Queensland Futurity betting

PIC: Box 1 Photography.

The Group 2 Bogie Leigh Queensland Futurity is run at Albion Park over 520m and is open to the best female greyhound which are nominated under 30 months of age each year.

The race is one of the most sought after bitches-only races in the country, with winning connections pocketing a lucrative $40,000 winner’s cheque.

The most recent edition of the final was run and won on April 12 when it was taken out by Victorian racer She’s Gifted.

Betting on the Group 2 Bogie Leigh Queensland Futurity

With the best female athletes gathering from the Sunshine State and interstate, the Queensland Futurity is always a keenly contested series packed with quality.

With plenty of nice bitches vying for the riches, punters always take a keen interest in betting on the series.

Most of our recommended online bookmakers offer fixed odds betting on both the heats and final, with some even opening all-in betting markets on the feature final prior to the qualifiers.

With the 2019 Bogie Leigh Futurity a long time away, there are no markets currently available for the winner, however we will be updating this page in the lead up to the race to enable you to snap up the best odds.

United States Queensland Futurity Bookies

Queensland Futurity Bookies

History of the Group 2 Queensland Futurity

The Queensland Futurity is a time honoured event, first run back in 1973 at which time greyhound racing was still being held at the Gabba. Since that time it has been taken out by some of the sport’s finest females including the likes of Winged Runner (2000), Bogie Leigh (2003) and Queen Lauryn (2008).

Racing moved from the Gabba to Albion Park in 1993, with Blue Chip Doll winning the race that year.

Arguably the best greyhound to win the race is Hall of Fame bitch Bogie Leigh which took out the 2003 Futurity. The daughter of Just The Best and Hypo Havoc is one of four winners for leading Queensland conditioner Tony Brett, who has also prepared Honey Mist (2007), Queen Lauryn (2008) and Velocity Regina (2010).

Fittingly, Brett’s 2007 Futurity winner also marked the first year the race was run as the ‘Bogie Leigh Queensland Futurity’ – named after the former champion racer.

The recent runnings of the Group 2 Queensland Futurity

  • She’s Gifted benefited from a look at the track in her heat the week prior when scoring a commanding win in the most recent edition of the Group 2 Queensland Futurity.

    Starting from box seven, the black bitch carved across from box seven and never looked in danger, bolting clear to win by almost four lengths in a flying 29.74.

    The youngster, trained by Lara mentor Deborah Coleman, took her record to five wins and three placings from 11 starts, her prize money now sitting above $50,000.

    2018 Queensland Futurity results

    April 12, 2018. Albion Park BGRC. Winner’s Purse $40,250.
    Winner: She’s Gifted (Fabregas x Big Gift) February 2016. Black Bitch.
    Owner/Trainer: Deborah Coleman.
    Time: 29.74, Margins: 3.75 x 0.5
    Others in finishing order: Ella Enchanted, Wise Misty, Poco Dorado, Veloce Nero, Hara’s Honey, Brandi Alexander, Sleight Of Hand.

  • The 2017 edition was an emotional race, with John Dart securing the quinella in the $40,000 to the winner feature. Just weeks prior, Dart’s property was inundated by floodwaters during Cyclone Debbie, causing enormous damage and sadly resulting in the loss of some greyhounds.

    2017 Queensland Futurity results

    April 27, 2017. Albion Park BGRC First Prize $40,000
    Winner: Neeky’s Way (Spring Gun x Miami Gold) Born Oct 2014 Red Fawn Female
    Owner: John McGrory, Trainer: John Dart.
    Time: 29.85, Margins: 5 x 0.5.
    Others in finishing order: Spare Cash, Lockety Brin, Magic Hornet, Precious To Me, Joyce Rumble, Bikini Cloud, Invergarry Lady.

  • Fabregal became the first South Australian trained greyhound to win the feature, scoring in a tidy 30.02. The black bitch used box one to perfection, shaking off mid race pressure from Tony Brett’s Split Image to score by one length in 30.02. The win gave conditioner Robyn Mackellar her biggest win throughout her 10 year training career.

    2016 Queensland Futurity results

    April 14, 2016. Albion Park BGRC First Prize $47,250
    Winner: Fabregal (Fabregas x Allinga Aye Jay) Born: March 2014 Black Female
    Owner: Terry McCallum, Trainer: Robyn Mackellar,
    Time: 30.02. Margins: 1L x Nose.
    Others in finishing order: Split Image, Sheza Keen Size, Feisty Fie, Oreo Delight, Ironbar Jill, Vidi Vici, Dokmai.

  • The 2015 edition of the Bogie Leigh Futurity was won by the Peter Ruetschi-trained Over Here. The daughter of Don’t Knocka Him and Where Are You began brilliantly and was never in doubt, scoring a dominant five and one quarter length victory over Pocahontas in a slick 29.99. It was the seventh career win for the promising bitch at start number 12, with the triumph taking her career earnings to $65,538.

    2015 Queensland Futurity results

    April 16, 2015. Albion Park BGRC First Prize $48,475.
    Winner: Over Here (Don’t Knock Him x Where Are You) Born April 2013 Black Bitch
    Owner: Leonard Antonio. Trainer: Peter Ruetschi
    Time: 29.99. Margins: 5.75 x 0.75.
    Others in finishing order: Pocahontas, Abby’s Magic, Cyndie’s Magic, Titan Ash, Magic Maiden, Dynamite Speed, Kingsbrae Lavina.

  • Visualize It gave trainer Peter Young the biggest win of his career when taking out the 2014 Bogie Leigh Futurity. The blue bitch, by Ivan Brown out of Visualization was having just her sixth start in the feature and produced a powerful finish to defeat Bill Elson’s quality pair Cyndie’s Special and Abby’s Fantasy in a handy 30.16.

    2014 Queensland Futurity results

    April 24, 2014. Albion Park BGRC First Prize $40,000
    Winner: Visualize It (Ivan Brown x Visualization) March 2012 Blue Bitch
    Owner: Conlon Miller Young Ptn, Trainer: Peter Young.
    Time: 30.16 Margins 0.5 x Head
    Others in finishing order: Cyndie’s Special, Abby’s Fantasy, Oakvale Flyer, Oakvale Destiny, Tarks Nemesis, Super Vision, You can Talk.

  • Former top trainer Graeme Bate landed the quinella in the 2013 Queensland Futurity, with Purcell Bale defeating champion kennel mate Xylia Allen. The daughter of Dyna Lachlan and Princess Bale had to do it tough, coming from fourth down the back before pushing through on the home turn to record a strong 30.39 win.

    2013 Queensland Futurity results

    April 18, 2013. BGRC Albion Park Raceway. First Prize $40,000.
    Winner: Purcell Bale (Dyna Lachlan x Princess Bale) April 2011 Red Fawn Bitch.
    Owner: Paul Wheeler. Trainer: Graeme Bate.
    Margins: 1.75 x Head. Time: 30.39
    Others in finishing order: Xylia Allen, Celtic Diva, Tarks Angel, Pearl Za Zinger, Winsome Charlee, Miss Karoo, Cee Eh Oh.

Group 2 Queensland Futurity honour roll
Year Winner
1973 Little Colleen
1974 Hi Now
1975 Kabisa Gem
1976 Pinto Power
1977 Overflow Love
1978 Katie’s Disco
1979 Gallant Anne
1980 Pretty New
1981 Miss Budweiser
1982 Truly Active
1983 Double Crown
1984 Rustic Venture
1985 Kirsty’s First
1986 Cyclone Magpie
1987 Fifi She’s Not
1988 Run Baby Run
1989 Milluna Babe
1990 Tardy Tears
1991 I’m An Angel
1992 Turbo Tears
1993 Blue Chip Doll
1994 Conquering Wind
1995 Marinette
1996 Ultra Dreams
1997 Lough Derg
1998 Barrio Fiesta
1999 Golden Pepper
2000 Winged Runner
2001 Springtime Magic
2002 M’Lady’s Fool
2003 Bogie Leigh
2004 Fool’s State
2005 Smart And Sassy
2006 Here I Come
2007 Honey Mist
2008 Queen Lauryn
2009 Millennium
2010 Velocity Regina
2011 Imposing Jett
2012 Katie Merry
2013 Purcell Bale
2014 Visualize It
2015 Over Here
2016 Fabregal
2017 Neeky’s Way
2018 She’s Gifted
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments