Darmanin & Hybrid Theory Upset Laurels Final

Hybrid Theory Brilliantly Winning The 2008 LaurelsChris Darmanin tasted his first Group race success when his exciting speedster led all the way to win the $72,500 Group 1 hawkinsmedia.com.au Laurels Classic at Sandown Park tonight.

Hybrid Theory ($4.40) began only fairly but enjoyed a clear run to the first turn, where she soon circled around Miss Jim ($12.40) to . However Hybrid Theory was unable to cross to the rail, Miss Jim holding her position as the pair raced head to head down the back straight.

Miss Jim began to tire as they approached the final turn and Hybrid Theory kicked clear, racing to line to win by 2.75 lengths in 30 seconds even. Miss Jim held on for second ahead of the fast finishing Who Told Helen ($11.80), while favourite Alotta Mojo ($2.40) could not overcome early interference to finish fifth.

It was an emotional win for 27 year old Darmanin and the large contingent of friends and family on course. Not only was ‘Ruby' his first Group winner, but she had been his first ever winner at Sandown Park when she won her heat two weeks ago.

“I've had her since she was 3½ months old and she's like my own kid,” said an emotional Darmanin after the race.

“It's the best thing I've had in my life.”

Hybrid Theory remained undefeated throughout the three-week hawkinsmedia.com.au Laurels series, and the daughter of Sandown track record holder Bond improved her record to eight wins from 14 career starts. The $50,000 first prize took her career prizemoney to $68,670.

The winning also received a free service to stud sensation , and should she complete the Laurels-Sapphire Crown Classic double in November, will pick up a $10,000 bonus.

The Laurels is Australia's richest race for age-restricted bitches, and Hybrid Theory joins some of the nation's greatest ever racing greyhounds on its Honour Roll. Laurels luminaries include Hall-Of-Famers Sandi's Me Mum and Winifred Bale, Melbourne Cup winners and Carrington Jade, and multiple Group 1 winners Paua To Burn and Pure Burst.

The winning connections also received a free service to stud sensation Surf Lorian, and should she complete the Laurels-Sapphire Crown Classic double in November, will pick up a $10,000 bonus.

After the placed runners the field finished in the following order 4th ($13.90), 5th Alotta Mojo ($2.40), 6th Irreplaceable ($16.00), 7th ($4.80) and Special Sign ($24.60).

Hybrid Theory is raced by Andrea Chapple and trained by Chris Darmanin at Pascoe Vale in Victoria. She is a Black bitch by Bond from Renee‟s Special (Black Shiraz x Brilliant Red). Hybrid Theory has won eight of her 14 starts and has been placed on three occasions with the $50,000 first prize for the Laurels taking her current stake earnings to $68,670.

Recognized Australia wide as the pinnacle age restricted bitches classic the Laurels was first conducted by the Sandown Club in 1964 when won by Tara Princess. It is a very much sought after Group 1 event with the winner usually acknowledged as a very valuable brood bitch as well as most carve out a successful race career. It has also been proven over the years that most of the finalists are bitches that produce when they go to stud and some have become house hold names after producing some of the superstars of the sport.

The Classic has found some outstanding winners over the years none the least 1965 champ Cheltenham Lass who later in her career was runner up and won a Melbourne Cup as well as runner up in an Australian Cup. Odious who went on to win an Australian Cup in 1976, Carrington Jade won a Melbourne Cup in 1976. Cavalier Queen won the Adelaide Cup in 1977. Paua To Burn won the 2005 Easter Egg and 2004/ 2005 Group 1 Sapphire Crown. Plus two other winners are Hall of Fame superstars Winifred Bale and Sandi‟s Me Mum.

Listed below is the Laurels Classic Honour roll highlighted by so many stars that enjoyed outstanding careers :

    Laurels Classic Honour Roll
  • 1989 Sandi's Me Mum Gerry O'Keefe 8 511m 30.44
  • 1990 Witchery R Miller 7 511m 30.81
  • 1991 Barb's Tune Alan Britton 8 511m 30.69
  • 1992 To Perfection John Westerlo 8 511m 30.67
  • 1993 Suzy Also D Mooney 2 511m 30.52
  • 1994 Victorious Road Kay Taberner 7 511m 30.60
  • 1995 Little Promise Robert Redenbach 4 511m 30.59
  • 1996 Hanson Kelly Peter Dapiran 7 515m 30.47
  • 1997 Moonambel Gem Graeme Bate 7 515m 30.26
  • 1998 Chersam Honcho Garry Whelan 4 515m 30.22
  • 1999 Labyrinth Stanley Ralph 1 515m 29.86
  • 2000 Creative Whisky Troy Provost 7 515m 30.14
  • 2001 Hail A Harley Graeme Bate 2 515m 29.98
  • 2002 Katella Bale Graeme Bate 4 515m 30.17
  • 2003 Dance Portrait 1 515m 30.21
  • 2004 Paua to Burn Steven White 7 515m 29.58
  • 2005 Maureen Shirly David Bartolo 3 515m 30.15
  • 2006 Pure Burst Wayne Vassallo 3 515m 29.86
  • 2007 1 515m 29.63
  • 2008 Hybrid Theory Chris Darmanin 4 515m 30.00
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments