Hume Cup betting

Fanta Bale
2016 Hume Cup winner Fanta Bale in action at The Meadows PIC Paul Munt

The Hume Cup is a group 1 greyhound race which is conducted over the testing 600m journey at The Meadows each year.

The race was first run in 1960 and has since been won by some of the brightest stars the sport has seen including Cheltenham Lass (1965), Temlee (1974), Fallen Zorro (2008), Amity Bale (2009), My Bro Fabio (2014) and Fanta Bale (2016).

The race attracts the best middle distance greyhounds from across Australia, with the most recent running worth $75,000 when won by rising star Rockoon for Lisa and Keith Hellmuth.

Betting on the Group 1 Hume Cup

Because it is a group 1 event, naturally the Hume Cup attracts the best possible greyhounds in pursuit of the prize. With the top dogs racing for a slice of the prize money on offer, there is always plenty of betting interest on the Hume Cup.

Luckily, all of our recommended online bookmakers offer fixed odds prices for the Hume Cup final – with markets generally released soon after the box draw has been conducted.

The early prices enable punters to shop around to secure the best possible value for their hard earned coin.

Sign-up with Sportsbet

Additionally, some of our top rated bookies also have all-in markets available which allows punters to place a bet on the eventual winner of the series prior to the running of the heats. This is great for those who believe they can spot the winner early on – with inflated odds normally on offer about some of the series’ leading contenders.

United States Hume Cup Betting

Hume Cup Betting

Hume Cup history

The Hume Cup is a race with a rich history in Victorian greyhound racing. The feature was inaugurated in 1960 when run over the 675-yard trip at the old North Melbourne track.

When ‘White City’ closed down, the Hume Cup – known as the Lord’s Mayors Cup in those days – was moved the Olympic Park where it became known as the Lord Mayors Trophy from 1964.

When moved to Olympic Park, the event was run over the sprint journey until 1988. For six years, the race was held over the staying trip until it was discontinued as a feature race in 1994.

The race was re-introduced in 2000, one year after racing moved to its current home at The Meadows. Since being resurrected, the race has carried the title of the Hume Cup as a way of the Melbourne Greyhound Racing Association honouring the support given to the club by the Hume City Council.

Still run over the staying trip, the race was moved to the 600m distance for the first time in 2010 – the distance it is run over to this day.

The race received group 1 status in 2012, with the winner currently collecting $75,000 each year.

Hume Cup – the recent years

  • Rockoon broke through for his first win at group 1 level in the 2017 Hume Cup at The Meadows.

    Stepping from box four, the Keith and Lisa Hellmuth-trained greyhound was last around the turn into the home straight the first time, but was able to find the fence and avoid early interference.

    Heading through the catching pen, the white and black dog started winding up, charging into fourth spot down the back.

    Rockoon then hooked to the outside of his rivals and slipped into top gear, racing clear in the run to the line to record a three and a half length win in 34.33.

    2017 Hume Cup results

    November 6, 2017. The Meadows. November 06. First Prize:$75,000

    • Winner: Rockoon (Peter Rocket X Raya Riot) Black and White Dog.
    • Whelped: 03/06/2015
    • Trainer: Keith Hellmuth
    • Owner: Keith Hellmuth
    • Winning time: 34.33
    • Others in Finishing Order: Where Art Thou, Riley Tokaam, Mystery Ride, Van Ann, Allen Mike, Brueghelino, Cardamon.
  • The 2016 edition of the Group 1 Hume Cup was won by star greyhound Fanta Bale. Trained by Rob Britton, it was the first group triumph for the daughter of David Bale and Ucme Typhoon – an American bitch Britton purchased with the intentions of breeding with back home in Australia. The black bitch would go on to become one of the best the sport has seen, claiming group 1 victories in the Rookie Rebel, Australian Cup and Sandown Cup within the next six months.

    2016 Hume Cup results

    October 31, 2016. The Meadows MGRA First Prize $75,000

    • Winner: Fanta Bale (David Bale x UCME Typhoon)
    • Born: Aug 2014 Black Bitch
    • Owner: Paul Wheeler
    • Trainer: Robert Britton
    • Time: 34.343.
    • Margins: 0.1 x 1.34.
    • Others in finishing order: Buck Forty, Pop The Cork, Eddie Eagle, Aeroplane Tommy, Margins, Brad Hill Billy, Silverali.
  • Secret Spell broke through for a deserved win at the highest level when taking home the 2015 Hume Cup trophy. The Kelly Bravo-trained bitch led all the way to score in 34.31, defeating Jason Thompson’s Xtreme Knocka by half a length on the line.

  • My Bro Fabio stamped himself as one of the best greyhounds of his era with a stunning victory in the 2014 Hume Cup. The son of Turanza Bale and Flamenco got a bit of luck in the early stages, but absolutely blew his rivals away when scoring by just under 15 lengths in 34.28. It made it win 21 from 41 career starts for the Brooke Ennis-trained powerhouse and took his career earnings just below the $200,000 mark.

    2014 Hume Cup results

    November 3, 2014. The Meadows MGRA First Prize $75,000

    • Winner: My Bro Fabio (Turanza Bale x Flamenco)
    • Born: March 2012 Black Dog
    • Owner: Michelle Jones.
    • Trainer: Brooke Ennis.
    • Time: 34.28. Margins: 14.5 x 3.5.
    • Others in finishing order: Oscura, Eliza Blanche, Flying Twist, Deadly Boy, Ralph Cinel, Warrior King, Arejay Smokey.

Hume Cup – honour roll

1960 Fair’s Orders
1961 Rustling Breeze
1962 Tree Lover
1963 Diropace
1964 Rocket Streak
1965 Cheltenham Lass
1966 Munich Boy
1967 Bold Charmer
1968 Fawn Waters
1969 Dashing Phantom
1970 Mayo Gold
1971 Banca
1972 Flying Stage
1973 Half Your Luck
1974 Temlee
1975 Plain Winnie
1976 Matireka
1977 Shelley O’Reilly
1978 Manteca Boy
1979 Shane’s Level
1980 Vibrant King
1981 Striding Ahead
1982 Durante Lad
1983 Castle Ridge
1984 National Poppy
1985 Rumpus Pappa
1986 I’m Nugget
1987 Swift Laser
1988 Regal Kid
1989 Blue Speed
1990 Interest Only
1991 Modern Express
1992 Modern Express
1993 Saltwater Sid
2000 Mr. Boswell
2001 Bentley Babe
2002 Tears Of Jupiter
2003 Oh Behave
2004 Triple Trio
2005 Jacarrest
2006 Sargent Major
2007 Technoman
2008 Fallen Zorro
2009 Amity Bale
2010 Flash of Light
2011 Shintaro Samurai
2012 Jethro
2013 Alpe D’Huez
2014 My Bro Fabio
2015 Secret Spell
2016 Fanta Bale
2017 Rockoon