National Derby betting

National Derby


The National Derby is the most sought after age-restricted event in NSW and is held at the state’s premier track, Wentworth Park.

The Derby is a group 1 feature, run over 520m, with the event offering $75,000-to-the-winner.

The Derby is open to male greyhounds only, with bitches competing in the National Futurity which is run on the same night.

The most recent edition of the race was won by Out Of Range for Victorian trainer Seona Thompson.

Betting on the National Derby

Being a group 1, there is always enormous betting interest on the National Derby as it features the best young male pups racing across Australia.

All of Australian Racing Greyhound’s recommended online bookmakers offer betting on the series, with most featuring fixed odds for both the heats and final in the lead-up.

Additionally, bookies such as Bet365 offer all-in markets, giving punters the chance to snag some value by backing the greyhound they believe can win the final prior to the heats being run and won.

This is, of course, much riskier than betting on the Derby once the final field is released, but it can also be very lucrative if you are skilful enough to snare the value.

United States National Derby Bookies

National Derby Bookies

Group 1 National Derby – race history

The National Derby was first held in July 1963 and was run over 530m at Wentworth Park on the old grass track. The winner of that race was Keen Linen which collected the lucrative £1,500 prize money purse, making it the richest greyhound race in the country at the time.

The race moved to Harold Park in 1987 whilst the refurbishment of Wentworth Park took place, with ‘Wenty’ the home for the feature once more between 1988 and 2008.

In 2009, the Derby was moved to The Gardens, making it the only provincial track in the state to host group 1 racing at the time.

After six years of being run in the Hunter Valley, the feature was once again transferred back to Wentworth Park in 2015 when it was won by arguably the greatest chaser the sport has seen, Fernando Bale.

The mighty Fernando isn’t the only superstar to have taken out the Derby, with the honour roll also boasting names such as Roman Earl, Worth Doing, Fedex and Elite Blue Size.

Additionally, the race has also seen some beaten stars including Ragsie (fourth 1972), Temlee (sixth 1974), Acclaim Star (fifth 1979), Glider’s Son (seventh 1981), Stately Bird (third 2000), Go Wild Teddy (second 2001), Whisky Assassin (fourth 2004) and St Pierre (last 2010).

There has only ever been one dual winner of the Derby, Steelflex who made the race his own in 1974 and 1975, scoring by a head and three-quarters of a length respectively.

Who will add their name to the honour roll in 2019? Only time will tell.

Group 1 National Derby – the recent years

  • Trained in Victoria by Seona Thompson, Out Of Range started the odds-on favourite off box four, jumping reasonably well and settling third down the back behind One Hour Parking (Fabregas x Makedonia Apr ’16) and on the inside of the classy Fernando Express (Fernando Bale x Tears Siam Feb ’16).

    Coming off the back the white and brindle dog looked to have the race at his mercy, but he was checked and lost momentum when he went to make his move on the rail.

    Balancing up once again, Out Of Range got a beautiful run through along the fence swinging for home as the leader shifted off, assuming the lead and bolting clear to win by one and three quarter lengths in 30.20.

    2018 National Derby results

    January 27, 2018. 27/01/2018 Wentworth Park. First Prize:$75000
    Winner: Out Of Range(Fernando Bale X Nicki Fields)White & Brindle Dog DOB: 25 Dec 2015
    Trainer:Seona Thompson Owner: Darren And Michael Puleio – MGR D Puleio
    Winning Time:30.20
    Others in Finishing Order: Rostered On, Little Digger, Fernando Express, Two Times Twice, Mount Brown, One Hour Parking, Off The Leash.

  • Big Daddy Bee used a suitable box draw when snaring the most recent edition of the National Derby. The brindle dog positioned himself well on the fence before powering home in the closing stages to defeat a star-studded field.

    2017 National Derby results

    February 4, 2017. Wentworth Park NSW GBOTA First Prize $75,000
    Winner: Big Daddy Bee (Kinloch Brae x Winning Charm) Born: Jan 2015 Brindle Dog
    Owner: Jason Bateup, Trainer; Raymond Smith.
    Time: 29.74 Margins: 1 x 6.5.
    Others in finishing order: Nangar Rock, Lightning Frank, Black Hole Sun, Good Odds Bricky, Duty Free, Hit The Highway, Dyna Boomer.

  • Magic Spring gave Central Coast trainer Noelene Holloway her biggest career win when defeating a quality field to snare the title. A son of Spring Gun and Fascinate Marina, Magic Spring ran a nippy 29.96, defeating Nangar Flame and Diego Bale.

    2016 National Derby results

    January 30, 2016. Wentworth Park NSW GBOTA First Prize $75,000
    Winner: Magic Spring (Spring Gun x Fascinate Marina) Born Sept 2013 Black Dog
    Owner/Trainer: Noelene Holloway.
    Time: 29.96, Margins: 4.75 x 4.75.
    Others in finishing order: Nangar Flame, Diego Bale, Pedro Cerrano, Good Odds Ocker, Asa Killer Queen, Sleek Master, Spritely Dancer.

  • Fernando Bale scored what would become the first of eight group 1 wins in the 2015 National Derby. Andrea Dailly’s white and dark brindle speedster broke the hearts of his rivals, stopping the clock in 29.87.

    2015 National Derby results

    February 7, 2015. Wentworth Park NSW GBOTA First Prize $75,000
    Winner: Fernando Bale (Kelsos Fusileer x Chloe Allen) Born: March 2013 W&Dk Brindle Dog
    Owner: Paul Wheeler. Trainer: Andrea Dailly.
    Time: 29.87. Margins: 2.25 x 10.75.
    Others in finishing order: Bad Boy Sniper, Winsome Prince, Zipping Carter, Lektra Outlaw, Dark Vito, Dyna Tiber, Topper Road.

Group 1 National Derby – honour roll

Year Winner
1963 Keen Linen
1964 Flying Myobb
1965 Chariot Charm
1966 Roman Earl
1967 Mister Moss
1968 Second Stage
1969 Abbey Road
1970 Arthur’s Desire
1971 Bomber’s Gift
1972 Young Moss
1973 Rushin’ Moss
1974 Steelflex
1975 Steelflex
1976 Baguio
1977 Chief Holly
1978 True Leader
1979 Tegimi
1980 General Jeff
1981 Handicap
1982 Lord Tegimi
1983 World Park Ned
1984 Inch Time
1985 Rapid Supreme
1986 Holstein Boy
1987 Shy Sultan
1988 Clover Chief
1989 Worth Doing
1990 Master Hilo
1991 Pretty Tardy
1992 Little Denver
1993 Major Gossip
1994 Indian Dance
1995 Dallas Man
1996 Cattle Drive
1997 Comrade In Arms
1998 Mepunga Blaze
1999 Hahn Bale
2000 Fond Regards
2001 Mean Bean
2002 Medinah
2003 Greasy Grizzly
2004 Pacific Sky
2005 Eiffella
2006 Brother Knows
2007 Slater
2008 Borat
2009 Fedex
2010 Elite Blue Size
2011 Bogie King.
2012 Sure As
2013 Jagger Swagger
2014 Zipping Brock
2015 Fernando Bale
2016 Magic Spring
2017 Big Daddy Bee
2018 Out Of Range