Drill ‘Em Ends Amity Bale’s Winning Streak

Drill ‘Em put an end to Amity Bale's phenomenal nine race winning streak when he took out the $36,000 Carnival Cup at Sandown Park tonight.

Backed into $7.50, Drill ‘Em pounced from box four to lead all the way and win in 42.08 seconds.

“It's a huge win,” said owner Neil Rowe.

“We never thought we'd have a greyhound capable of running against dogs of this caliber, but obviously Drill ‘Em is.”

Drill ‘Em defeated rising staying star buy ¾ of a length with Amity Bale a further 4 ½ lengths away in third.

Drill ‘Em is sired by 2005 winner Texas Gold, and has now won 11 of his 28 starts and $70,730 in prizemoney.

Disappointingly the race this year was staged as a final only due to insufficient nominations to conduct heats. It is perhaps an indication of the number of top quality stayers around the country and the consistent introduction of shorter distances at almost every track in Victoria.

One would hope it is not a sign of the times but 2009 has certainly been dominated by a particularly small pool of stayers, in fact the last seven group staying finals have almost had three or four of the same runners in them. Le's hope 2010 unearths a larger number of greyhounds competing for the rich prizemoney on offer with the staying ranks being strengthened and winning a group final is a far more challenging exercise than it has been in 2009.

After the placings the field finished in the following order 4th Melandri ($13.10), 5th Join The Queue ($43.00), 6th Whitfield Bale ($25.60) 7th ($26.60) and Proven Coin ($45.20).

Drill ‘Em is Brindle dog whelped March '07 he is by Texas Gold from Geoff‟s Mate (Ashigga x Executive Maggie).

The Group 2 Bold Trease win took his record to 28 starts for 11 wins and 8 placings and prizemoney earnings of $70,730. He is raced by the Binborrin Syndicate and trained by David Knocker at Langwarrin

Group 2 Bold trease carnival Cup Honour Roll

  • 1999 Chain Of Lagoons Edward Sallows 42.54
  • 2000* Mr. Bozwell Lauren Gorman 42.92
  • 2001 Sara Magee Adam DeDonato 42.87
  • 2002* Naughty Nita Peter Giles 42.83
  • 2003 Proven Adonis 42.31
  • 2004 Arvo's Athena 41.97
  • 2005 Texas Gold Jason MacKay 42.47
  • 2006 Sargent Major Lauren Gorman 42.09
  • 2007 Jeff Britton 42.54
  • 2008 Fallen Zorro 42.63
  • 2009 Drill ‘Em David Knocker 42.08

* Race conducted at (725m)
Run as Bookmakers Trophy, 1981-1998
Run as Carnival Cup, 1999-2003
Run as Bold Trease Carnival Cup, 2004-present

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments