Magic Maiden betting

Magic Maiden Greyhounds

The Group 3 Magic Maiden has stamped itself as one of the biggest races for no win greyhounds in the country since its inception in 2002.

Held over the 520m trip at Wentworth Park, the series is open to the best 88 maiden greyhounds nominated plus reserves, with youngsters partaking in a testing three week series, with the final worth $25,000 to the winner and run on Golden Easter Egg final night.

Each year, some terrific pups hit the track to contest the Magic Maiden series, with many going on to have bright careers on the racetrack. Some of the most notable chasers to kick off their careers through the feature include Tommy Brislane (4th 2014), Zipping Lad (3rd 2011), Perfect Fancy (3rd 2010), Thai Alert (8th 2008), Fancy Penny (3rd 2007) and Collision (4th 2003).

Betting on the Group 3 Magic Maiden

Because the race is for young greyhounds, many of whom have never raced, all-in markets for the Magic Maiden are usually not available until after the heats have been run and won. However, many of our recommended online bookmakers offer fixed odds betting on the heats, semi-finals and the final in the days prior, so there is still some terrific value for punters who think they’ve spotted some potential.

History of the Albion Park Gold Cup

The Gold Cup was inaugurated back in 1974 when taken out by Captain Winter. Back then, racing was still held at the Gabba, with the event known as the Gabba Gold Cup until 1980 when major sponsorship was taken over by SGIO and Woolworths for one year apiece.

It switched back to its original name between 1981 and 1988 when it was then called the FAI Gold Cup for four years, before being rebranded as the Albion Park Gold Cup when racing moved to the current Brisbane circuit in 1993.

VIP Petfoods were the sponsor of the Cup from that point until 2002, with Cartwright Property Group then coming on board to support the event.

Since its inception the race has been won by some of the greatest stayers the sport has seen such as Mandarin Girl (1977), Miss Cruise (1995), Boronia Blossom (1996), Miss Brook (2006), Miss Grub (2007), Chinatown Lad (2008), Queen Lauryn (2009), Nellie Noodles (2010), Destini Fireball (2013), Xylia Allen (2014) and Fanta Bale (2017) while Dotie Wilson is the only greyhound to have won the event twice, claiming the title in 1975 and 1976 respectively.

Recent years of the Magic Maiden

  • Box one was the key for Nangar Jill heading into the Magic Maiden final after the bitch jumped to the early lead ahead of Winlock Huddy. The pair engaged in a fierce battle coming to the turn but the rail proved beneficial to the winner, which streaked away to record a comfortable two length win.

    2018 Magic Maiden results

    March 31, 2018. March 31, 2018 Wentworth Park. First Prize $25,000
    Winner: Nangar Jill (Where’s Pedro x Bella’s Fancy) February 2016 Black and White Bitch
    Owner: Jacob Moodie, Trainer: Robert Britton
    Time: 30.23 Margins 2.0 x 1.25
    Others in finishing order: Nangar Ace, Winlock Huddy, Midnight Starlet, Ritza Missle, Embye, My Mate Fox, Sunburnt Highway.

  • The Blitzing Lass delivered the best run of her short career to date on April 15, 2017.

    The black bitch began well from box five, taking up the early lead and kicking clear to score in a slick 30.09 for trainer Jodie Van Enkhuyzen. The daughter of Milldean Panther and Miss Blockbuster took her career earnings to just above $30,000 with the victory – her second at start three.

    2017 Magic Maiden results

    April 15, 2017. April 15, 2017 Wentworth Park. First Prize $25,000
    Winner: Blitzing Lass (Milldean Panther x Miss Blockbuster) April 2015 Black Bitch
    Owner: Team Evolution (SYN) Trainer: Jodie Lagogiane
    Time: 30.09 Margins 3.0 x 1.75
    Others in finishing order: Fortunes Of Time, Set To Storm, Wise Owl, Midnight Francis, Blossom Belle, Rusty Memories, Bugatti Bender.

  • The 2016 edition of the Group 3 Magic Maiden was run on Saturday February 26 and was won by Wicked Warrior, who was trained by Jason Magri. Despite a fair beginning, Wicked Warrior showed great field sense to boot up on the inside of the leader Kay Dee Em and take a narrow lead before sprinting clear to record a six and a half length win in 30.06.

    You can read about the race and watch it here.

    2016 Magic Maiden results

    June 9, 2016. Wentworth Park First Prize $25,000
    Winner: Wicked Warrior (Where’s Pedro x Bit Sassy) Born: April 2014 Black Dog
    Owner: Joseph Satti, Trainer: Patrick Newman.
    Time: 30.06. Margins: 6.50 x 1.00.
    Others in finishing order: Kay Dee Em, Zipping Johnny, Zipping Jordan, Benteke, Fabulous Five, Very Choosy, Lowanna’s Son.

Group 3 Magic Maiden Honour Roll

Year Winner
2002 Country Zulu 30.67
2003 Winsome Revenge 30.31
2004 Infinite Beauty 30.47
2005 Gilderoy 30.68
2006 Modern Supreme 29.93
2007 Breeze It In 30.19
2008 Albino Rossi 30.43
2009 Devine Road 29.97
2010 Humdrum 30.51
2011 Zipping Man 30.29
2012 Tifia 29.86
2013 Clockwise 30.01
2014 Anything Less 29.62
2015 Black Bear Lee 30.27
2016 Wicked Warrior 30.06
2017 Blitzing Lass 30.09
2018 Nangar Jill 30.23