Superstayers betting

The Superstayers is a listed, invitation only event run over the 710m trip at Albion Park in Queensland.

The staying feature is one of the highlights of the Brisbane winter carnival and is run in June, two weeks after the Group 1 Albion Park Gold Cup over the same track and trip.

Betting on the Superstayers

Being an invitation only event, a great field assembles at Albion Park for the Superstayers each year. Despite only being a four dog field, there is still plenty of betting interest on the race with all of our recommended online bookmakers offering fixed odds markets on the final.

The fixed prices are generally released as soon as the final field and box draw is confirmed, giving punters the opportunity to shop around to find the best odds on offer with a variety of bookies.

United States Superstayers betting

Superstayers betting

Listed Superstayers – history

The special Superstayers event contested over the testing 710m distance at Albion Park harks back to the days when match races were a popular diversion from week-to-week racing.

Conceived as a special invitation-only event, and restricted to a maximum of four runners, the Superstayers has been contested by some of Australia’s best ‘half-milers’ since its inception in 2006.

The first Superstayers took place on September 21, 2006 and consisted of three local stayers, Miss Brook (box 1), Quidame (box 5) and Lucy’s Light (box 7) and the NSW star Miss Grub (box 3).

Miss Brook, trained by Paul Felgate, downed Miss Grub, by one length with Lucy’s Light just a head away third.

The biggest winning margin belongs to Tasmanian star Bell Haven who romped away to win the 2013 version by nine and a quarter lengths, while NSW competitor He Knows Uno won the 2012 event by four and three-quarter lengths.

The closest winning division occurred in 2015 when Dzeko defeated Mullaway by just half a length.

Dual Finalists in the event include Miss Brook (Won 2006, third 2007), Miss Grub (second 2006 & 2007), while there have also been plenty of beaten stars including Lucy’s Light (third 2006), Chinatown Lad (second 2008), Fallen Zorro (third 2008), Forty Twenty (third 2009), Bobby Boucheau (third 2011), Irma Bale (third 2012), Lady Toy (third 2015)

The race has traditionally been opened to the winner and runner-up in the Albion Park Gold Cup and the winner of the Winter Chase.

Gold Cup winners to have gone on to win the Superstayers have been Miss Brook (2006), He Knows Uno (2012), Xylia Allen (2014) and Dzeko (2015).

As with most distance events in the country, Victorian stayers have dominated with victories by Sky Hazzard (2007), Gunnadoo Magic (2008), Mantra Lad (2009) and Xylia Allen (2014).

Superstayers – the recent years

  • 2016: Victorian greyhound Ring The Bell won the most recent edition of the Superstayers, scoring as the outsider of the field for trainer Gerry O’Keeffe. The son of Kinloch Brae and Absolute Stunna became the third greyhound from his litter to win a feature event, joining Bells Are Ringin and Blazin Bomber.
  • 2015: Dzeko became just the fourth greyhound to complete the Gold Cup – Superstayers double when scoring a half length victory over Mullaway in 42.05. The daughter of Radley Bale and Rematch retired as the winner of 14 races with $200,380 in career earnings for trainer Sam Dart.
  • 2014: Champion bitch Xylia Allen scored a dominant victory in the 2014 feature, with the black powerhouse defeating Infinite Wish, Wag Tail and Know Class in a quick 42.07.
  • 2013: Bell Haven became the first Tasmanian to land the Superstayers with a top win in the 2013 race. The Ted Medhurst-trained greyhound was a star chaser in her time, with the daughter of Head Bound and It’s A She also the winner of the Group 2 Sydney Cup and the Group 3 Betfair Cup.

Superstayers – honour roll

2006 Brook
2007 Hazzard
2008 Magic
2009 Lad
2010 not held
2011 Dashing Corsair
2012 He Knows Uno
2013 Bell Haven
2014 Xylia Allen
2015 Dzeko
2016 Ring The Bell
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments