Silver Chief Classic betting & history

The Silver Chief Classic is a time-honoured event and was first run in 1964 when taken out by Barunah at Olympic Park. Often regarded as the Derby of greyhound racing, the Silver Chief Classic is open to young male greyhounds and throughout the years it has been won by some of the greatest chasers to have ever graced the track.

Best bookmakers to bet on the Silver Chief Classic

The race is named after the mighty greyhound Silver Chief which was whelped in 1936 and won the prestigious Waterloo Cup in 1939. Silver Chief was renowned on the speed coursing circuit and, having raced in both Melbourne and Sydney throughout his successful career, he went on to become a popular sire once his racetrack career came to an end.

Olympic Park hosted its last Silver Chief Classic in 1996 when Awesome Assassin stormed to victory, with the race then shifting to Sandown Park where it remained until 1999 while the Melbourne Greyhound Racing Association was in the process of moving between Olympic Park and their new track at Broadmeadows.

1999 saw two runnings of the event, the first at Sandown Park and the second at the brand new track at The Meadows, that edition being won by the legendary Kantarn Bale.

Since that year, the Silver Chief Classic has remained at The Meadows and is now firmly steeped in its tradition over the 525-metre trip.

The honour roll for the Group 1 Silver Chief Classic is as follows:

Greyhound racing at the meadows1964 Barunah
1965 Spartan Prince
1966 Phantom’s Return
1967 Lord Baden
1968 Dupondy Two
1969 Plunder Road
1970 Black Diro
1971 Michael Takiri
1972 Getaway
1973 Flash Gordon
1974 Petillant
1975 Nigger Chimes
1976 Fritz Mactavish
1977 Satan’s Legend
1978 Tempix
1979 San Remo
1980 Mork The Stork
1981 Tempix Image
1982 Bold Assail
1983 Chariot Supreme
1984 Rumpus Pappa
1985 Supreme Spot
1986 Hopeful Supreme
1987 Calamity Kid
1988 Ginger
1989 Autumn Chariot
1990 Enfield
1991 Bomber Gleeson
1992 Nevik
1993 Plugger Fever
1994 Light Of Fire
1995 Zealous Guy
1996 Awesome Assassin
1997 Hotshot
1998 “Not Held”
1999 Jamella Prince
1999 Kantarn Bale
2000 Dave’s Mentor
2001 Burali Bale
2002 “Not Held”
2003 Jimmy Neutron
2004 Big Daddy Cool
2005 Ben’s Fury
2006 Closing Argument
2007 Meticulous
2008 Regal Thyme
2009 Fedex
2010 Enry Walt
2011 Kilty Lad
2012 Godsend
2013 Renegade Chief
2014 Ollie Bale
2015 Above All

Betting on the Group 1 Silver Chief Classic

Being a Group 1 event, there is always plenty of betting activity surrounding the Silver Chief Classic. Each year, eight talented youngsters line-up in pursuit of the main prize, resulting in plenty of value to be found throughout the field.

Each of Australian Racing Greyhound’s recommended bookmakers offer betting markets on The Silver Chief Classic each and every year as well as every Group 1 event around Australia. Most offer early fixed-odds markets on the series, enabling punters to get some terrific prices about the runner of their choice.

Each of the bookmakers in the above table have outstanding sign-up bonuses for AUD customers, as well as multiple platforms, meaning you can gamble from your mobile phone, your tablet or your personal computer. Australians are legally allowed to gamble on sports with the bookmakers we endorse mainly licenced in the Northern Territory.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *