Lizrene Classic betting

The Lizrene is a group 3 event which is run over the 715m distance at Sandown Park. The feature is worth $25,000 to the winner and is open to the best eight greyhounds nominated plus reserves.

The 2016 edition of the Group 3 Lizrene was run on Thursday May 5, 2016, and was taken out by Wind Whistler.

Betting on the Group 3 Lizrene

As it is a one week only race, the best greyhounds which are nominated gain a start in the Lizrene meaning the field is generally composed of the best greyhounds in Victoria and interstate.

With the event packed full of quality each year, there is always plenty of betting interest and our list of recommended online bookmakers offer fixed odds betting in the days leading up to the feature after the box draw has been confirmed.

The early odds gives punters enough time to shop around to find the best possible price for their chosen runner, and allows them to snap up some juicy overs which may be posted.

There are no markets yet for the 2017 running, but be sure to check out this page in the lead up for all the latest bookmaker promotions and the best odds.

United States Top Lizrene Classic Bookmakers

Top Lizrene Classic Bookmakers

Group 3 Lizrene – history

Named after one of the greatest stayers ever to race in Victoria, and the first racer to surpass the prize money record set by the mighty Zoom Top, the Lizrene has had a somewhat chequered existence since its inauguration.

It began, in 1992, as a special event for bitches only, with heats and a final and run over the-then 511m trip at Sandown Park. In 2002 it was turned into a distance event (which is pretty logical given Lizrene made her name as a stayer), with heats and final, and opened to both sexes. It was also granted group 3 status, a position it held until 2010. From 2011 until 2013 it was a best eight race, but without group status. Since 2014 it has once more become a Group 3 race.

Former top trainer Graeme Bate qualified three greyhounds for the first Lizrene Classic final, held on December 24, 1992, and scored with Revealing, who defeated Amy’s Doll by two lengths with Just Gypsy a similar margin away in third place. The time of 30.59 for the 511 metres would prove the slowest of the four Lizrene Classic finals run over this trip.

From 1992 until 1995 it was run over 511m. From 1996 until 2001 it was run over 515m. Since 2002 it has been conducted over 715m.

From its inauguration until 2002 it was run in December. The 2003 version took place in June. From 2004 until 2010 the final was run in April. The 2011 race, which saw the race demoted to a special event for the best eight nominated was held in January. Since 2012 the race has been held either at the end of April or early May.

Over the sprint distance the three lengths victory by Mutombo Miss in 1994 is the biggest. Since the distance was changed to 715m, the race record 42.05 effort by Al Fresco in 2004, winning by almost eight and a half lengths is the best. Tears Of Jupiter (2002) and Pillow Torque (2011) both scored by five and a quarter lengths while Texas Gold (2006) won by four and three-quarter lengths.

As a sprint event, Moonambel Gem’s half-length win in 1997 ranks as the closest. Over the staying trip the margin is just a head, by Western Australian champion Miata in 2012 while Just Friends scored by a neck in 2008.

Only Graeme Bate, with wins in 1992 (Revealing) and Moonambel Gem (1997), has scored more than once, while there has been no dual winning greyhounds since its inception. There has, however, been a vast number of dual finalists:

Tambarri (fifth 1994, second 1995), Imposing Talent (second 1997, fourth 1998), Limburg Lass (fourth 1999, Won 2000), Lady Mint (third 2000, second 2001), Waiting List (second 2002, fifth 2003), Speeding Inferno (seventh 2002, fourth 2003), Arvo’s Junior (Won 2003, sixth 2004), Endless Pit (second 2004, third 2005), Springvale Jinx (third 2004, seventh 2005, third 2006), Jarvis Bale (seventh 2010, second 2011), Gold Affair Two (fourth 2012, seventh 2013), Destini Fireball (fifth 2013, injured 2014), Sweet It Is (second 2014, second 2015)

The race has also seen a stack of former champions defeated, those being:

Amy’s Doll (second 1992), Sobbing Sal (third 1995), Rare Deceit (second 1996), Sound The Alarm (third 1997), Fibba (sixth 1997), Fiery Sal (seventh 1997), Crystal Light (second 1998), Star Of Mine (sixth 1998), Labyrinth (fell 1999), Hotshow Vintage (sixth 2001), Westend Prince (third 2003), Irinka Barbie (fifth 2004), Sargent Major (fifth 2006), Blue Lorian (sixth 2010), Nellie Noodles (sixth 2011), Thrilling Brat (second 2012), Proven Impala (second 2013), Xylia Allen (third 2014)

Interestingly, Trainer’s Allen Britton and Peter Giles have each trained the quinella, Britton with Limburg Lass and Cobram Storm, in 2000, and Giles with Tears Of Jupiter and Waiting List in 2002. Kel Greenough trained first, third and fourth in 2008 with Just Friends winning and Ready To Star and Daphne Mavis running third and fourth respectively.

Arvo’s Junior was the first male to win the event, in 2003, the second year it had become an open distance event.

The race is possibly the only one to have featured two greyhounds who had to change their names during their careers. In 2009 Fast Than Fitzy competed, after beginning its racing life as Sitting Bear, while in 2011 Robert Andrew competed, after originally being named Magwitch.

The Lizrene – the recent years

  • 2016: Wind Whistler broke through for the first group win of his career, defeating a quality field including the likes of Lioness Lulu, Come On Fantasy and Luna Jinx to take home the $25,000 winner’s cheque for trainer Angela Langton.
  • 2015: Dzeko scored a deserved feature success in the 2015 Lizrene, scoring by half a length over champion stayer Sweet It Is (who also finished second in 2014) in 41.55 for trainer Angela Jackson.
  • 2014: Rocky Bale scored an upset victory in 2014, defeating star bitches Sweet It Is and Xylia Allen which finished second and third respectively. The son of Surf Lorian and Amity Bale clocked a respectable 41.73 over the 715m journey.
  • 2013: Hobby trainer Anthony Flores collected one of the biggest wins of his training career when the talented Amity Flame won the race in 2013. The black dog, by Paddy’s Flame out of Amity Rose clocked 41.91 en route to collecting the $15,000 winner’s cheque.

Group 3 Lizrene honour roll

1992 Revealing
1993 Pride Of Pizazz
1994 Mutombo Miss
1995 Dearest
1996 Takeshi’s Bride
1997 Moonambel Gem
1998 Aquin Bale
1999 Coriole
2000 Limburg Lass
2001 Clarkey’s Keysy
2002 Tears Of Jupiter
2003 Arvo’s Junior
2004 Al Fresco
2006 Texas Gold
2007 Miss Brook
2008 Just Friends
2009 Natalie Rass
2010 Allen Shaul
2011 Pillow Torque
2012 Miata
2013 Amity Flame
2014 Rocky Bale
2015 Dzeko
2016 Wind Whistler