Harrison-Dawson betting

Black Mumbo
Connections were all smiles after Black Mumbo won the Group 1 Harrison-Dawson. PIC Sandown Greyhounds Facebook.

The Group 1 Harrison-Dawson is fast becoming one of the most sought after trophies on the Sandown Park racing calendar.

The series, run over 515m, is open to the best 32 male greyhounds nominated, plus reserves, and offers a winner’s cheque of $100,000.

The 2024 Group 1 Harrison-Dawson is due to be raced on Friday, May 24, which is Sandown Cup night in Victoria, with Dotty’s Gift the bookies’ pick.

Harrison-Dawson odds 2024

Sandown Park - Race 10
Congrats Stormy Day G1 H-D 2024 Winner
Status: Final
Track Rating: Fast
Weather: overcast
595m10:14pm - Fri 24th May
1. Dotty's Gift
Robin Moore
Best odds atNeds
2. Tully Luna
Jeffrey Britton
Best odds atNeds
3. Sally Intention
Todd O'Neill
Best odds atNeds
4. Bye Georgie
Rosalie Kerr
Best odds atNeds
5. Vacant Box
6. Lakeview Patsy
Monique Whelan
Best odds atNeds
7. Madalia Zoom
Peter Mckenzie
Best odds atNeds
8. Whisky Ninja
Cindy Fulford
Best odds atLadbrokes

Top bookies for Harrison-Dawson betting

Betting on the Harrison-Dawson attracts massive pools and there is always plenty of value to be found within the race, with most of the eight greyhounds sharing a realistic chance of snaring the prize.

For those punters skilful enough to spot the winner two weeks out, most online bookmakers also offer an all-in market for the final, offering some superb prices about some of the series’ leading contenders. This means you might get $15 on the eventual winner, which may start the race as a short favourite.

The benefits of betting with an online corporate bookmaker include the outstanding sign-up bonuses you can get with Australia’s betting websites. You can read Australian Racing Greyhounds freebets page or check out the table above.

Other benefits of placing your Harrison-Dawson bets at online bookmakers include specific race specials, for instance, Sportsbet often give you your money back if the dog or horse you have bet on comes second.

United States Harrison-Dawson Bookies

Harrison-Dawson Bookies

History of the Group 1 Harrison-Dawson

The Harrison-Dawson is one of the newer races on the greyhound racing calendar, having been run for the first time in 2009 (when run simply as the Dawson) as a group 3 event, with the inaugural edition won by Dyna Forte.

In the early years the race was open to both dogs and bitches, with the only female to ever win the race, Flash Of Light, doing so in 2010. Trained by Mark Delbridge, the daughter of Premier Fantasy and Trendy La Maze defeated a classy field including the likes of Nova Surf, Fedex and Cosmic Chief, scoring by three lengths in a slick 29.45.

The race was re-branded the Harrison-Dawson in 2013, with the conditions changed to make it eligible to only male greyhounds, with the race aligned to run on the same night as the Group 1 Sapphire Crown, a bitches only feature.

The race is named after three of Sandown Park’s finest servants – Henry Harrison who served as the Chairman of the club for 23 years, his daughter Loretta (a life member of the club) and Harrison’s son in law, former Sandown Chairman Geoff Dawson, who filled the position for nearly three decades, from 1987 to 2013.

Group 1 Harrison-Dawson – the recent years

  • My Redeemer was seeking an eight win from nine starts heading into the Harrison-Dawson and the short priced favourite delivered from the inside draw. The David Geall runner trailed the leaders early but surged to the front in the latter stages to record a half length win on the line ahead of Bernardo.

    2018 Harrison-Dawson results

    May 24, 2018. Sandown Park SGRC First Prize $100,000
    Winner: My Redeemer (Fernando Bale x Where’s Demonica) Born: Dec 2013 Black Dog
    Owner: Brendan Sinfield Trainer: David Geall Time: 29.36. Margins: 0.5 x 0.5. Others in finishing order: Bernardo, Zipping Captain, Hecton Bale, Hasten Slowly, Shadale, Alpha Georgiou

  • The most recent edition of the Harrison Dawson was won by ultra consistent performer Black Mumbo. The Anthony Karabitsakos-trained dog worked his way into the race off box eight and was too strong in the run to the line, breaking through for a deserved feature win at his fourth group race final.

    2017 Harrison-Dawson results

    May 25, 2017. Sandown Park SGRC First Prize $100,000
    Winner: Black Mumbo (Stagger x My Path Princess) Born: Nov 2013 Black Dog
    Owner/Trainer: Anthony Karabitsakos.
    Time: 29.528. Margins; 1.25 x 0.75.
    Others in finishing order: Jimmy Newob, Bubble Guppy, Igor Karkaroff, Bewildering, Invictus Rapid, Unlawful Entry, Bruce Tycoon.

  • The 2016 running of the Harrison Dawson was taken out by Dundee Osprey on Thursday May 19, 2016, with the on of Fabregas and Dundee Rose stalking the leaders back in third through the first turn before unleashing a powerful finish down the back, charging to the front to score over One For Me.

    2016 Harrison-Dawson results

    May 19, 2016. Sandown Park SGRC First Prize $100,000
    Winner: Dundee Osprey (Fabregas x Dundee Rose) Born: Dec 2013 Black Dog
    Owner/Trainer: Geoff Scott-Smith, Time: 29.25. Margins: 3.5 x 0.5. Others in finishing order: One For Me, Blazin Bomber, Dalgetty, Soda Man, Tiggerlong Await, Invictus Rapid, Aston Bolero

  • The race was elevated to group 1 status for the first time in 2015, with the feature being taken out by champion greyhound Fernando Bale. Showing his customary blinding early speed, the white and dark brindle son of Kelsos Fusileer and Chloe Allen made it a one act affair to score by three lengths in a race record time of 29.14.

    2015 Harrison-Dawson results

    May 14, 2015. Sandown, SGRC First Prize $100,000
    Winner: Fernando Bale (Kelsos Fusileer x Chloe Allen) Born: March 2013 White Dog
    Owner: Paul Wheeler, Trainer: Andrea Dailly.
    Time: 29.13. Margins: 3 x 2.25.
    Others in finishing order: Weston East, Caustic Bale, Usain I’m Nutty, Sisco Rage, Gangnam Style, Amaro Bale, Nockabout Aussie

  • Former leading trainer Darren McDonald won the event in 2014 with the ultra-consistent Awesome Project, a son of Collision and Honour Phase, which defeated Musquin Bale and Banjo Boy to score an emphatic all the way win in a speedy 29.49.

    2014 Harrison-Dawson results

    May 15, 2014. Sandown SGRC. first Prize $100,000
    Winner: Awesome Project (Collision x Honour Phase) Mar 2011 Black Dog
    Owner: Bradley Canty. Trainer: Darren McDonald.
    Winners Time: 29.49. Margins: 1 x 3.25
    Others in finishing order: Musquin bale, Banjo Boy, Hawk Alone, Cornelius Fudge, Owen Bale, Tyronimo, Texas Titan.

Group 1 Harrison Dawson – honour roll

2009 Dyna Forte
2010 Flash Of Light
2011 Don Chendo
2012 General Destini
2013 Clone Your Own
2014 Awesome Project
2015 Fernando Bale
2016 Dundee Osprey
2017 Black Mumbo
2018 My Redeemer