Greta Bale Steals The Petstock Ballarat Cup For Graeme Bate

Greta Bale will chase more country cups after running away with the 2 PETstock Ballarat Greyhound Cup, 450 metres, last night.

The only female in the field, Greta Bale ($8.10) upset odds-on favourite ($1.60), which could finish no closer than third after a tardy start.

High-profile owner Paul Wheeler provided the quinella, with rank outsider and first reserve Gaelic Bale ($32.50) getting second. Legendary trainer was ecstatic with the performance of Greta Bale.

“I'm rapt to win this cup again.

”Bate, from Lara, who is a household name in the industry, had to go back 12 years to find his last Ballarat Cup winner – Lansley Bale.

Bate said he had been supporting the Ballarat Greyhound Racing Club for 40 years and it gave him a great deal of pleasure to land the feature event.

Bate said everything had fallen into place for Greta Bale ahead of the final, with her drawing close to the perfect box in five, and having her main rivals where he believed she wanted them.

“That's the box we wanted. We thought we could win it (from there).”

Greta Bale's superior speed out of the boxes clinched her the win, which landed her $30,000 in stakes and took her lifetime earnings to $59,000 from 17 wins in 44 starts.

She jumped to the lead, while El Grand Senor in the field and found trouble as he went into the turn.

Once in front, Greta Bale never looked like being run down.

Bate said he had gained a lot of satisfaction from the fact that he had been able to turn Greta Bale's form around in time to capture the Ballarat Cup.

“I'm rapt to have her going well again.”

After the placed runners the field finished in the following order: ($5.60), Proficient ($14.10), Star Diamond ($32.20), Jimmy I Am ($24.30) and Kynan's Express ($13.20).

The Ballarat Cup was first held at the old Broadway Park complex in 1960 over 496 yards. The first winner was Rebby Boy a greyhound sired by below is the honour Roll of past winners.
1960 Rebby Boy, 1961 Dalemee, 1962 Eerie Town, 1963 Alrarniv 1964, 1965 Unknown, 1966 Unknown, 1967 Unknown, 1968 Baytown's Son, 1969 My Gina, 1970 1971 Fawn Metal, 1972 Master Caleb, 1973 She's My Girl, 1974 Fawn Capri, 1975 Ben Boro 1976 Ernie Diro, 1977 “Not Held”, 1978 “Not Held”, 1979 Nelson's Mate, 1980 Swift As Light, 1981 Johnny's Monaro, 1982 Satan's Shroud, 1983 Total Claim, 1984 Lady Lilly, 1985 Trisun, 1986 “Not Held”, 1987 Shining Chariot, 1988 Kepler, 1989 Hay Dinney, 1990 Welcome Stranger, 1991 Malawi's Prince, 1992 Wild Pirate, 1993 Dallas Duo, 1994 Tivoli Man, 1995 Malawi Law, 1996 King Of Talent, 1997 Young Darren, 1998 Lansley Bale, 1999 Tom's Legacy, 2000 Puff Daddy, 2001 Carlisle Jack, 2002 Knockabout Wok, 2003 Puzzle Prize, 2004 and 2005 Magic Trance, 2006 Witch Magic, 2007 Go Wild Jack, 2008 and 2009 Dyna Lachlan.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Zane Prodan
Zane Prodan
9 years ago

Fallen zorro,cheetah zorro

Zane Prodan
Zane Prodan
9 years ago

Fallen zorro,cheetah zorro