Winter Cup betting

The Group 1 Winter Cup is the main feature race throughout the Brisbane Winter Carnival and is run over 520m at Albion Park. The race attracts the best sprinters from around the country, with the 2016 edition worth a whopping $75,000 to the winner.

The most recent edition of the race was won by Anthony Azzopardi and his brilliant greyhound, Zambora Brockie.

Betting on the Group 1 Winter Cup

With the best of the best heading to the Sunshine State in pursuit of group 1 glory, the Winter Cup always attracts plenty of interest from greyhound racing enthusiasts and general punters.

Each of our recommended online bookmakers offer fixed odds betting on the final which gives you the chance to shop around and find the best price about your selected runner. It also means you can potentially snag some overs because you are guaranteed to be paid the odds at the time of your wager, despite how much money may come for your greyhound in the days leading up to the race.

Most of our bookies also have fixed odds betting on the heats, with some, such as also offering all-in markets for the winner of the final prior to the heats being run and won.

#1 Deposit $400, bet with $1000
  • Visa deposit
  • MasterCard deposit
  • Paypal deposit
Bet Now Read Review Not available to residents of United States
Deposit $400, bet with $1000
#2 100% up to $501
  • Paypal deposit
  • POLi deposit
  • BPAY deposit
Bet Now Read Review Not available to residents of United States
100% up to $501
#3 100% up to $200
  • Visa deposit
  • Mastercard deposit
  • Credit Card deposit
Bet Now Read Review Not available to residents of United States
100% up to $200
#4 Deposit $50, get $150
  • Visa deposit
  • MasterCard deposit
  • Paypal deposit
Bet Now Read Review Not available to residents of United States
Deposit $50, get $150
#5 100% up to $502
  • Visa deposit
  • Mastercard deposit
  • POLi deposit
Bet Now Read Review Available to residents of United States
100% up to $502

History of the Group 1 Winter Cup

The Group 1 Winter Cup has an extensive background, having been run with many names and at different tracks throughout its history.

The first running of the feature was at the Gabba in 1978, when it was sponsored by the famous Queensland brewing company Castlemaine XXXX. In its inaugural year it was known as the Castlemaine XXXX Trophy and it was run over the testing 558m sprint when won by Brigadier North in 33.00.

The race remained known as the Castlemaine XXXX Trophy until 1992, with the exception of the 1987 running when it was called the Christmas Trophy.

Having been made a group 1 race in 1991, the event moved to the Albion Park track which began racing in 1993. In its first year at the new course it was known as the Christmas Stocking.

The event dropped back to a group 2 feature in 1997 and 1998 before regaining its group 1 status in 1999 when taken out by the great Winged Runner in 30.18.

Between 1994 and 1997 the race was sponsored by Pet Food company Eukanuba, with its subsequent company Nutrient taking over between 1998 and 1999.

The turn of the century saw the Brisbane Greyhound Racing Club developed the idea of the Winter Carnival, with the race being renamed the Winter Carnival Cup.

Since that time it has grown in stature, with the race now standing as one of the most sought after races on the Australian greyhound racing calendar.

Throughout its history, the race has been won by some champions of the sport such as Flying Amy (1995), Roanokee (1996), Winged Runner (1999), Made To Size (2008) and Glen Gallon (2012/2013).

Leading Queensland conditioner Tony Brett has had the most luck in the feature, having claimed four editions of the event with Iso Octane (2011), his great champion Glen Gallon (2012/2013) and Flash Reality (2014).

Group 1 Winter Cup – recent years

2016: Zambora Brockie recorded the second group 1 of his glittering career when winning the 2016 Winter Cup final. The son of Nitro Burst and Flying Liddy held off Outside Pass and Cyndie’s Magic to register the 22nd win of his life, clocking a brilliant 29.72.

2015: Fabulous Storm caused a major upset in the 2015 running of the event when scoring at 22-1. The honest sprinter began well from box two and was able to get a sit behind early leader Keybow, railing through around the home turn to score in 29.83. The victory gave his trainer Reg Hazelgrove, a former pigeon trainer, his first group 1 win after half a century of involvement within the sport.

2014: Tony Brett made history when claiming his fourth Winter Cup with the ultra-consistent Flash Reality. The black dog added to his previous win in the Group 2 Queensland Derby when scoring in a hot 29.71.

2013: Veteran chaser Glen Gallon became the only greyhound to win consecutive Winter Cups when taking out the 2013 event, with the son of Flying Stanley and Incoherent making the race a one act affair. Spearing out of box seven, the brindle dog was never in danger, powering to the line to score by four and one quarter lengths in 29.80.

Group 1 Winter Cup – honour roll

1978 Brigadier North
1979 Katie’s Disco
1980 Wings Of Steel
1981 Call Me Roscoe
1982 Glanzend
1983 Duration
1984 Acacia Park
1985 Amber Flash
1986 (Jan) Sharyn’s Vogue
1986 (Dec) Fifi She’s Not
1987 Dancing Gamble
1988 Fifi She’s Not
1989 Son of Ella
1990 Highly Blessed
1991 Soldier On
1992 Iceni Princess
1993 National Leader
1994 Toban Leah
1995 Flying Amy
1996 Roanokee
1997 Wine Glass
1998 Shady Macbeth
1999 Winged Runner
2000 Short Model
2001 Mint Mojo
2002 Awesome Machine
2003 Elite State
2004 Trewly Special
2005 Hades Rocket
2006 Fenceline
2007 Big Swell
2008 Made To Size
2009 Trew Millions
2010 Event Not Held
2011 Iso Octane
2012 Glen Gallon
2013 Glen Gallon
2014 Flash Reality
2015 Fabulous Storm
2016 Zambora Brockie

Got Feedback? Join the Discussion. Click Here to Join the Discussion