This Week in Racing History



Josh won the 1949 Easter Stake, run over 800 yards (732 metres) on the loam track at Harold Park. Josh scored by a neck from Be Faithful, who had been knocked back to last at the start, running 44.0, 1/10th outside the track record then held by Be Faithful. On the same night, classy sprinter Dream’s Image annexed the Youthful Stakes, running 27.2 for the 500 yards (457 metres).

Busy’s Charm took out the 1969 Muswellbrook Championship, defeating Greenane Prince by two and a half lengths and running 33.1 for the 600 yards (548 metres).


suffered a rare defeat when she was beaten a head by Coal Lad in a match race over 425 yards (388 metres) at Dubbo in 1954.

South Australian sprint champion Bristol Sue won the 1975 Patron’s Cup, run over 512 metres at , by a long neck from Pigalle King for trainer .

Tasmanian duo Chinatown Lad and Fallen Zorro ran first and second for trainer Shane Whitney in the final of the 2008 Sandown Cup. Chinatown Lad scored by almost five lengths from his kennelmate.


Pixie Eyes defeated Pebble’s Beach by just half a neck with New Wish three-quarters of a length away third in the 1991 final of the Sandown Cup.

The last meeting to be run on grass at was held in 1992.

For possibly the first time ever in a major race, the 2013 Harrison-Dawson saw all eight finalists finish in box order. New Zealand sprinter Clone Your Own (box 1), prepared by , defeated Imry Bale (box 2) by a head with Queensland champion Glen Gallon (box 3) third. Schroder Bale (box 4), Premier Event (5), Hurricane Isaac (6), Garrick Bale (7), and Kevin Bale (8) finished fourth through to eighth repectively.


Milimsimbi, trained by Stan Cleverley, equalled the 450 yards (411 metres) track record at Cessnock in 1969, running 23.8. He took his record to three starts for three wins.

West Australian superstayer Miata won her heat of the 2012 Sandown Cup in 41.17 to smash the previous track record of 41.54, held by Lady Arko.


The Ed Tucker-trained Gold Grotto snared the 1972 Sandown Sprint Championship from Melbourne Cup winner Gerard The Gent with the classy Delbairn third. The field was arguably one of the best ever assembled for a major race with the likes of NSW St Leger winner Romantic Top fifth, and future star Garron Court sixth.

The wonderfully-named Isa Brown won the 2002 Australian Cup, the first conducted over the new distance of 525 metres. Trainer Robert Britton also rugged up Hey Brother, which finished sixth.


Future Queensland star Pied Rebel won his first race start, over 363 yards (331 metres) at Beenleigh, in 1969. Pied Rebel would win his first five race starts, including a track record at and the Queensland Cup before being sent to Sydney to be trained by Paul Cauchi.

Woolley Wilson won a Free For All over 580 yards (530 metres) at Wentworth Park in 1973. The victory took the -trained sprinter’s career prize money to $34,491, which made him the third-highest in Australian history behind Zoom Top and Shapely Escort.


Proven Lethal, prepared by , won the 2004 Sandown Cup by almost four lengths from Springvale Jinx, running 42.12 to set a new track record.

Train A Journey took out the 2006 Maturity Classic at , winning by four lengths from Red Legend and picking up $50,000 for trainer John Galea.

Similar Greyhound Racing News

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments