National Futurity betting

National Futurity betting

The National Futurity is an age-restricted event open to bitches only and is run simultaneously with the National Derby, a series open to male greyhounds, and is held at Wentworth Park.

The race has been run in NSW for more than half a century and has been taken out by some of the finest female competitors the sport has seen.

The 2018 National Futurity is a group 1 event, worth $75,000-to-the-winner, with the most recent edition won by Victorian bitch Blue Sky Riot.

Betting on the National Futurity

Because it is a group 1 race, there is always enormous betting interest in the National Futurity, with all of our recommended online bookmakers offering fixed odds betting on both the heats and final.

Most of the time, these odds are available once the box draw has been conducted, giving punters plenty of time to compare odds between sites and snag some value about their chosen contender.

Additionally, bookies such as Bet365 offer all-in markets, which include inflated odds prior to the heats wherein you are required to pick the winner of the final.

Whilst this can be tricky to land, it can be rewarding if you are skilful enough to find the winner, with odds normally much higher than those offered ahead of the final.

History of the National Futurity

The inaugural running of the National Futurity took place in 1964 and was run as the female complement to the National Derby which had been first run the year prior.

The first Futurity was held over 530m on the old Wentworth Park track, with the winner being Cultured Girl which clocked 31.6. The race was run at ‘Wenty’ for more than 20 years before being moved to the 457m trip at Harold Park in 1986 and 1987.

In 1988, the race moved back to Wentworth Park where is was run on grass until 1993 before the surface became loam.

The National Futurity continued at the metropolitan venue until 2009 when it was moved to the newly opened ‘The Gardens’, located in the Hunter Valley.

In 2015, the race once again headed back down the M1 to its rightful home in Glebe when it was won by Jason Mackay’s Zipping Midge.

Some of the sport’s brightest stars have won or contested the Futurity including Bristol Miss (seventh 1972), Promises free (winner 1982), Winifred Bale (second 1982, winner 1983), November Miss (third 1998), Floodfawn (third 2001), Edie Beahchamp (fourth 2005), Bralyn Maisie (winner 2007), Elite Oriental (winner 2008), Daydream (winner 2010), Tonelli Bale (third 2011), Desalle Bale (sixth 2012) and Punch One Out (second 2013).

National Futurity – the recent years

  • Blue Sky Riot broke through for her first win at group level when saluting in the most recent edition of the Group 1 National Futurity. Trained in Victoria by Anthony Azzopardi, Blue Sky Riot stepped well, settling in second spot behind front runner Slingshot Gypsy before powering to the line to record a tidy 30.04 victory.

    2018 National Futurity results

    February 3, 2018. 3/2/2018 Wentworth Park. First Prize:$75000
    Winner: Blue Sky Riot (Barcia Bale X Ready To Riot) Blue Bitch DOB:15 Feb 2016
    Trainer:Anthony Azzopardi Owner:Sandra Camden-Bermingham
    Winning Time: 30.04
    Others in Finishing Order: Slingshot Gypsy, Sheez My Chicki, Winsome Currency, Dreaming Time, Zinkey, Dyna Yami, Poco Dorado.

  • Striker Light claimed her first group 1 title in the 2017 edition of the Futurity. After coming up with an ideal draw in box one, Striker Light pinged the lids and led throughout, racing to the line to beat arch-rival Up Hill Jill by two and three quarter lengths in a flying 29.74 for trainers Brett and Kelly Bravo.

    2017 National Futurity results

    February 4, 2017. Wentworth Park NSW GBOTA First Prize $75,000
    Winner: Striker Light Born: March 2015 Black Bitch
    Owner: George Farrugia, Trainer: Brett Bravo.
    Time: 29.74. Margins: 2.75 x 5.25.
    Others in finishing order: Up Hill Jill, Daithy Allen, Andrea Doria, Mainline Osti, Princess Pout, Red Calibre, Jody Lee Kade

  • Cash In Motion won an open Futurity final for Robert Cooke, defeating a sensational field which included Fantastic Skye (third), Mitcharlie Mia (fourth) and Dyna Maddie (fifth). The victory was the narrowest in the history of the National Futurity, defeating Lyka Allen by a nose in 30.29.

    2016 National Futurity results

    January 30, 2016. Wentworth Park NSW GBOTA First Prize $75,000
    Winner: Cash in Motion (Smooth Fancy x Teddy’s Jackpot) Born Sept 2013 Black Bitch
    Owner/Trainer: Robert Cooke.
    Time: 30.29, Margins Nose x 0.5.
    Others in finishing order: Lyka Allen, Fantastic Skye, Mitcharlie Mia, Dyna Maddie, My Girl Chloe, Mepunga Rosie, Natahli Dedee.

  • If we are talking about quality, the 2015 National Futurity was one of the best. The field boasted quality greyhounds such as Spring Leaf, Dyna Nico, Weblec Belle, Ella Has Class and Zipping Midge, with the latter saluting by three lengths in a sizzling 29.80 for Jason Mackay. It was the first time the race was held at Wentworth Park since moving to The Gardens back in 2009.

    2015 National Futurity results

    February 7, 2015. Wentworth Park NSW GBOTA First Prize $75,000
    Winner: Zipping Midge (Fabregas x Zipping Jewel) Born: November 2012 Black Bitch
    Owner: M and F Hallinan. Trainer: Jason Mackay.
    Time: 29.80. Margins: 3 x 2.25.
    Others in finishing order: Spring Leaf, Dyna Nico, Kerrigan Bale, Jingling, Weblec Belle, Polly Bale, Ella Has Class.

  • Rue De Kahn gave Sydney trainer Dean Swain his first group 1 triumph when saluting at the final edition of the Futurity at The Gardens. Starting from box four as the outsider of the field, the white and blue bitch proved too classy for her opponents, clocking 29.49 when defeating Queen Esther by four and three quarter lengths on the line.

    2014 National Futurity results

    February 7, 2014. NSW GBOTA, The Gardens. First Prize $75,000
    Winner: Rue De Kahn (Where’s Pedro x Shelbourne Dawn). Feb 2012. White and Blue Bitch.
    Owner: Michael Laffey. Trainer: Dean Swain.
    Time: 29.49. Margins 4.75 x 0.5
    Others in finishing order: Queen Esther, Cawbourne Rev, Ritza Hattie, Smashing Sally, Cawbourne Whip, Zipping Delta, Little Satisfies.

Group 1 National Futurity – honour roll

1964 Cultured Girl
1965 West Opal
1966 Miss Lane
1967 Pearl Moss
1968 Rocket Bridge
1969 Anne Lewis
1970 Tidal Mist
1971 Top Saba
1972 Spanish Dancer
1973 Likely Light
1974 Tintawin
1975 Night Aim
1976 Woolley Wong
1977 Little Fresh
1978 Tearaway Owl
1979 Baretop Girl
1980 Beaumaris Sue
1981 Zany Zen
1982 Promises Free
1983 Winifred Bale
1984 Turbo Top
1985 Sophistication
1986 Flash Jass
1987 Expensive Lee
1988 Tiger’s Sunset
1989 Mary Casey
1990 Gozo Nicoloa
1991 Just Jedda
1992 November Sunset
1993 National Night
1994 Mystery Idle
1995 Tar Dinn
1996 Holiday Belle
1997 Rare Missile
1998 Fine Devil
1999 Crystal Light
2000 Junoesque
2001 Queen Muffin
2002 Hotshow Lil
2003 Lissiloo
2004 Nulkaba
2005 Lukeam
2006 Jinderra Flame
2007 Bralyn Maisie
2008 Elite Oriental
2009 Digital Magic
2010 Daydream
2011 Crystin Bale
2012 Midnight Capers
2013 Sometimes Speedy
2014 Rue De Kahn
2015 Zipping Midge
2016 Cash In Motion
2017 Striker Light
2018 Blue Sky Riot