Cool Keepsake Looks To Have SA Nat’s In Keeping

With the withdrawal of Scull Murphy, the National Sprint Championship South Australian Heats lost a lot of their interest and with only 3 heats and little depth it looked unlikely any serious contenders would emerge that could trouble the elite chaser's at in the big final.

That's exactly the way it panned out, with the 3 heats all running within 2 lengths of each other, ranging from 30.11 to 30.25 and a long way from the type of sub 30 run that would indicate enough ability to be competitive in the Rapidvite National Sprint Championship Final at Wentworth Park.

Not withstading that, the Rapidvite National Sprint Championship South Australian Final should be a very good race to watch and keenly contested with little seperating the major contenders.

Cool Keepsake led all the way in Heat 2 from an ideal box 1 draw in 30.11 (best) running one of the quickest early sectionals for trainer Kirin Corby, winning by 2.5 lengths from with luckless another 2.5 lengths back in 3rd.

Heat 1 saw the trained White Admiral early and make every post a winner from box 2 in 30.15. Victa Hudson lobbed on White Admiral's tail early and remained there for the journey getting withing .25 length of the winner on the line, with Camden Wishes 4.25 lengths adrift in 3rd.

The final heat was taken out by the trained , running 30.25 to overhaul leader Major Money. Wansome Diva rattled home to steal 2nd by .25 length from Major Money, although 2 lengths behind winner, Jaykayell.

The box draw for the final was conducted after the heats last night and has set up a good clash between all the heat winners with Cool Keepsake and White Admiral getting every chance to lead from boxes 3 and 1 respectively and Jaykayell likely to get a good run camped just in behind the leaders.

Race No. 8Rapidvite National Sprint Championship South Australian Final
non grade event over 515 metres at Angle Park
Of $6,000 prizemoney


1White Admiral31161129.9230.15Ken Gill

2Camden Wishes21652329.8730.42Trevor Hendry

3Cool Keepsake46223129.7930.11Kirin Corby

4Jaykayell13132129.6730.25Troy Murray

5Drink Driver31114229.7630.27

6Major Money23384330.0230.39Trevor Hendry

7Wansome Diva26284230.0230.37

8Victa Hudson31163230.0030.16Ron Schadow

9Torpedo Runner21324329.7430.43Troy Murray

10Two Spots21235429.7930.47Mick Giniotis

Notify of
1 Comment
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

[…] Rapidvite National Sprint Championship South Australian Heats were unlikely to provide the eventual winer, it was hoped that the Rapidvite National Distance Championship South Australian Heats would be […]