Kay Holds The Aces In 2014 Ipswich Cup Final

Prolific Queensland trainer/breeder Reg Kay will rug up two finalists for the 2014 Three Cup after he had two heat winners on Saturday night, including the fastest qualifier.

The O’Reilly kennel of Peter and Amy will also provide two finalists as well as the first reserve in next weekend’s $25,000 to-the-winner final.

Kay’s flying machine Happy Haswell took out the first heat in a best-on-night 30.40. The son of and Teenage Dream ( – Size ‘Em Up) was away midfield from box six and took his time getting to the front before exploding away on the home turn to win by eight lengths. Reserve Flash Houdini started from box one and filled second place to land a spot in the final for Amy O’Reilly.

took the honours in the second heat when his talented bitch Le Sirenuse returned to form and continued her affinity with the Ipswich circuit.

The daughter of Pure Octane and ( – Absolute Chaos) over came a slow getaway from box two to rail up to a handy position and then overhaul Yogi Blue (7) in the straight to score by 1 3/4 lengths in 30.66.

Reg Kay’s second winner came in heat three via Tear Away Size. The daughter of Knocka Norris and Surf Queen (Surf Lorian – Queen Size) left box two in second place behind Hopping Houdini (3) before hitting the front halfway down the back straight.

She had to fight off a fast finishing Cyndie’s Special (7) and a gallant Hopping Houdini but managed to prevail by a length in 30.62

Farmer’s Gold impressed in the final heat when he scored by 4 3/4 lengths in 30.56. The trained son of Where’s Pedro and Surfin’ Sal (Surf Lorian – Shy Sal) left box two well and was second early before making his move down the back straight and going to the front.

Nothing really made much of impression on the 34kg fawn chaser in what was a dominant win. Last year’s winner (4) snared second to advance to another final and keep her hopes of going back-to-back alive.

Box draw for the 2014 Group Three Ipswich Cup

1 – Le Sirenuse (Tom Tzouvelis)
2 – Yogi Blue (Peter O’Reilly)
3 – Cyndie’s Special (William Elson)
4 – Happy Haswell (Reg Kay)
5 – Tear Away Size (Reg Kay)
6 – Farmer’s Gold (Darren Russell)
7 – Flash Houdini (Amy O’Reilly)
8 – Regal Lauryn ()

9 – Hopping Houdini (Amy O’Reilly)
10 – Placid Planet (Tony Brett)

0 0 votes
Article Rating

More Greyhounds News

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments