Background To The Peter Mosman Memorial

On 6 September 1987 the greyhound community was stunned by the sudden death of , the 52-year-old chairman of the . This charismatic man, of whom the late Doug Phillips, a former NCA vice-president, once said, “His word is his ,” was a great loss to the industry. The committee of the GBOTA, with the late Bill Baker at the helm, decided one of the best ways to honour Peter Mosman’s unswerving commitment and loyalty to the industry was to name a race after him. They decided rather than introduce a completely new event, they would instead re-name the Vic Peters Bi-Annual Classic. That race, for so-called ‘bad age’ chasers, had originally been known simply as the Harold Park Bi-Annual Classic before being re-named after the death of Vic Peters, a former GBOTA secretary.

Inaugural Running

As mentioned above, the race we now call the Peter Mosman Memorial began as the Harold Park Bi-Annual Classic, and the first final was run on 28 March 1952 over 500 yards (457 metres) at Harold Park. The winner was Robin Buchanan who defeated Valiant Ross by a head with Rose Havoc just half a length away third, in 27.3. The field consisted of 10 starters and Robin Buchanan exited box 9.


Only two distances have been employed. From 1952 until 1987 the event was conducted over 500 yards (457 metres) on grass at Harold Park. From 1988 until the present the race has been run over 520 metres at , although it was on grass until 1992, and has been on loam since 1993.

When Is The Race Run

From early March to mid April from 1952 until 1987. The event moved to June from 1988, coinciding with the move to Wentworth Park.

Only Reserves to Win

None I’m aware of, nor any who have run a place.

Biggest Winning Margins

Of the finals for which I have full details, the widest winning margin to date is owned by Great Wish, who scored by 10 lengths in 1999. A year earlier the Victorian speedster won by nine and three-quarter lengths. In 2001, Winsome Dollars crossed the line nine lengths clear. Big Sam Banner won by seven and three-quarter lengths in 2002. Miss Oakey (1953), Satan’s Legend (1978), Promises Free (1982), and Garrick Bale (2012) all won by seven lengths while (1970) and Brother Fox (1985) scored by six lengths.

Closest Winning Margins

Acacia Park is the closest with victory in 1983 by a nose. Patchtime won by a head in 1995 while Keen Linen (1963) and Dick’s Gem (1980) won by a neck and Crathie Drive took the race by a half length in 1984.

Most Successful Trainers

Graeme Bate has won twice, with Allen Harper in 2011 and Xylia Allen in 2013.

Some Beaten Stars

Plunkett’s Pride (third 1954), Happy Cappy (unplaced 1954), (second 1963), Travel Rev (unplaced 1970), Gemini Todd ((unplaced 1970), Lord (unplaced 1971), El Gazelle (second 1973), Tientsin Tosca (third 1974), Zulu Moss (fourth 1974), Busy’s Chief (second 1975), Ungwilla Lad (third 1975), True Leader (second 1978), Tempix (fourth 1979), Gold Spring (unplaced 1979), Picture This (unplaced 1981), Gwendalyn Bale (third 1982), National Lass (fifth 1984), Maggiore (second 1988), Gallant Ruler (second 1994), Warrigal Road (unplaced 1995), Nobody’s Fool (second 1996), Cattle Drive (unplaced 1996), Sally’s Title (third 1997), Token Prince (fourth 1997), Adrenalin Storm (second 1998), Lucy Lawless (third 1998), Spoken Joe (fifth 1998), Total Denial (third 2001), Sun Hero (second 2004), Kobble Rock (third 2004), (third 2005), Miss Hot Gossip (third 2007), Elite Oriental (third 2008), Kilty Lad (unplaced 2011), Grigorieva Bale (fourth 2012), Jordy Pordy (fifth 2012), Iona Seven (fifth 2013)

Additional Notes

In its earliest days, the race consisted of a series of non-betting heats followed by a 10-starter final. This changed in the mid-1960s to a series of heats and then semi-finals, usually five, with the five winners and three fastest second placegetters going through to the final.

In 1960, Classy Jane won the event. After being retired, Classy Jane was mated with former speedster . The resultant litter consisted of the 1963 Bi-Annual Classic winner Keen Linen, who defeated his litter brother Black Top by a neck. Black Top would go on to be arguably the most influential sire of the next two decades.

Black Top sired Peter Mosman Memorial winners Perfect Socks (1966), Rokoko (1968), and Silent Ring (1969), was the grandsire of Alray Lad (1971) and Proper Calibre (1976), and great-great grandsire of Acacia Park (1983) and Brother Fox (1985).

Similar Greyhound Racing News

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments