

Beyond The Call holds the record margin, winning the 2007 running by nine and three-quarter lengths. Bogie Ace won the 2008 event by six lengths while Cosmic Rumble took out the 2009 edition by four and a half lengths.

Ben’s House won the 2013 race by a head, Velocity Regina took out the 2010 running by half a length and Bluezella scored by three-quarters of a length in 2006.

Some Beaten Stars to have contested the race include Quidame (fourth 2005), Buckingham Chuck (sixth 2006), High Earner (second 2009), Bogie Bomber (fourth 2009), Iso Octane (fourth 2010), Franklin Style (fifth 2010), Frosty Jay Jay (second 2013) and Pop The Cork (eighth 2015).

The best boxes of the races run so far have been box 3 with four wins, box 2 with three wins and boxes 1 and 6 with two victories apiece.

In the 2006 final, sire Token Prince had half the field and finished with first (Bluezella), third (Golden Marsha), sixth (Buckingham Chuck) and eighth (Demand).

In 2014 first (You Can Talk), fourth (You Say So) and fifth (Give You Credit) were all littermates, by Outa Credit from Where Are You.

The 2016 edition of the race was taken out by Bill Elson’s Fabulous Bill which upstaged boom sprinter Thirty Talks to score in a slick 29.91.

In 2018 owner and breeder Angela Langton recorded a brilliant win in the race after Hasten Slowly made the most of the inside draw to make a mess of the Flying Amy field.

Listed Flying Amy Classic – honour roll

2002 Greasy Grizzly
2003 Woops A Daisy
2004 Rare Roman
2005 Poldar Thunder
2006 Bluezella
2007 Beyond The Call
2008 Bogie Ace
2009 Cosmic Rumble
2010 Velocity Regina
2011 He Knows Uno
2012 Hanson Senor
2013 Ben’s House
2014 You Can Talk
2015 Elusive Desire
2016 Fabulous Bill
2017 Shoes To Fill
2018 Hasten Slowly