Warrnambool Classic Betting

The Warrnambool Classic is one of the most prestigious races on the Victorian Provincial calendar, open to all greyhounds nominated, between a specific age bracket, and whose connections have paid the periodic nomination fees required to be eligible for the series.

The race is run over the 450m trip and is worth $75,000 to the winner, with the 2017 won by the Seona Thompson-prepared Bewildering.

United States Warrnambool Classic Bookmakers

Warrnambool Classic Bookmakers

Betting on the Warrnambool Classic

The Classic attracts the best emerging sprinters from across the state each and every year, with our recommended bookmakers ensuring everyone has plenty of time to place their bets by opening fixed odds betting in the weeks leading up to the series.

Bookies such as Bet365 offer ‘all-in’ betting on the series, with odds released prior to the heats on each greyhound’s chances of winning the final. There can be plenty of value for punters with these markets, with factors such as the field and box draw for the final still unknown.

If you want to play it a little safer, all of our online bookies provide fixed odds betting on the heats, semi-finals and the final respectively, with markets generally open shortly after the box draws have been conducted.

There are no odds for the 2018 Classic at this stage, but be sure to check this page in the week’s leading up to the event to ensure you find the best odds and betting offers.

History of the Group 2 Warrnambool Classic

The Warrnambool Classic was first run in 1991 when taken out by Kinta’s Way and has been run as a group 2 race since 1996, the year in which it was won by Blue Volcano.

Like any race of its nature, the Warrnambool Classic is very hard to win given that greyhounds have to be nominated as pups. With such a lengthy time between rearing and racing, a lot can go wrong, and it is very difficult to have young greyhounds firing ahead of such a big race at a young age.

Despite this, the Classic has been won by some fine sprinters since its inception, none more so than the immortal Brett Lee. The son of Gun Law Osti and Sobbing Sal is arguably the best dog the world of greyhound racing has ever seen, smashing seven track records and winning five group races throughout an illustrious career. The black speed machine made the Warrnambool Classic his own in 2001.

Other notable stars to have won the race include Cosmic Chief (2010), a son of Brett Lee which also went on to win the Group 3 Shootout, El Brooklyn, a dual group 2 winner, Magic Diva and Nunya Tron, a maternal grandson of Brett Lee.

Warrnambool Classic – the recent years

  • 2017:
    Bewildering defeated one of the best fields to ever assemble for the Classic including dual group 1 winner Lightning Frank and Group 2 Laurels Classic champion Up Hill Jill to take home the crown. The black dog got a clear run from box eight and shot home in the home straight to win in 24.74.
  • 2016:
    Jeff Britton won the 2016 Warrnambool Classic with the talented One For Me which was able to overcome box four to claim the $75,000 winner’s cheque. Stepping brilliantly from the middle alley, the son of Barcia Bale and My Secret Shiraz rolled straight to the early lead and was never headed, scoring by 4.91 lengths over a gallant Cactus Jack in a sizzling 24.99.
  • 2015:
    Nunya Tron, a son of Dyna Tron and Miss Someone, took out the 2015 Warrnambool Classic, defeating a classy field including the likes of Dewana Result (2nd), future Ballarat Cup winner Shared Equity (3rd) and five time group finalist Ballerino (7th).
  • 2014:
    Father and son duo Peter and Darren Brown took out the 2014 Classic with the consistent Magic Diva which went into the race having finished first or second in 13 of her 14 prior starts. The black bitch, by Elite State out of Encampbell, took her record to 21 wins and 11 minor placings from 39 starts, with over $120,000 in career earnings.
  • 2013:
    Angela Langton took out the 2013 edition of the Classic with her white and black chaser Premier Event. The May 2013 whelp defeated Daintree Emperor by two and a quarter lengths in 25.21, with Blue Flute filling the trifecta for Devon Meadows conditioner Chris Johannsen.

Group 2 Warrnambool Classic honour roll

1991 Kinta’s Way
1992 Wild Pirate
1993 Dinney’s Host
1994 New Locomotion
1995 Prince Of Thiefs
1996 Blue Volcano
1997 Fine Carousel
1998 Witch Honcho
1999 At The Helm
2000 Our Daisy
2001 Brett Lee
2002 Zed Three
2003 Brumby Lad
2004 That’s Critical
2005 Ace Hi Rumble
2006 Auf Wiedersehen
2007 Deception Bay
2008 Lynlea’s King
2009 Bordain
2010 Cosmic Chief
2011 Compacto
2012 El Brooklyn
2013 Premier Event
2014 Magic Diva
2015 Nunya Tron
2016 One For Me
2017 Bewildering