WA Derby Betting

The Group 2 WA Derby is an age restricted race for male greyhounds, run at Cannington over 520m.

The 2016 edition was run on Saturday May 21, with Shell Shocked picking up the $40,000 winner’s cheque.

Betting on the Group 2 WA Derby

With a lucrative winner’s cheque on offer, some of the top male greyhounds from across east venture to Perth to take on the local starts in what is always an exciting series.

Heats are held on the Saturday prior to the final, with bookmakers offering fixed odds betting in the week leading up to the qualifiers once the fields and box draws have been released, giving punters the chance to snap up some early prices.

Some bookies also offer betting on the winner of the final prior to the heats, adding extra value for those punters who believe they know which greyhound has what it takes to salute in the big one.

All of our recommended online bookmakers offer fixed odds betting in the week leading up to the final, giving our readers the chance to shop around for the best odds on offer for their fancied pick. Be sure to create an account with each bookie to maximise your chances of securing the best odds.

United States WA Derby Bookies

WA Derby Bookies

Group 2 WA Derby – history

The Group 2 WA Derby was first run at Cannington in 1976 and since its inception has been open to young male greyhounds, with it now firmly entrenched as one of Perth’s most prestigious age restricted races.

Since the inaugural running some of the top greyhounds in training have won the event, with the honour roll including names such as:

  • Swift Glade:
    Brilliant yet temperamental sprinter which took out the 1983 Derby. After his win the son of Mister Toewyte and Supreme Ocean received a ticket for fighting and was transferred to the east where he became a successful campaigner under the care of former top trainer Graeme Bate.
  • Prince Of Tigers:
    Only raced 21 times but amassed 17 victories, once of which was the 1997 WA Derby. The black dog was also a brilliant winner of the Group 1 National Sprint Championship (at just 19 months of age) before his career was cut short by injury.
  • Reggemite:
    Arguably the best sprinter to have been produced in the West. The son of Barney’s Alarm and Leading Example won the Derby in 1998 for Linda Britton and then went on to win the inaugural Sandown Shootout and finished second in the 1998 Topgun behind champion sprinter Rapid Journey.
  • Sun Hero:
    The 17 time group finalist, a four time group winner, won the Derby in 2004, with the Victorian greyhound returning the following year to capture the Group 1 Perth Cup. The fawn greyhound had a remarkable career, also capturing the 2005 Group 2 Warrnambool Cup.
  • Mandagery Man:
    The NSW star competed in an incredible 13 group finals, winning the 2007 Derby as well as the Group 2 Richmond Derby and the Group 3 Golden Easter Egg, retiring with a total of 27 victories to his name.
  • High Earner:
    One of the greatest sprinters that the sport has seen in recent years, won the 2009 WA Derby and returned the next two years for Kel Greenough, taking out the Perth Cup in 2010 and 2011.

2016 marks the first year the Group 2 WA Derby was run at the newly opened Cannington track, with the event now run over 520m rather than the 530m distance.

Group 2 WA Derby – the recent years

  • 2016:
    Shell Shocked scored a dominant win for local trainer Enzo Crudeli, coming from third spot to circle the field down the back, kicking clear in the home straight to register a 30.18 success by two and one quarter lengths on the line.
  • 2015:
    Fun Boss saluted at the final running of the WA Derby at the old Cannington track, recording a fast 30.24 over the testing 530m trip. The son of Kinloch Brae and Alotta Fun led throughout from box four to give Lexia Isaac and Mick Pollard their greatest thrill throughout their time in greyhound racing.
  • 2014:
    Former top trainer Darren McDonald won the 2014 Derby with the consistent Tiggerlong Amigo. The $1.80 favourite missed the start but proved too classy for his WA rivals, striding clear to score his first group win in 30.51.
  • 2013:
    Boris Fields, prepared by champion trainer Jason Thompson, scored his second group success in the WA Derby. The white greyhound was slow to begin but was able to rail strongly and stalk the leaders in the early stages before proving too strong, bursting through along the fence to score in 30.39.

Group 2 WA Derby – honour roll

1976 Rajundi
1977 Mister Toewyte
1978 Wind Warning
1979 Dark Gramoi
1980 Pop’s Jester
1981 Power Play
1982 Mum’s Jester
1983 Swift Glade
1984 Zelrob
1985 Icy Fox
1986 Janarlee Tiger
1987 Black Review
1988 Cheatin’ Charmer
1989 Tim’s Chariot
1990 Liz’s Champ
1991 New Temlock Two
1992 Eljay
1993 Nikemos
1994 Michael’s Tears
1995 Steve’s Pride
1996 Frogmore Ferrari
1997 Prince Of Tigers
1998 Reggemite
1999 Paddy’s Fault
2000 Blue Catona
2001 Clear Havoc
2002 Osti’s Warrior
2003 Regal Bazz
2004 Sun Hero
2005 Magic Trance
2006 Spitfire Jet
2007 Mandagery Man
2008 Octanol
2009 High Earner
2010 Pedrosa
2011 Allen Elroy
2012 Jordy Pordy
2013 Boris Fields
2014 Tiggeralong Amigo
2015 Fun Boss
2016 Shell Shocked