This Week In Racing History



The 1970 Christmas Gift final was run in 1971, with winning by three lengths from Acem and Tivoli Chief in a fast 26.3 for the 500 yards (457 metres) at Harold Park.

The 1970 Stayers’ Christmas Gift final took place on the same night and saw Victorian bitch Paul’s Thunder defeat Spanish Moss by three lengths in a quick 43.2.

The 2005 Dave Alexander Memorial was won by Gozo Master from Look On in 30.69 for the 520 metres at Wentworth Park. The race had not been held in 2004, for the first time since its inception in 1951.

The 2011 , run over 525 metres at the Meadows, was taken out by who defeated Perfect Fancy and Rumble Missile (both trained by Darren McDonald) in 29.66.


Be Faithful clipped 1/10th off the track record for 800 yards (732 metres) at Harold Park when she defeated China Lady (the holder of the 500 yards sprint record) in 1949. Be Faithful ran 43.9; Brazen Murry, the previous record holder, was among the unplaced division.

Tassie Park ran a race record 42.84 to take out the 1997 Memorial final over 715 metres at . Tassie Park scored by five lengths from Tonight’s Wish.


won the 2004 Silver Chief Classic by almost nine lengths at the Meadows in a race record 29.62.


Tasmanian sprinter Timaru defeated Victorian sprinter Pharminda by a head in a at Launceston in 1936.

Busy’s Charm defeated Mo Mo Terms and a tired Zoom Top (her litter sister and kennelmate) in the 1968 final of the Stayers’ Christmas Gift, which was run on this day in 1969.

Busy’s Chief, arguably the best son of Busy’s Charm, fell in the 1975 Surf Lifesaver’s Cup over 530 metres at Wentworth Park. The event was taken out by Luna Verde.

Nikki Ding defeated Final Parole and champion True Vintage in the 1988 final of the Devonport Cup, run over 452 metres.

The 2007 West End Draught Distance Championship, run over 731 metres at , resulted in a dead-heat between Miss Columbia and Miss Grub, a rarity among major Australian races with previous dead-heats being the 1963 Vic Peters Memorial Classic, 1993 Topgun, 1995 , and 2003 Australian Cup among a mere handful.


Thunder’s Pride defeated Rocket Rebel by a head with Early Copy just a half length away in third place in the 1974 Surf Lifesaver’s Cup (Best 8) over 530 metres at Wentworth Park.

Miss Spicy took out the 2006 Interstate Challenge Cup over 515 metres at Angle Park from Go Forever and Timeing, running 29.56.

Queenslander Make You Happy took out the 2008 New Year’s Cup over 600 metres at the Meadows for trainer Paul Felgate.


The National Coursing Association (NCA) and NSW Greyhound Racing Clubs’ Association (formed as a country association after the cessation of the Greyhound Racing Control Council in 1950) issued a joint statement in 1957 advising their affiliates not to race at Harold Park or any GBOTA courses. The bans were eventually lifted 11 months later but caused great disruption to city racing at the two circuits Harold Park (controlled by the GBOTA) and Wentworth Park (controlled by the NCA).

Bobby Boucheau ran 33.67 to set a new track record for 595 metres at Sandown in 2011.


Sonador took out the 2008 from Coulta Bomber and Avon Lee to avenge its third placing in the same event behind Vapour Whirl the previous year.

Similar Greyhound Racing News

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments