One Tree Hill Scores Deserved Win In 2008 Paws Of Thunder

2008 Paws Of Thunder Presentation
2008 Paws Of Thunder Presentation
($4.50), was rewarded for her consistency in making many group race finals with her first Group 1 success after she lead all the way in Saturday night’s Paws Of Thunder final at Wentworth Park.

The $100,000 to-the-winner feature boasted a star studded line up of top class sprinters, but is often the case the best drawn quality performer got the cash.

It was second time lucky for the Victorian trained New South Wales owned speedster after making last year’s final and drawing the dreaded box eight she finished fifth behind Leprechaun Pace, however it was a different story this year from box one.

Beginning quickly she found the front early and took the field into the first turn, race favourite El Galo ($1.60) for the first time in many months didn’t lead as expected but was up on the pace with the leader.

Also not far away was ($6.20) and the three raced down the back in that order. Coming to the home turn Mantra Lad was in perfect position for a strong finish and El Galo was making little ground.

Most race watchers wanted to be on the second dog who only a few weeks ago won the Distance Championship, but the finish never happened One Tree Hill found plenty in the run to the line winning comfortable by a length and a quarter with El Galo a further length back third.

The time was an interesting aspect to the race a steady 30.24 after sections of 5.48 and 14.04 considering El Galo had recorded 29.60 and 29.71 in his heat and semi a return of 30.40 this week came as quite a surprise.

Even Mantra Lad had recorded a fast win in the semi final of 29.73 both dogs appeared to have ever chance.

All honours went to the winner she has enjoyed a wonderful career and apart from a flat spot earlier this year she has been a top liner performer for two solid years.

Robert Britton said his dog, nearly four years old “deserved the win after no luck with the draws in the big ones at Wenty in the past” but added “how did I win a Group 1 in that time!”

Mantra Lad’s trainer Graham Jose said his dog was unlucky and “would have won it with a clear run turning off the back”, while Jason Thompson and partner were bitterly disappointed El Galo failed to repeat his previously brilliant box manners.

Next Friday, the field for the rich Group 1 Topgun at The Meadows will be decided and One Tree Hill has put herself right in the firing line for a start in the $125,000 to the winner race on October 25.

In fact she was unlucky last year when made first reserve and was probable edged out of a spot by the Paws winner Leprechaun Pace. As chance would have it she came into the race replacing Mandagary Man and ran a handy fourth behind Meticulous, Run’s House and Leprechaun Pace more importantly she finished in front of , Betty’s Angel , Pure Burst and .

After her excellent effort in the Paws One Tree Hill has made it difficult for the panel not to make her part of the starting line-up this year, we’ll have wait and see just what the panel does come up with.

After the placed runners the field finished in the following order Orphan Point ($45.60), Iigloo Osti ($31.10), Lorna Moira ($23.60), Fedex ($19.20) and Nimbastic ($34.10).

One Tree Hill is a Fawn Bitch whelped November 2004 by from (Head Honcho x Prize Dancer).

She is raced by of Newcastle and trained by Robert Britton of Lara in Victoria.

One Tree Hill has now raced on 80 occasions for 21 wins and 34 placings and the $100,000 first prize for the Paws Of Thunder it took his overall stake earnings to $250,155.

The Paws Of Thunder which was formerly known as the St.Leger wasf irst run in 1957. The NSW NCA restructured the prizemoney and the race name in 2001 and the race became The Paws Of Thunder which it is known today.

    Paws Of Thunder Honour Roll :
  • 1957 Idle Sign
  • 1958 Ebony Minda
  • 1959 Super Samson
  • 1960 Constant Raider
  • 1961 Elsie Moss
  • 1962
  • 1963 Miss Warcroft
  • 1964 Revival King
  • 1965 Daily Tide
  • 1966 Sunset Fire
  • 1967 Another Glitter
  • 1968 Zoom Top
  • 1969 Beau Brin
  • 1970 Size Seven
  • 1971 Romantic Top
  • 1972 Likely Light
  • 1973 Trella Light
  • 1974 Busy’s Chief
  • 1975 Mighty Aussie
  • 1976 Palaver
  • 1977 Fine Arama
  • 1978 Oberon Lily
  • 1979 Lord Raleigh
  • 1980 Glider’s Son
  • 1981 Promises Free
  • 1982 Winifred Bale
  • 1983 Winston Lass
  • 1984 Beach Rhythm
  • 1985 Another Flash
  • 1986 Memories Gate
  • 1987 See Yah
  • 1988 Grizzly Bear
  • 1989 Jessica Kate
  • 1990 Dixie Lass
  • 1991 Little Denver
  • 1992 Iago
  • 1993 Leon Mal
  • 1994 Zazziam
  • 1995 Nine Inch Nails
  • 1996 Tamborine Dancer
  • 1997 Elle’s Commando
  • 1998 Waiwera Marika
  • 1999 Stately Bird
  • 2000 Some Secret
  • 2001 Suellen Bale
  • 2002 Modern Assassin
  • 2003 Winsome Shot
  • 2004 Kobble Rock
  • 2005 Pure Octane
  • 2006 Suave Fella
  • 2007 Leprechaun Pace
  • 2008 One Tree Hill


0 0 votes
Article Rating

More Greyhounds News

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments