Sandown Cup betting

The Sandown Cup is Australia’s most prestigious staying event and is run over the 715m trip at Sandown Park.

The race is also the richest long-distance event in the world, offering a massive $175,000 to the winner.

Group 1 Sandown Cup – history

The race was first run in 1957 when won by Orialta, however it wasn’t until 1961 that the event was held over the staying trip, in those days 785 yards, with the winner being Plunkett’s Present.

The Sandown Cup is one of the oldest and most prestigious races on the greyhound racing calendar and the honour roll for the feature is about as good as it gets.

Hall of fame greyhounds Lizrene and Bold Trease have both won the Cup and are two of five greyhounds which won the race more than once throughout their careers. The first dual winner was Paul’s Thunder in 1970 and 1971, with the great Lizrene taking out the 1972 and 1973 runnings.

Irma Bale won back to back editions of the race, scoring determined victories in 2012 and 2013, while million dollar earner Sweet It Is also triumphed twice in the years 2014 and 2015.

Of course, the race belongs to one greyhound which made the feature his own for four consecutive years during the late 1980s. Bold Trease, a champion stayer, won the Sandown Cup between 1986-1989, a feat which has stood the test of time and is likely to remain unequalled in the future. Bold Trease’s efforts in the Sandown Cup are the greatest series of performances in a single major greyhound race anywhere in the world. During the 1950s legendary Irish greyhound Spanish Battleship won three consecutive Irish Derbies, however, to this date, no greyhound has ever won the same major feature in four years running.

Other greats to have taken out the race include Fawn Scout (1966), Top Sovereign (1994), Boronia Blossom (1996), Chinatown Lad (2008), who quinella’d the race with his sister Fallen Zorro, Mantra Lad (2009) and Bobby Boucheau (2011).

There have also been a swag of beaten stars throughout the race’s history including Busy’s Charm (3rd 1970), Pearl Larricki (2nd 2001), Texas Gold (2nd 2005), Elektra (5th 2006), Miata (3rd 2012 & 2013) and Destini Fireball (5th 2013).

Group 1 Sandown Cup – the recent years

2017: Fanta Bale stamped herself as a champion of the sport with a sensational victory in the 2017 Sandown Cup. The daughter of David Bale and Ucme Typhoon came from midfield to defeat Dundee Osprey and Burn One Down. The win saw the black bitch become the first greyhound to win group 1 events over 500m (Australian Cup), 600m (Rookie Rebel, Hume Cup) and 700m and elevated her career earnings above $716,000.

2016: Gerry O’Keeffe collected the biggest win of his training career when Bells Are Ringin’ scored as the rank outsider in the 2016 Cup. As much as $80 was on offer for the daughter of Kinloch Brae and Absolute Stunna leading into the event, however when the lids flew open she raced like a good thing, leading virtually all the way.

2015: Sweet It Is claimed her second Sandown Cup with yet another last to first performance, defeating a high quality field including the likes of Lady Toy, Zipping Maggie and Space Star to take home the title. The daughter of Mogambo and Off Springer clocked a fast 41.48 over the 715m trip, scoring by five and three quarter lengths on the line.

2014: Sweet It Is stamped herself as a bona fide star with a success in the 2014 Cup, flashing home from the back of the field to register a one length success, picking up the $175,000 winner’s cheque for 42.05 seconds worth of work.

2013: Superstar stayer Miata was having her final start in the 2013 Sandown Cup and was out to score her first win in the prestigious feature after running third behind Irma Bale the previous year. However, the mighty west Australian found herself back in the back and despite her best efforts late, she could only manage third behind the same chaser for the second year running. In winning the race, Irma Bale became just the fifth greyhound to win the race more than once, adding her name alongside the greats.

Group 1 Sandown Cup – honour roll

1957 – Orialta
1959 – Woodford Chief
1961 – Plunkett’s Present
1963 – Briar View
1964 – Haleka Jewel
1965 – Venetian Court
1966 – Fawn Scout
1967 – Charlie Lee
1968 – Sprite of Egypt
1969 – Local Blend
1970 – Paul’s Thunder
1971 – Paul’s Thunder
1972 – Lizrene
1973 – Lizrene
1974 Corcoran
1975 – Tammy Shanta
1976 – Brindle Norma

Sweet It Is
Dual Sandown Cup winner Sweet It Is, pictured here with Thrilling Brat, is a true legend of the race.

1977 – Rani’s Copy
1978 – Kawati Boy
1979 – Miss Tema
1980 – Wynlee Wonder
1981 – Bianca Lee
1982 – Status Supreme
1983 – Lead Role
1984 – Raurimu
1985 – Tashla
1986 – Bold Trease
1987 – Bold Trease
1988 – Bold Trease
1989 – Bold Trease
1990 – Western Creole
1991 – Pixie Eyes
1992 – Village Stomper
1993 – Eliza Dylan
1994 – Top Sovereign
1995 – Keon Star
1996 Boronia Blossom
1997 Tonight’s Wish
1998 – Red Mystique
1999 – Smart Attitude
2000 – Osti’s Joker
2001 – Bentley Babe
2002 – Jennev
2003 – Arvo’s Junior
2004 – Proven Lethal
2005 – Best Quoted
2006 – Sargent Major
2007 – “No Race”
2008 – Chinatown Lad
2009 – Mantra Lad
2010 – Next Top Model
2011 – Bobby Boucheau
2012 – Irma Bale
2013 – Irma Bale
2014 – Sweet It Is
2015 – Sweet It Is
2016 – Bells Are Ringin’
2017 – Fanta Bale

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *