Miss Slick’s Last Stride Local 2009 Perth Cup Victory

Max and Pam Julien enjoyed their greatest moment in the sport when ($4.00) scored a last stride victory in the 2009 Group 1 Sky Channel Perth Cup final with the super star bitch they bred defeating the leader Victorian Trew Millions ($10.90) for trainer Tina Womann.

Miss Slick (Bombastic Shiraz- Little Lamplight) in second some four lengths behind the leader Trew Millions, however as she approached the home corner she dug deep and reeled in the Victorian as they got to the line to score WA's first victory since local chaser Nifti Fire won in 2000 for Jodie Harding.

The win with $140,000 first prize cheque took her stake earnings past WA's best ever chaser Sandi's Me Mum as the richest WA stake earner with the total now earned being in excess of $354,000 all won on WA tracks a great advertisement for the WA and racing scene.

Miss Slick won her heat from box two over Jarvis Bale in 30.44 and then stopped the clock in 30.31 with her ½ length win over Trew Millions with SA chaser Drink Driver ($13.40) back in third place.

Mantra Lad started favourite for Victorian trainer , however didn't have a lot of luck and finished well back.

After the placed runners the field finished in the following order: Russle Up ($6.80), Mantra Lad ($2.00F), Joanne Monelli ($18.60), Heart Of Buderus ($28.80) and Talei Bond ($31.80).

Miss Slick is raced, trained and was bred by Max & Pam Julien she is a Black bitch by Bombastic Shiraz from Little Lamplight (Light Of Fire x Ginsin). Miss Slick has won 25 of her 61 starts and has been placed on 23 occasions with the $140,000 first prize for the All Stars took her current stake earnings to $354,220.

Watch the Group 1 2009 Perth Cup replay

The Perth Cup has been won by some outstanding sprinters over the years most coming from the eastern states. The race has had a number of sponsors over the years and was known as the Brownes from 1976 to 1986. In 1987 it was called the Australis Mining Gold Cup, in 88 it was the Fairplay Gold Cup then from 1989 until 1992 it was called the Winfield Gold Cup.

In 1993 a long sponsorship begun with Be Active and it was known as the Be Active Gold Cup in 1993 and 94 before being called the Be Active Perth Cup until this year when the club welcomed their new sponsor .

    Perth Cup Honour Roll

  • 1976 Marcus Rate
  • 1977 Canonero's Gift
  • 1978 Biafra's Son
  • 1979 Rare Discovery
  • 1980 White Panther
  • 1981 General Jeff
  • 1982 Wotta Wizard
  • 1983 Superstar
  • 1984 Legatee
  • 1985 Supreme Carmen
  • 1986 Farquhar
  • 1987 Pretty Fearless
  • 1988 Karinya Flash
  • 1989 Miss Crisp
  • 1990 Sand Pebble
  • 1991 Frantic Night
  • 1992 Wynlee Supreme
  • 1993 Amy's Doll
  • 1994 Just Like Whisky
  • 1995 Brisk Bill
  • 1996
  • 1997 Star Tribute
  • 1998
  • 1999 Bliss Bale
  • 2000 Nifti Fire
  • 2001 Sammy Mint
  • 2002 Modern Assassin
  • 2003
  • 2004 Kilby Supreme
  • 2005 Sun Hero
  • 2006 Superman
  • 2007 Betty's Angel
  • 2008
  • 2009 Miss Slick

Photo courtesy Joe Mulder Photography

Similar Greyhound Racing News

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments