Ladies Bracelet betting

The Group 3 Ladies Bracelet is run as a celebration of women in racing, with the final held on Mother’s Day eve each year at Wentworth Park.

The event is open to the best 32 female greyhounds, plus reserves, with winning connections pocketing the $25,000 first prize as well as a ladies bracelet which is donated by the race sponsor, Evans & Son Jewellers. In recent years, a second bracelet is also given away as a Lucky Gate prize on final night to one special woman on track.

Betting on the Group 3 Ladies Bracelet

Despite not carrying the allure of some of the sport’s big group 1 races, the Ladies Bracelet is still a prestigious and sought after event which attracts quality fields each and every year.

With the top female athletes from NSW, and often interstate, contesting the race, there is always plenty of betting interest on the series.

Our recommended online bookmakers offer fixed odds betting on both the heats and final of the race, with some also offering all-in markets on the winner of the decider following the box draw for the heats.

With the odds available in the week leading up to both the heats and final, punters are able to secure the best odds early. Be sure to create an account with each of our online bookies and shop around for the best odds to ensure you get the biggest return for your betting dollar.

Group 3 Ladies Bracelet history

The Ladies Bracelet was first run by the NSW GBOTA at Harold Park over 457m in 1971 when it was won by Shapely Escort.

The first interstate raider to win the feature was Victorian bitch Mandarin Girl in 1976, with the prize staying in the home state for 19 years following her win until another Mexican, Flash Davina, tasted success in 1996.

The Ladies Bracelet moved to Wentworth Park in 1988, with Aussie Value winning the race in 30.23 on the old grass track. The race has remained at the Harbour City circuit since that time, with the first running on loam won by Amy’s Doll in 1993.

Since its inception the race has been won by some of the finest female sprinters the sport has seen, with names just as Winifred Bale, Jessica Casey, Bralyn Maisie, Miss Beeslee, Cindeen Shelby, Tonneli Bale and Dyna Willow appearing on the honour roll.

The only dual winner of the race is former top sprinter Gold Spring which won the race in 1979 and 1980.

Recent years of the Ladies Bracelet

2016: Jason Mackay captured his second Ladies Bracelet in the space of three years when Zipping Lilly produced a powerful run, snaring the lead from Too Many Daddys in the shadows of the post to score in 30.08

2015: Elfen Bale stepped out of the shadow of her champion brother Fernando Bale when scoring a sensational win in the 2015 Ladies Bracelet. The white and dark brindle bitch spearheaded the trifecta for trainer Andrea Dailly, with Nico Bale and Spring Leaf rounding out the placings for their Victorian mentor.

2014: Star NSW bitch Zipping Willow scored one of her finest wins in the Ladies Bracelet, clocking a phenomenal 29.44 over the 520m trip. The daughter of Goodesy and Sirocco Lass defeated high class performer Ritza Hattie, with Rose Of Galo finishing third.

2013: Ray and Sharron Webster collected top honours in the 2013 feature with their ultra-consistent sprinter Lagoon Lowanna. The daughter of Where’s Pedro and Lagoon Smylee jumped smartly from box six and was never headed, stopping the clock in 29.98 four lengths clear of Montana Izmir and champion bitch Xylia Allen.

Ladies Bracelet – honour roll

1971 – Shapely Escort
1972 – Shane Monaro
1973 – Thunder Sue
1974 – Maybe Now
1975 – Swanky Matic
1976 – Mandarin Girl
1977 – Nimity Streak
1978 – Smooth Spectre
1979 – Gold Spring
1980 – Gold Spring
1981 – Judo Art
1982 – Friendly World
1983 – Winifred Bale
1984 – Better Flight
1985 – Silvertail Miss
1986 – Camden’s Ghost
1987 – Paris In Spring
1988 – Aussie Value
1989 – Peerless Star
1990 – Spider Web
1991 – Jessica Casey
1992 – Short County
1993 – Amy’s Doll
1994 – Stormy Opera
1995 – Mutombo Miss
1996 – Flash Davina
1997 – Oriana
1998 – Lucy Lawless
1999 – Nella Lucy
2000 – Junoesque
2001 – Mint Mojo
2002 – Hotshow Lil
2003 – Eriskay
2004 – Fools State
2005 – Twisted Angel
2006 – Magenta Rose
2007 – Bralyn Maisie
2008 – Miss Beeslee
2009 – Starfire Havoc
2010 – Cinder Shelby
2011 – Tonneli Bale
2012 – Desalle Bale
2013 – Lagoon Lowanna
2014 – Zipping Willow
2015 – Elfen Bale
2016 – Zipping Lilly

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *