Can Kendale Bale Do It Again In The Horsham Cup?

Last year Kendale Bale played the ‘ hero’, proving a giant-killer in the Group 2 Westside Tabaret (480m).

He claimed a $28,000 first prize – and emerged undefeated from only seven starts! Also in that final were sprinters the ilk of El Galo and Paddy’s Flame.

At the time, Lara trainer Peter Hunt said he was uncertain whether Kendale Bale, at that point in his career, would measure up to cup standard, particularly against such seasoned sprinters.

Now with 39 starts and 14 wins under his belt – plus appearances in the 2008 G2 (2nd) and 2009 G2 (4th) – Kendale Bale is out to defend his Horsham Cup crown.

Kendale Bale will contest heat four on Wednesday night, and is pitted against outstanding speedsters such as Pedro’s Reality, Unique Daisy and Parracryl.

Ironically, it’s Hunt’s stepfather who could prove the stumbling block in Kendale Bale’s back-to-back tilt.

Also based at Lara, Bate (who has seven Horsham Cups on the mantelpiece) has five runners in the heats – including last weekend’s G1 Australian Cup winner Velocette, Jarvis Bale, (who on Saturday is aiming for successive Cups), Kinka Bale and 2009 G2 Derby winner Turanza Bale.

Other heat contenders are Arvo’s Falcon (who finished fourth to Velocette in the Australian Cup), 2009 G2 Cranbourne Cup winner Stoner Bale, 2008 G2 winner and 2008 Horsham Cup runner-up Birthday Boy, and 2008 G1 Melbourne Cup runner-up and 2008 G2 winner Hanify’s Impact who is prepared by Pearcedale trainer Jason Thompson.

Last year Thompson was chasing his fourth Horsham Cup and his third in succession. He finished fifth with 2008 Victorian Greyhound of the Year El Galo, who has developed into Australia’s No. 1 sprinter.

The Horsham Cup final will be staged during a twilight fixture on Sunday.

0 0 votes
Article Rating

More greyhound news

Notify of
1 Comment
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

[…] will take his place in the Group 2 Horsham Cup Heats tonight with the final decided on Sunday and then he will be set for the Group 1 Perth Cup followed by the […]