Devine Road’s Dual Group Race Classic Win

Saturday’s final of the 2 Rapidvite Peter Mosman Classic gave the Parrelli family 25,000 reasons to party when annexed its second Group race.

Devine Road won the Group 2 Multiquip Magic Maiden Final at headquarters on Easter Saturday and trainer Pat Parrelli was quietly confident but wary about having box 6.

Punters sent Cosmic Rumble (1st res from box 3) out 7/4 favourite but ’s big striding galloper was only fairly away and would have appreciated more racing room early and was probably looking for a wide box.

The favourite was always in the first four after settling but was never a threat finishing fourth beaten just under 2 lengths. Back to the winner, Devine Road was second in the run behind bold leader Tadmore Buckshot for trainer Simon Ma and owner Tom Astbury, eventually finishing strongly to win by a length.

Splitting the leader and the winner was Chris Carl’s Osti’s Image, which ran on well from sixth early.

Devine Road started at 6/1, Osti’s Image at 14/1 and Tadmore Buckshot, which gave connections a mighty sight leading clearly to the home turn, the outsider of the field at 33/1.

The Parrelli family and friends were there in force setting up tables in the ground floor lounge, initially celebrating the 5th birthday of owner Matthew Parrelli’s goddaughter Caitlin and later Devine Road’s second Group race win.

Broad smiles and much joy were evident and one of the family was heard to say”every night he should be so good!”

Congratulationsm must go to trainer Pat Parrelli on the great job he has done in developing Devine Road to a double Group race winner in such a short time and to his son Matt who owns the greyhound and to all the family members who share in the pleasure of being associated with such a talented and exciting racer.

Devine Road’s winning time was 30.35, his semi win was 30.27, his qualy performance a second in 30.30 and his best at Wenty a 29.97 in winning the big maiden final.

After the placings the Peter Mosman field finished in the following order 4th Cosmic Rumble ($2.80), 5th Accounts ($5.50), 6th Watch This ($6.00) 7th Certain Magic ($10.50) and fell ($10.50).

Devine Road is a Black dog whelped May ’07 by Collision from Cut Fine (Ultra Desire x Kairel Bale). He raced by Matthew Parrelli and trained by Patrick Parrelli the Group 2 Mosman Memorial was Devine Road’s sixth win with two placings from only 10 starts. The $25,000 first prize took his earnings to $55,960.

The Classic was first run at Harold Park in 1952 when won by Robin Buchanan. In those days the race was called the Bi-Annual Classic and remained the same until 1988 when the GBOTA renamed the Classic honouring legendary administrator the late Peter Mosman. Like all other GBOTA features it moved with the club to Wentworth Park in 1987.

Some outstanding sprinters have won the race over its journey going back to Miss Oakey (53), Tell You Why (59), Classy Jane (the dam of 60), Rokoko (68), The Smoother (70), Satan’s Legend (78), Tegimi (79), Promises Free (82), Brother Fox (85), Farmer Wilson (91), How’s The Fort (92), Worthy Reward (93), Tap Dance (94), Solve The Puzzle (98), Great Wish (99), Winsome Dollars (2001), Elite State (2003), (2004) and last years winner Run The Risk. Listed below is the honour roll in full.

Group 2 Peter Mosman Classic Honour Roll

  • 1952 Robin Buchanan
  • 1953 Miss Oakey
  • 1954 Farrago Hawk
  • 1955 Proto Girl
  • 1956 Double Jade
  • 1957 Fine Earl
  • 1958 Town Ghost
  • 1959 Tell You Why
  • 1960 Classy Jane
  • 1961 Silver Khan
  • 1962 Nimble Aye
  • 1963 Keen Linen
  • 1964 Sudden Linen
  • 1965 Satyr Rocket
  • 1966
  • 1967 Dark Durante
  • 1968 Rokoko
  • 1969 Silent Ring
  • 1970 The Smoother
  • 1971 Alray Lad
  • 1972 Toouli
  • 1973 Dusty Trail
  • 1974 Early Copy
  • 1975 Arctic Raider
  • 1976 Proper Calibre
  • 1977 Ripa’s Regard
  • 1978 Satan’s Legend
  • 1979 Tegimi
  • 1980 Dick’s Gem
  • 1981 Merry Tempest
  • 1982 Promises Free
  • 1983 Acacia Park
  • 1984 Crathie
  • 1985 Brother Fox
  • 1986 Yob Yobbo
  • 1987 Paris In Spring
  • 1988 Kinjarra
  • 1989 Style Leader
  • 1990 Classy Spider
  • 1991 Farmer Wilson
  • 1992 How’s The Fort
  • 1993 Worthy Reward
  • 1994 Tap Dance
  • 1995 Patchtime
  • 1996 Jack
  • 1997 William Wallace
  • 1998 Solve The Puzzle
  • 1999 Great Wish
  • 2000 Token Wave
  • 2001 Winsome Dollars
  • 2002 Big Sam Banner
  • 2003 Elite State
  • 2004 Surf Lorian
  • 2005 Over Flo
  • 2006 Faithful Love
  • 2007 Run The Risk
  • 2008 Lend Us Fifty
  • 2009 Devine Road

Similar Greyhound Racing News

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments