The Racecallers

The Racecallers
The Racecallers – Tornado Tears

The Racecallers is a group 3 event which is run and won over the 595m trip at Sandown Park.

The race is worth $25,000 to the winner, and is open to the best eight greyhounds which are nominated plus reserves. The 2016 edition was held on Thursday May 5, 2016, and was taken out by Zipping Kane.

Betting on the Racecallers

Run over 595m, the Racecallers attracts a top quality field each and every year with some of the sport’s finest middle distance chasers contesting the event.

With it being a one week series, the best greyhounds which are nominated gain a start in the feature, meaning there is never any disappointment when it comes to the quality of the race.

With such high calibre greyhounds going into the race each year, there are plenty of punters who take special interest in the Racecallers, with our recommended online bookmakers recognising this and opening their fixed odds betting markets in the days leading up to the race following the official box draw.

United States The Racecallers Betting

The Racecallers Betting

The Racecallers – history

The race has only been run as ‘The Racecallers’ since 2015 when taken out by the ultra-consistent Sisco Rage. Prior to that the event had been known as the Bert Bryant Memorial, named after the legendary race caller, with the inaugural running taking place in 1993 when won by Just Gypsy.

Back in those days the feature was run over the sprint trips, with the race taken out by some of the best greyhounds the sport has seen.

In 2001 champion sprinter Kantarn Bale made the race his own, scoring a determined victory for former leading conditioner Graeme Bate.

Miss Mini Mouse, the often forgotten sister of superstar bitches Betty’s Angel and Leprechaun Pace, got her moment in the spotlight in 2007 when she claimed the Bert Bryant Memorial, defeating a quality field to score by one and one quarter lengths in 29.81.

Other notable greyhounds to have won the race include Tasman Queen, Cosmic Chief and former top sprinter El Galo which won in 2009 for trainer Jason Thompson.

As of 2012, the race has been run over the 595m trip, giving middle distance greyhounds the chance to race for some decent coin and a feature race title, with Don Chendo the first to add his name to the honour roll after the rise in trip.

Formerly run as a listed race, the event was elevated to group status in the same year it was renamed, with $25,000 going to the aforementioned Sisco Rage for trainer John Galea.

The Racecallers – recent runnings

  • 2016:
    Zipping Kane used box one to perfection, railing along the fence in the early stages before hooking to the outside through the catching pen, taking up the lead in the charge down the back straight. From there it was a one act affair, with the son of Magic Sprite and Scarlett Girl stopping the clock in a slick 34.01.
  • 2015:
    Sisco Rage, trained by John Galea at Lara, set up the win mid-race when he tackled early pacesetter Lamia Bale. Waymore’s Blues kicked on well in the straight but Sisco Rage managed to hold off the chasers to score a magnificent victory.
  • 2014:
    Musquin Bale broke a run of near misses to win the last running for the Bert Bryant Memorial for leading trainer Andrea Dailly. Musquin Bale held of Campaspe Will despite starting from box six to win his first feature race.

The Racecallers – honour roll

1993 Just Gypsy
1994 Worthy Guy
1995 Indoor Girl
1996 Flash Davina
1997 Young Darren
1998 World Title
1999 Poetic Reward
2000 Arvo’s Express
2001 Kantarn Bale
2002 Mint Mojo
2003 Bounty Lass
2004 Jimella Lad
2005 Panicked
2006 Arejay Ace
2007 Miss Mini Mouse
2008 Tasman Queen
2009 El Galo
2010 Cosmic Chief
2011 Birthday Boy
2012 Don Chendo
2013 Surf Mail
2014 Musquin Bale
2015 Sisco Rage
2016 Zipping Kane
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments