Golden Easter Egg betting

Who will win the 2019 Golden Easter Egg?

The Group 1 Golden Easter Egg is the biggest race on the New South Wales greyhound racing calendar and is held at Wentworth Park on Easter Saturday each year.The race is a three week series, comprising of heats and semi-finals on the two Saturdays prior to the decider, with greyhounds able to ensure a start in the heats through winning one of the Easter Egg Preludes in the weeks leading up to the opening round.

The first running of the Golden Easter Egg was held in 1990 when taken out by Ultra Sense, a fawn daughter of Acacia Park and Sense Of Joy, and has has carried Group 1 status since its inception.

While the event has always been run over 520-metres, the first three editions were conducted on grass before the track was converted to loam in 1993, it has remained that way ever since.

The series is open to the best 80 greyhounds nominated plus reserves.

Each year, the Golden Easter Egg attracts the best greyhounds from right across the country, with a crowd of thousands descending on the Ultimo circuit on Easter Saturday to witness a truly spectacular night of racing.

A terrific support card is also on offer each year, with the Group 1 Association Cup, Group 3 New Sensation, Group 3 Magic Maiden and the Group 3 Ambrosoli also up for grabs on the big night.

In 2010, the Golden Easter Egg’s prize money purse sky-rocketed to a massive $250,000-to-the-winner, cementing it as the state’s richest greyhound race.

Greyhound racing

Betting on the Group 1 Golden Easter Egg

Betting on the Group 1 Golden Easter Egg attracts massive pools and there is always plenty of value to be found within the race, with most of the eight greyhounds sharing a realistic chance of snaring the prize.

For those punters skilful enough to spot the winner three weeks out, most online bookmakers also offer an all-in market for the final, offering some superb prices about some of the series’ leading contenders. This means you might get $15 on the eventual winner, which may start the race as a short favourite.

The benefits of betting with an online corporate bookmaker include the outstanding odds bonuses you can get with Australia’s greyhound betting sites.

Other benefits of placing your Golden Easter Egg bets at online bookmakers include specific race specials and other promotions that are legally allowed from time to time.

Top bookies for Golden Easter Egg betting

United States Golden Easter Egg Bookmakers

Golden Easter Egg Bookmakers

Golden Easter Egg – the recent years

    • A blistering finish was the order of the night at Wenty in 2019 as Zipping Bailey stormed over the top of them to record one of the most aesthetically pleasing victories in Golden Easter Egg history. Jumping away last, but at least cleanly from box six the winner got an saloon passage up the rails but still settling close to ten lengths behind leader Black Forge. The dog delivered a barnstorming run however and defeated Federal Lilly and Black Forge to win her maiden Group 1 in 29.92.
    • Up Hill Jill denied Striker Light a second Golden Easter Egg title when running down the champion bitch to salute by a neck in 29.77.
      Trained in Victoria by David and Rose Geall, it was her second group 1 but her first in the Harbour City after previously running second in the Group 1 National Futurity, the Peter Mosman Classic, the Bob Payne Sprint, third in the Group 1 Paws of Thunder and sixth in the 2017 Golden Easter Egg – all of which were run and won at Wentworth Park.

    • Kelly and Brett Bravo scored their biggest feature win when Striker Light saluted in the 2017 edition of the race.
      The black bitch held off a late challenge from Lagoon Jazzy to score in 29.99 – recording her 13th career victory and second group 1 win, having already won the National Futurity at Wentworth Park.

    • Trainer Jason Thompson recorded his second Golden Easter Egg victory in the latest running over 520m. Moreira, a brindle dog, started a $3.20 favourite in the race and headed off a tough challenge from Anthony Azzopardi’s Asa Killa Queen.
      It was a remarkable week for Thompson with the Victorian conditioner claiming three group or listed races and over $425,000 in prize money. Read a full report here.

      Thompson previously won the race with Don’t Knocka Him in 2012.

Group 1 Golden Easter Egg Honour Roll

  • 1990 ULTRA SENSE 30.39
  • 1991 HIGHLY BLESSED 29.98
  • 1992 JESSICA CASEY 30.32
  • 1993 BILLY BINJANG 30.70
  • 1994 MANCUNIAN GIRL 30.20
  • 1995 MALAWI LAW 30.44
  • 1996 TENTILL DOLL 30.51
  • 1997 BAHAMA IMAGE 30.59
  • 1998 RAPID JOURNEY 30.17
  • 1999 FAITHFUL HAWK 29.93
  • 2000 STATELY BIRD 30.35
  • 2001 BRETT LEE 30.04
  • 2002 CARLISLE JACK 30.09
  • 2003 CYRUS THE VIRUS 30.21
  • 2004 BOGIE LEIGH 30.07
  • 2005 PAUA TO BURN 30.07
  • 2006 EDIE BEAUCHAMP 29.80
  • 2007 SLATER 30.09
  • 2008 BLAZING TOKEN 30.16
  • 2010 COSMIC RUMBLE 30.12
  • 2011 RADLEY BALE 29.66
  • 2012 DON’T KNOCKA HIM 29.60
  • 2013 GRIGORIEVA BALE 29.65
  • 2014 TONK 29.62
  • 2015 FERNANDO BALE 29.48 (race record)
  • 2016 MOREIRA 29.70
  • 2017 STRIKER LIGHT 29.90
  • 2018 UP HILL JILL 29.77
  • 2019 ZIPPING BAILEY 29.92